We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great base for island touring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellan Vannin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ellan Vannin Hotel to your Saves list
Ellan Vannin Hotel
31 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Overall a great base for island touring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for five days in June 2013, our first trip to the Isle of Man.

Friendly and helpful staff made it a good experience right from the start, including during the phone booking, as our preferred choice of a double room was not available on the first night.

The Ellen Vannin is one of the many traditional tall Victorian terrace B&B style hotels on the long Douglas promenade. It has a couple of rooms on each floor, quite a lot of stairs and no lift. So perhaps not for those with mobility problems. Even the fit take it gently going up after the big breakfast served in the basement restaurant!

The rooms reflect this Victorian period character, although decorated in 1990's (?) style and ours was certainly comfortable with flat screen TV, a good toilet/shower bathroom with high quality soap/shampoo from fitted dispensers. Daily cleaning, top up of tea/coffee sachets, biscuits etc made it all very welcoming. Our room faced the back, so no views, but it was peaceful giving a good nights sleep. The room had a very useful folder guide to the Isle of Man, written by the hotel team. There was also a communal living room on the ground floor with TV and drinks machine.

Breakfast was excellent, one of the best we've had...cereals, porridge, tinned and fresh fruit, full cooked breakfast menu including veggie options alongside Manx kippers, omelettes, toast, pastries etc,and wide range of teas and coffee. The basement breakfast room itself was great, just right for a relaxing start to the day, light and airy with open French window opening out to the - luckily for us - mostly sunny morning light, with flowers etc.

Evening meals were also on offer, though had to be ordered earlier in the day. The traditional menu looked good, though perhaps quite expensive (3 courses would work out about £20-25 per person - this reflecting what seemed overall quite high eating out costs in Isle of Man generally).

The location is also great, in a very good position on the long sweeping attractive promenade with its gardens, seating, cycleway etc. It was only 5 minutes walk to the ferry port, 15 minutes to the steam railway, and only a couple of minutes to the most useful of the shops on Douglas's main, if low-key, pedestrianised shopping street.

So very highly recommended all round and a great base for exploring the island and we'd certainly go back. It is definitely a B&B style hotel, as most that we saw in Douglas seemed to be, so no coffee/bar, entertainment, or other facilities should the weather not be so good.

For what its worth we went as foot passengers on the Liverpool ferry, and bought the 5 day Heritage pass (£55 each) at the Douglas ferry terminal tourist information centre. This pass includes entrance (including repeat visits if wanted) to all main historic sites and unlimited travel on steam/electric trains including the Snaefell mountain train, horse drawn trams and the excellent bus network, apart from express buses (though as tourists there seemed no need to use these anyway).

This worked out perfectly for us, tho its important to pick up the well laid-out public transport timetable booklet when you buy the tickets so you can plan journeys...there seems to be a lot of seasonal variation in services. As well as the railways/trams etc being quite a big part of the fun, the bus network also goes to pretty much all the areas of interest and natural beauty including the very peaceful Craigneash and Sound area, overlooking the Calf of Man island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    77
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
123
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Finding a place to stay during the TT with only a few weeks notice is a nightmare. There are hundreds of B&B's on the Isle of Man, but only one that goes out of their way to help out visitors like this hotel. Of course it's expensive, but look at the work required to take care of such a rush of people. I give full credit to the owners of this hotel for making our trip possible.

The hotel is very clean. Breakfast was great with fast service. It's also the best location during the TT. Close to the start line and likewise the ferry.

Room Tip: Not facing the road during TT if you like your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Comfortable, friendly, helpful, great food, free wifi, etc. If Carlsberg did guest-houses...

I have to write this twice, as TripAdvisor won't let me off with fewer than 200 characters.

Comfortable, friendly, helpful, great food, free wifi, etc. If Carlsberg did guest-houses...

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter, lower floors have fewer stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Ellen Vannin was excellent. It is on the promenade, with superb views across the bay. The food is very good and if you want a treat, ask Pauline to cook an evening meal. Bring your own drink to match the local specialities offered and enjoy. Room 12 has a tremendous view, but is 2 floors up with no lift. If the room TV does not get the programme you want, try the set in the lounge which has Sky. We will certainly return. Ian and Joan.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a tremendous view of the bay and promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days as we were working on the island the hotel was first class. The breakfast was very good & when we came back from work are dinner was ready for us & what a meal it was. Paul & Pauline were great hosts & good fun nothing was a problem to them. Great hotel we will be staying there again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights midweek in room 11,which is a quiet room at the rear of the hotel.Bed very big and very comfy.Staff were very friendly and efficient.Had the best breakfast ever.The bacon was of a very high quality and not the nasty salty variety you usually get served up.Manx kippers were also on offer with a perfectly poached egg on top.Although check out was at 10am,we were able to leave our bags all day.Cant praise the place enough.

Room Tip: Room 11 is at the rear and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Ellan Vannin, Paul and Pauline were so accommodating and were very patient with requirements for our 8 month old baby; they provided a cot and highchair, were happy to keep the baby's food in their freezer/fridge and the lounge where we spent our evenings was so homely and comfortable. The ladies serving our food and cleaning the rooms were so friendly and thoughtful, Paul and Pauline should be very proud.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellan Vannin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellan Vannin Hotel

Address: 31 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellan Vannin is situated in a superb position on Douglas sea front, facing the historic and picturesque Tower of Refuge. The majestic sweep of Douglas bay can be enjoyed from the sea view rooms and the very comfortable guest lounge. We are just minutes from the main shopping area of Douglas. five minutes from the ferry terminal and main bus station. The famous steam railway and electric tram are a short stroll. We provide home cooked evening meals, a free high speed internet connection and a great cooked breakfast including Manx kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ellan Vannin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellan Vannin Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellan Vannin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.