We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, pity about the weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Empress Hotel to your Saves list
The Empress Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good hotel, pity about the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Visited on a 5-night coach trip and received excellent service and very enjoyable food. The breakfasts were particularly good. Our sea facing room (105) was spacious and comfortable. The bar and sun lounge provide a very pleasamt area for relaxing, and a pianist entertains each evening. .

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    90
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
20
90
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at the Empress Hotel on the 30th of August for three nights in a twin room with my mate to watch the Manx G.P. All together we had no problems with this hotel the staff were very helpful if you asked for any information and left you alone if you did not req any help. There are good points and bad points with any hotel but to be honest the bad points are only very small ones so i will start with those .
1 - The bar prices are a bit steep not a problem because we went out every night to the near by pubs etc.
2 - The carpet on the stairs could use a deep clean.
3 - There is a noise from the kitchen extractors ( our bed room faced the rear area of the hotel)
this was not a problem as they switched off at around 10.30 - 11.00 pm Being out all day we had no problem falling to sleep .However the fans did start back up at around 6.00am
4 - There is a kebab house next door to the hotel that stays open very late on Saturdays (early hours of the morning) some noise from there but someone must have had a word with the staff on the reception as the offending people were soon moved on by a police woman.
Good points.
1 - Central location on the prom easy walking to either end of town.
2 - Breakfast was excellent and was of a buffet style full English or continental and you could keep going back for more if you wanted.
3 - Rooms were serviced every day (beds made, towels replaced, rooms hovered out e,t,c.
4 - Bathroom was of a good size with a power shower, bath and hair dryer.
5 - A lift to all floors ( lifts are only small so if you have loads of bags you will have to to two trips).
6 - Very good staff.
General location/area.
As i said at the start it is centrally located on the prom as we were on motorcycles we could park on the footpath but if in a car i am not sure where you could park other than on the road The prom road is a parking zone so you will need to obtain a parking indicator/time wheel/permit card these are easy to get from the shop on the ferry or the welcome center in the ferry terminus or even the hotel and are free. There are benches and tables on the front lawn of the hotel to sit and people watch if the weather is good , this area is also swept every morning (it is mainly used as a smoking area though) In general the Isle of Man is a bit dearer than the mainland but there are still bargains to be had with both food and drink (Jaks bar & Queens head and also The Terminus Inn for food & Sam Webs & Quids inn for beer)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kirkby West Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at The Empress. Been for the Manx Gp week. Expected prices to be inflated , but to such an extent!! Paid more than top whack for a small room looking into a wall and other room windows. Housekeeping staff do a good job though and we could not complain about the cleanliness, breakfast is good, lots of choice, from cereals to fresh fruit, a good cooked selection constantly refreshed and as much tea, coffee and juice as you can drink. Bar prices are expensive even for a hotel, as is the restaurant. Hotel seems to be staffed (as seems to be the norm in a lot of places) by predominantly eastern europeans, not a problem until you need assistance from the ones whos english is not very good. Not acceptable at any price, never mind what this hotel charges. Speaking of charges, £4.95 per day for use of the Wi-fi, come on!! this is the 21st century. In an age where we are all in touch all the time, this hotel needs to get with it. We would have sat in the bar (buying expensive drinks) for a least a few hours during our week whilst catching up with friends, surfing the net etc. Instead we went and spent our money elsewhere. There are numerous places all around the town who will let you onto their wi-fi free, a couple of our recommendations would be The Queens Hotel, five minute walk down the prom toward the electric railway. A good pint, reasonably priced, friendly staff and an excellent bar meal, freshly prepared and with good quality ingredients. Sam Webbs is good for a drink and occaisional live music, head toward the town, the pub is on a corner at the start of the shopping precinct. And one place we can't recommend highly enough for the food is the restaurant underneath Jaks, fantastic steaks, cooked to perfection, excellent waiting staff, brilliant, (you may have to wait a little while but its well worth it) their place is opposite the prom, heading toward the ferry terminal. Overall our stay on the Island? We enjoyed. (first time my wife has been) but could not help feeling a little bit robbed (£1.50 for a cup of the worst tea i've ever tasted, from a burger van) If you're going for the TT or the Manx, be prepared to be taken advantage of.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our room was lovely, spacious, clean, quite comfortable but we had a view at the back of the hotel which was not good when you know how nice it is at the front but what troubled us more was the noise from the air conditioning for the kitchens. We were told in an abrupt manner at reception that it would cease at 10.30pm and they had no other available rooms for us. It did not cease until 12.15am, by the end of our stay we had grown use to the noise. The food here was really good hearty food with the best sausages I have eaten at an hotel. Kippers were not so good though unfortuately!!! The rooms where a bit of a maze but well sign posted. I was disappointed at no swimming pool as the pictures looked really good. I really enjoyed the Isle of Man as the people are really friendly. The hotel is quite a distance from the ferry port and from town but it is easy to hop on a horse and cart or a bus to get there. Bar prices are really reasonable with a lovely area to sit in. This is a nice friendly(except one person on reception) relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: try to change room if you hear the air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have just returned from a ten day break on the island, our first visit. As commented the hotel is well positioned on the prom, and is near to all the town facilities. Although the room was "standard" and we arrived with some trepidation after reading some of the reviews commenting on the "poky" rooms our fears were misplaced. The room was spacious with desk, chairs and a sofa along with a perfectly acceptable bathroom and clean. The maid service staff were very polite.
The piano bar is a good size and very well appointed, the bar and restaurant menu both providing decent food at prices not greatly different from the many eateries in town, which on the whole also tended to be rather good. Breakfast was also good and as well as the buffet items manx kippers were cooked to order which were lovely.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Empress which will certainly figure on our list when we revisit the Isle, a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

From the outside hotel looks spacious and grand and indeed the reception room and bar is. My room however was small, hot and noisy. Kept awake all night by the humming of machinery which was strange as the room had no air conditioning. Couldn't open the window as I faced onto a central courtyard which was full of noisy plant too (doing what?). Food in the restaurant was good but breakfast is a bit of a bun fight as you will often find yourself battling for a seat with coach tours. They also charge for internet access which these days is unacceptable. Next trip I'm staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adlington, Chorley
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Good location on the prom and within walking distance of town & ferry terminal, room are very small not filthy but not immaculate either.

Breakfast is buffet style, this was nice didn't eat there at night so can't comment. Bar area is nice with a piano being played in the evening, some other areas of the hotel are quite dated however.

My main gripes are that they charge you for wifi, and the booked the hotel on the understanding there was a pool, this has been closed since February apparently we complained about this at reception we got knowhere, some of the reception had a bad attitude!

For a couple of days it's fine but wouldn't really want to stay any longer!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.