We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and made our dog welcome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Morecambe, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value for money and made our dog welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

When visiting the Isle of Man we always stay at The Sefton. However, we acquired a little dog in February this year and so could not stay there. Discovered the Palace is part of The Sefton group so decided to try it. Must say we were pleasantly surprised. For the grand price of £95 per night we and our dog were welcomed in a friendly and efficient way. Clean, functional and comfortable sea view bedroom and bathroom (though maybe not as big as we would prefer), lovely dog bed, blanket and pillow and a good quality, buffet breakfast. What more do you need for a short break? Dog heaven in that he could see the beach from the window and raced along it several times a day.
Whilst not of the excellent standard of The Sefton, this hotel represents really good value for money and is kind to dogs too!
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    138
    138
    59
    28
See reviews for
60
178
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

We had a short 5 day trip to the Isle of Man and chose to stay at the Palace. I cannot fault our stay as the rooms were clean and modern and we had beautiful views over the sea front. The food was lovely- lots to choose from at breakfast and wonderful meals at both the Paragon and Atlantis restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful and made a fuss over our 2 children of 3 and 7. The kids enjoyed having the pool on site, the beach across the road, a cinema (for those rainy days!) just a stones throw away and a great ice cream parlour a short stroll down the road (definitely recommended)!! Look forward to another stay here next year.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed here many times now and this hotel has always been great. It is right in the centre of douglas. With excellent sea views. The rooms on the front all have balconies.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Having just returned from a long weekend in Douglas and having stayed at the Palace Hotel I can truthfully say that I have no complaint.
The hotel is situated along the promenade in Douglas Bay, it’s within easy walking distance to the town and to the Electric Railway terminus. The horse drawn tram stops right outside the hotel and so do the buses which connect Douglas with the rest of the island.
I strongly recommend that you pay the extra money for a sea view room as the standard rooms overlook the large but dreary car park.
If you have booked just bed & breakfast then please try the hotel restaurant as the 3 course meal at £14.95 is excellent and plentiful and works out cheaper then eating out in one of the pubs.
The only criticism, which other reviewers have also noticed, is the fact that trays and glasses from the room service seem to be collected only once a day which makes the corridors look rather messy and untidy.
The Casino forms part of the hotel and is open until 4am but, not being a gambler, I can’t tell you anything about it.
All in all I was very pleased with my stay at the Palace Hotel and I don’t have any complaints.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

We decided to take a weekend break on the isle of man and booked this hotel on the back of their leisure facilities. The healthclub is excellent for a hotel and we even managed to win some money in the casino! The room was clean and tidy and worth the amount we paid. Above all the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there a few times 15-20 yrs ago, stayed this time as I could not get the ones my colleagues recommended. Wary after checking trip advisor, overall experience patchy. Upgraded and had a nice, refurbished room overlooking sea. Common areas tired, dinner disappointing, breakfast pretty okay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

just stayed at the casino hotel for 3 nights with family and friends.
reception staff very efficient , friendly and helpful always with a smile.
found that some of the restaurant staff, attitude of being tired,fed up not really bothered and most unable to speak much clear english. BUT THE FOOD SUPERB
rooms large very clean and the SEA VIEWS superb very comfortable,pure white fluffy towels and everything you need.
the lift were like wlking into a sauna.
the only real companint I have is that there was no entertainment apart from the casino!
why not have a nice comfortable lounge for guests to sit and chat with the superb view,
all the best seats were dining chairs thats do good for the elderly infirm clients!
would stay again...but thought rather expensive

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island’s capital, Palace Hotel ♦ Casino is the Island’s leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island’s only licensed casino and largest night club and cinema. The place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.