We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Considering I paid £75 per night (inc breakfast), the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of the usual traditional 'Full English' as well as fresh fruit etc.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

The negatives are that the building and decor is dated and in desperate need of a re-furb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. We are shortly to commence some refurbishment work to the hotel which will hopefully address your negatives. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    157
    158
    63
    29
See reviews for
61
212
19
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A shabby looking place in financial difficulties (according to the local paper when I was there, now being propped up by the local govt) but honest, clean and does what it say on the tin. Great value for money, even better breakfast, natty little gym with cardio room, weights room and pool. But looks like a Butlins and once inside it all gets better. Very happy with my stay. Casino cool as well. Made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found your stay "great value for money" and that you were made to feel welcome.

We are shortly to commence works to refurbish parts of the hotel and hopefully this will address your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have stayed here a few times and although its pretty basic it is a great location for Douglas. The buffet breakfast is great and the food portions are massive which is good. Drinks are reasonably priced in the and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself could do with a bit of a refurb as its looking a bit tired and the beds were not the most comfortable but if you just want a base for exploring the island then this is ideal.

There is a nightclub in the basement however it doesn't get busy at all as far as i've seen and when we were there over easter 2013 it actually closed at 11pm

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room if possible or you will be looking out at the car park and the bin strores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful. As you say, the hotel is in a good location for Douglas. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent 2 nights here over the bank holiday weekend founding the staff very helpful and the location spot on. The twin room was rather small, but everything was spotless and in good working order, with a lovely view of the back car park! There were a number of functions on so the hotel was pretty busy, although still a fast & efficient breakfast service with plenty of buffet and cook to order items (with the kippers being excellent). Agree with other reviewers that the communal areas are looking a bit tired, so surprised to discover it was 4 star rated as this was certainly nor reflected in the price we paid. Good value for money, would use again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are delighted you found your stay good value for money, your room spotless and our staff helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would not reccommend anyone to stay in this hotel. the staff are not very helpful- They are not very knowledgeable about simple queries about the island or places to eat around the island. the dinner we had on our first night was the strangest meal i have ever had. Rude waiter- strange carvery/menu system and the food was not nice. The only saving grace was the room it was clean and the beds were comfy. but that is the least you expect with a hotel. They need to retrain their staff and give the hotel a face lift.. the view out to carpark is bad enough but might be improved with a lick of paint. A very basic hotel- one i would not recommend at all.

Room Tip: i would go for a seaview as the alternitive is dismal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just had 3 nights staying at the Best Western Palace Hotel and Casino in Douglas.
We had a double room with a seaview on the third floor of the hotel. Room was lovely, clean, well serviced with a excellent view of the bay and is definitely worth paying that little bit extra as the other rooms look out over the carpark.
The staff at the hotel were very pleasant, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was a buffet and there was always plenty to eat. It is a hotel we would stay in again.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room clean and well serviced and our staff helpful and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I live on the island and as a birthday treat he arranged for dinner, bed and breakfast at this hotel. Now we can remember in the 'good old days' what a lovely place it was. On the plus side - the reception staff were very welcoming and we were allotted a room on the second floor. The room was very basic but had all the facilities we required apart from, and I am nit picking here I suppose, an empty box of tissues (1 tissue carefully placed on the top!). The room and bathroom were very clean although the fixture and fittings were in dire need of a refurb. The beds were not comfortable and squeaked every time you moved.

Dinner was disappointing, both in menu choice and food presented, but breakfast was okay except for the overcooked bacon which we couldn't get our forks into! The chef at both meals had a constant scowl on his face and the dining staff, although very efficient, and apart from one waitress, were very abrupt and permanently cross. Nit picking again - there were dead flowers in our breakfast table vase. There seems to be general lack of dining room management.

The hotel does not have a quiet lounge anywhere if you would want to sit and read etc. There are no settees anywhere in the lobby areas - in fact the place looks barren in some areas - e.g. no plants or displays. Hope this isn't a sign of the times.

As I pointed out earlier - it is such a long time since we visited this hotel and it is such a shame to see how it has deteriorated. A lot of money needs to be spent on it to get it back up to scratch and the dining staff need to be reminded that attitude is as important as service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island’s capital, Palace Hotel ♦ Casino is the Island’s leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island’s only licensed casino and largest night club and cinema. The place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.