We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD AT H.Q. TERRIFIC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosslyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rosslyn Hotel to your Saves list
Rosslyn Hotel
3 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“FOOD AT H.Q. TERRIFIC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were told the evening before our departure that the hotel had changed hands therefore breakfast was elsewhere which was a bit disconcerting, but once we met Angela any misgivings were dispelled. She and her staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The breakfasts are magnificent - in fact because the food all round was so good we found no incentive to take our evening meals elsewhere. The only downside was the weather - the heated towel rail in the bathroom came in very useful!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

There was slight feeling of lack of attention because this B&B has been taken over by the Meerside (2 doors down) where you check in and all the meals are served. The breakfast which was included was really outstanding with delicious choices. Also, the staff at the Meerside were friendly and helpful - especially Matt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just returned today and had a great time. The room my husband and I had was lovely with a nice en suite, all spotless. The communal areas could do with a bit of an update.However the hotel had recently changed hands ( our tour operator never told us about this.) It meant that all meals were taken in a sister hotels dining area which was 2 doors down. The meals were good and staff lovely.
I just felt that as owner or staff were never present at the Rosslyn it lacked a personal touch which was mentioned in earlier reviews . The other downside is parking, it is a nightmare but that is the case all over Douglas. . All in all we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed here for just over a week last year and had a brilliant, very enjoyable week. Sandy and Andy are extremely lovely and go out of their way to make sure you have a very pleasant stay and were very welcoming. The rooms are sparkling and attended to each day and the bathrooms are spotless. I stayed in a double that was a fantastic size. The food is excellent with a huge selection of breakfast food and drink and the owners were very attentive.

I have recommended this lovely, family- run hotel to all friends and family and will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Sandy, you and your staff were terrific. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Myself, my son and my brother were well impressed with the service, value and accommodations.
The room was a bit cramped for three fellows with all their motorcycle gear but I had asked if three could be accommodated in a double room which was immediately agreed over the 'phone.
My son had to depart two nights early( he had been called back to work) and it was appreciated that he was only charged for 5 nights against his 7 night booking.
This was the first visit to the Island for my son and brother and they were so pleased with the welcome given. I've been coming to the Island for years, staying with friends or in more expensive hotels and I was well pleased.
So thank you, Sandy, for a great Manx GP week. I'm sorry that this review is somewhat belated.I hope that I might stay again in the future

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My mother had booked this b and b as she had stayed once previously this year, however this was a BIG mistake!!.
Under tragic circumstances her brother, my uncle, was taken into hospital in a coma so she ended up staying with a friend and not in this B&B. As a result another family member stayed in this B&B as this was already paid for. This was the first experience of terrible service as it was stated that they were not advised of the change and it was very confusing. Forgive me but the room is based on 2 PEOPLE SHARING so the fact that one name was not mentioned is not very confusing at all and also, my mother went to this B&B with the family member and explained the change.

There is one other disgrace. Unfortunately, my uncle passed away and therefore the family member was so stricken with grief that she wanted to leave the Island as soon as possible. As I had paid for another 3 days/2 nights, I thought I would ring to see if there was any chance I could obtain some sort of refund considering the circumstances. However, I was greeted with an utter bark over the phone with no empathy/politeness/professionalism whatsoever stating in no uncertain terms that there would be no refund as they are trying to run a business which is fair enough but a simple no would have sufficed. On top of this, the family member was unable to get a flight home as they were all booked so ended up having to stay in this godforsaken B&B. She knew nothing until the hotelier, if you could even call her that, burst into her room and shouted 'WHAT SCAM ARE YOU RUNNING'! The family member had no idea what she was talking about, but I assume they thought that I tried to obtain a refund while the family member still remained in the room. She had tears in her eyes and tried to explain regarding the misunderstanding while being humiliated in a dog-like way. All that was required, was some clarification as to the room occupancy etc.

They had no sympathy, understanding or any sort of moral compass to be able to accost someone like this in their room while trying to come to terms with a death of a close family member that same day

This place was utterly shameful and is below the standards expected in this particular profession and should be mortified to charge people to stay here.

NEVER STAY HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TREATED LIKE AN UNEDUCATED, IGNORANT FOOL!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked this hotel which is a block away from the beach. We were due to arrive in Douglas during the hurricane but the ferry was cancelled, We immediately rang the hotel(mid afternoon) to tell them we had to stay on the mainland as we had no means of getting there. When we arrived in Douglas the next day the hotel was nowhere near the location on Google maps. We eventually found it and have no complaints about the room and food. When we came to pay the bill we were told we had to pay for the night we were not there as "it wasn't my fault the ferry was cancelled and I couldn't let the room". It wasn't as though the hotel was full. We felt we should have to pay for the room but an allowance should have been made against the breakfast they did not have to cook for us. Up to this point we would have recommended the hotel but we would now warn people to be aware of this if the ferries are cancelled. We lost out as we had to find accomdation in Morecambe. At least the trains and ferries were more accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Hotel

Address: 3 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rosslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosslyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.