We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably at the top end of chinese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Buddha

Laughing Buddha
10-12 Victory Court Prospect Hill, Douglas
01624-67-72-99
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Probably at the top end of chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Overall, a very good experience. Not the run of mill chinese food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This restaurant is a hidden pearl in Douglas. It's difficult to find (opposite Marks and Spencer food hall, up some steps then turn left and it's in front of you) but it's well worth seeking it out.
From the second you walk into the restaurant, you're made to feel very welcome and almost like a VIP.
The restaurant was full which is always a good sign and we were quickly seated after the owner moved some vacated tables around to accommodate us.
The menu and wine list are quite extensive but we weren't rushed at all for our order to be taken as you are in many restaurants.
The staff are very pleasant and polite and once you've received your meal which we found to be delicious, you aren't interrupted every two minutes with the usual platitudes, 'everything alright, can I get you anything else' etc., you're left to enjoy the meal and the company you're with, although the staff will quickly respond if you do attract their attention.
When the bill arrived, after we'd attracted attention to ask for it, we were very pleasantly surprised at the cost for such a wonderful meal and service.
The owner who is a joy, very politely opens the door and comes out with you as you are leaving. You almost feel that you've become part of his family.
We would certainly visit again and highly recommend it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener ON Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent quality and quantity of food, nice ambience. and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Had the 'B' set menue for two with a glass of white wine and a pot of jasmine tea for under 40 pouinds (excluding tip). Portions were generous and of a high standard, and service was attentive. At the back entrance of Marks and Spencer, cross th street, go up the stairs and you are there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service, and fantastic host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Quite a small venue, but always very busy. Advisable to book in advance. The owner always personally welcomes you to your table and always find time for a conversation. Food is fabulous...absolutely no complaints.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“chinese food perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

From the moment we entered the door, it was evident that the atmosphere was perfect. We were seated at our table and we ordered. The food was wonderful, filling and tasty. Service was beyond our expectations, prompt and efficient, not in your face but subtly monitering when you were ready to move to the next course/bill etc.
My only disappointing part was with regard to the bill. It was under headings food/drinks/desserts therefore there was no breakdown of the pricing. However I do think the food was excellent value especially for the standard you get. Well done Laughing Buddha.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Buddha also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Onchan, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Laughing Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Buddha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.