We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Value in one place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Empress Hotel to your Saves list
The Empress Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury and Value in one place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Recently in Douglas on business and stopped at The Empress overnight. Splendid, spacious room with a sea view, lovely and warm (despite howling winds outside), very comfortable, and the lobby/conservatory area as you enter the hotel was beautiful to sit and relax in. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Buffet breakfast was a perfect start to a long day of meetings. Only regret was that I was only there for one night! Will return for a longer stay when the weather's a little kinder!

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    90
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
20
90
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We decided to stay and booked this some months ago with Travel Republic -we decided to have a mini-break in Douglas - and couldnt have chosen a better hotel in a great location, mid way on the promenade - sea views from the lounge, conservatory and bar areas, Hotel staff are efficient and friendly. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable, bathrooms large and modern.
We booked bed & breakfast, breakfast is buffet style, all appetites catered for, English, continental, many varieties of fruit juices, breads etc etc.
Again would recommend this hotel, and would certainly return again. Great location for exploring the Island, also has facilities for weddings, banquets and business suites.
Thanks for a lovely 4 nights stay - Uncle & Nephew (in our opinion deserves 4 star rating)

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-views are extra, Dinner is served in the conservatory near the lounge/bar area- lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had our civil marriage and reception at the Empress Hotel. It was a fantastic day better than I could have imagined. All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially Lucas (thank you Lucas). Brian made sure everything run smoothly even tho I was late (I was only upstairs in the penthouse suite) Thank you Brian everything was amazing food was brilliant...not one of my guests said anything different they all like the food (we had the carvery). Thank you also to Trevor who looked after us and got people to be quite when speeches were made. We can not thank you all enough for a brilliant day. We would recommend The Empress. The rooms was lovely too.THANK YOU. (Paul and Gill)

Room Tip: choose rooms to the front for views, even tho all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

First timer to the island and not disappointed by the hotel. Ideal location on promenade with excellent sea view and only 5mins from ferry terminal.
had room at front on hotel so fantastic view especially when sunrise at 8am
Rooms are large and plentiful with everything you would expect.
Staff very helpful and friendly, will return

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view can't be beaten
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but just went to the Brasserie inside for dinner. Since this restaurant is not listed among restaurants on Tripadvisor, I assume it is to be considered part of the hotel and can be reviewed here. I arrived at 6 pm (opening time) and got a table at the window with a nice view. The waiters (there were several, all male) were quick and reasonably attentive. I had a mushroom soup, which was all right, and then the "cod medallions with hand-cut chips and mushy peas", fish and chips in other words. The fish was fresh and very good, though it had some bones in it. The chips were disappointing: thick and mealy. I rarely eat chips, but if I do I'd like them to be thin and crispy. I did not touch these monsters. As for the mushy peas, I guess you have to be British to love them. (I am from the USA, originally from Austria.) For dessert I had tiramisu. To tell the truth, the only reason I went to this restaurant is because I saw it had tiramisu on the menu, which is my favorite dessert. I expected to receive a wedge of cake, triangular or rectangular. Instead, I was served a creamy concoction in an ice-cream cup. It contained the right ingredients (two ladyfingers on top, some croutons inside, coffee cream, whipped cream, a trace of coffee liqueur, even some strawberries on top), but it was as if the chef had forgotten to assemble the ingredients into a cake. It was not bad at all but quite rich because the coffee cream predominated. I would have preferred a traditional tiramisu, which is much lighter. So, this dinner was a mixed experience on the whole. The prices were a bit too high for the quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Splendid views of the hotel from the outside but once past the reception and dining area it was a real disappointment. No offer of help with luggage that had to be carried to room. Small lift necessitated queuing for use as lift would only take two people at a time with luggage. Alighting from lift stairs had to be negotiated to reach room that was on the small size and looking out directly onto a wall. If you wish to have a decent room with sea view prepare to request same and pay the sea view premium. On the plus side food was reasonable and all staff very pleasant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

First visit to the Isle of Man, the hotel is in an ideal location to easily reach both ends of the sea front in Douglas. The entrance is smart and very well kept, and at the same time welcoming. The bedroom which we had was nicely decorated, very clean with a pristine bathroom, a twin room a bit on the small side but no problem as we don't need much space. The view from the window was of walls and a fire escape, but there again the whole front of the hotel is a conservatory with stunning sea views, so no need to sit in the bedroom to admire the view. As we were with a coach party we were given a room on our own for the evening meal, the food was quite acceptable if a little slow in coming, but all the staff were very pleasant, the breakfast was buffet style in the downstair dining room and was excellent, food well cooked and presented and a manager on hand to see everything was kept "topped up" We were unlucky with the weather it poured for 3 out of the 4 days there, but it is such a lovely island we enjoyed everything we visited. Would go there again.

Room Tip: Don't have room 312 if you have to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.