We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our trip up the mountain...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manx Electric Railway

Manx Electric Railway
The Promenade, Douglas
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
158 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“We loved our trip up the mountain...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The ride was great, the scenery was great and the people that worked on the train were great...such friendliness and helpfulness...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    131
    19
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“tworovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A great trip on an electric railway through magnificent country side. Our first trip was to Laxey and then onto the Snaefell Electric Railway.
Another day we came back to Douglas from Ramsey and again went through some beautiful countryside. Two very enjoyable journey's and thoroughly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, E Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Novel experience Day Ticket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We took the tram to Snaefell mountain, it was a very pleasant ride through scenic villages and had a stop at Laxey, where the famous Water Wheel is, there is a nice church in the village and some lovely walks, we also went to Ramsey and returned by bus. The day ticket cost £16

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A must for any visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A lovely little tramway that takes you across the island. The scenery that passes by on your journey is spectacular and definitely worth the fare. The guards are very knowledgeable and friendly and we really enjoyed our return journey.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A must on a clear day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We took the railway to the top of Snaefell on a really clear day. We had fantastic views of Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales. We also had a wander round Laxey - a pleasant village which is strung out between the railway and the sea. It's a pity we didn't have time to go up the coast to Ramsey.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manx Electric Railway also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Manx Electric Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manx Electric Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.