We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood in Douglas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
07624 472411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 109 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: $16 - $78
Cuisines: English, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seafood in Douglas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pre-booking recommended. Small and friendly; appeared very popular with local residents. Interesting selection of starters and a good range of seafood, both on the menu and the "Specials" boards. ("Whole turbot" for £24 sounded a real bargain but I would have needed a larger table). Wine list had a good range of styles and prices. In my short stay on the Isle of Man, this was the only restaurant I enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    55
    8
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An ok seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

In comparison to another seafood restaurant on the quay the food at Tanroagan wasn't in our opinion as good. The mussels and the salmon scotch egg were good, however the T bone steak with the cafe de Paris butter was very oily, and I had to scrape the butter from the meat as the flavours just weren't right which spoilt what should have been a great main meal. However the service was very good, maybe a little rushed but it was busy in the restaurant.The wine and atmosphere was lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were having a long weekend in Douglas and my son booked us into here as a surprise. Very small restaurant but beautifully cooked and presented food. I jane queenside fritters for starter which were amazing. Lobster for main which was nice. The lobster was £36.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Terrific Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I was prompted to visit Tanrogan on the strength of the reviews seen on Tripadvisor - and I am very glad I did. The staff were friendly, and although the restaurant is compact, I didn't feel at all encroached on by the other tables. Although the choices looked tempting, we declined starters (having caught a glimpse of the desserts on offer). We did, however, take advantage of the home made bread rolls, which were warm and delicious. I chose hake with asparagus and bacon risotto, whilst the OH had his perennial favourite - turbot, here served with a generous portion of melt in the mouth Manx queenies and some moreish hand cut chips. The hake was soft and tasty, with the risotto a perfect accompaniment. The queenies and the chips I can also pronounce to be excellent (but there's no way the OH would let me have a look in on the turbot, so we'll have to take his word for it that it was gorgeous!). Unlike so many establishments these days, puddings were all home made - right down to the accompanying ice creams. I chose a 'shipwreck tart', which was a warm slice of fudgy, nutty heaven with the best sweet pastry I've had in some time. It's usually served with vanilla ice cream, but after hearing the staff discussing the new ice-cream flavour (chocolate orange), I asked if I could have that instead. It was wonderful. The OH had a chocolate fondant - so often the undoing of Masterchef types - it was spot on, with a melting middle.
Whilst not cheap (our choices plus a nice bottle of wine came to £80), I do feel like we got value for money. With the open kitchen in the corner, it was almost like dinnner and a show! I have no hesitation in recommending this venue to seafood lovers everywhere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointingly "bloody" lemon sole!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had booked a table for two on 12th July, received a friendly welcome and it was nice of the staff to congratulate me on my birthday.
The small bread rolls which were offered were not warm and were rather heavy.
The lobster was satisfactory but a little on the dry side.
My lemon sole was served whole with some small potatoes which rolled around on the plate as it was unceremoniously plonked in front of me.

We waited a while before asking there would be some vegetables. A small dish was served containing a mixture of greens, unattractively presented.

The lemon sole had a most unappetising stripe of red blood along the bone.

We decided that we would not complain as the staff were extremely busy and we had already requested about the vegetables. We thought that we would wait to see if a member of staff would come over to ask if all was ok - as this is quite usual in restaurants. Nobody asked.

The girl who cleared the plates away did not react at all that the lemon sole was almost untouched.

The desserts tasted good, were attractively presented and the Chablis was fine.

The bill for the lobster, lemon sole dishes, desserts and a bottle of wine came to 103 pounds, This would have been considered reasonable if the food had been tasty and well presented and if the service had been satisfactory.

Nevertheless, thanks to Tanroagan for a most memorable birthday happening. We left quite quickly as we got a fit of the giggles and couldn't stop:
Staff appeared with a cake lit with candles and sang "Happy birthday to You" and then walked slowly past me - to another guest who also had a birthday!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.