We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, spacious and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cunard Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cunard Apartments to your Saves list
Cunard Apartments
28-29 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location, spacious and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed at Cunard for 3 months whilst working on the island with my family. It became our home away from home. Very spacious, great sea view from living room and very central location. Good value for money for a long stay.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

very close to port within walking distance, close to shops & restaurants, clean spacious apartment with wonderful views of bay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I have stayed in Douglas many times, in various hotels, etc.
Travelling on business, but this time with my wife, and planning on being on IOM for 10 days, we decided to go self-catering. We found Cunard Apartments online, and were not disappointed. We were given a very nice 2BR apartment, with well appointed kitchen, and living areas. Very relaxed. Very central on promenade, and very close to shopping precinct.
We were well looked after by proprietors.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010 via mobile

We stayed at the Cunard for 4 nights in September 2010. The location is superb, it is a very short walk away from the ferry terminal and is located on the Promenade. The apartments appear to be newly renovated and our apartment was on the 3rd floor. There isn't a lift so if you have mobility problems, make sure you advise the owner upon booking. The apartment is very large and airy and the living/dining room overlooks the beautiful Promenade front. Our apartment had 2 decent sized bedrooms, one with an en-suite and a large kitchen which are fairly well equipped.

Located a short distance behind the apartments is the main shopping area which includes all the high street shops that you would expect. Next door to the Cunard is an Italian restaurant, which we would recommend for pizza.

Overall, I would recommend the Cunard apartments, location and size of the apartment make it a winner.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed recently following the advice of others on Tripadvisor - the rooms are very much like the photo's submitted by others. One of the nicest aspects of the place is the wonderful view over the promenade and sea (with a window which opens fully, so you can sit and watch the world go by).

The kitchen is well provided for for 4 people, with cleaning equipment included (and also cleaning materials are in the bathrooms too) - and hopefully the next person will benefit from the foil and cooking oil we had to leave behind!

If I was going to be very picky, the pillows were really hard (ok, I know this is a personal choice thing but boy were they solid!) and the 'master' bedroom could have been made more special with a change in the chairs.

But these are small points - it's a convenient location for shops (in the street to the rear),

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omegna, Italia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

The location in very centre, in front of a promenade, near the shppoing-centre.
The foto on the internet site is real.
The apertments in very big (about 60 mq.)
The livingroom complete of cd recorder, dvd recorder, play station, sky tv, big tv (few channels).
In any bedrooms tv-lcd (few channels).
One bedroom is complete of a bathroom with shower.
The Kitchen in very complete; we pretend for cooking ... we are italian and spoiled !
Ultimately, you will not find to objected. I'm sure you will be extremely satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebbw vale south wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

just came back from a four day break on the beautiful isle of man, my wife and i stayed at the cunard aparthotel, we stayed there on a number of ocassions in the past when it was the cunard hotel,we could,nt its praises enough then,fine home cooked food,great atmosphere in the bar,friendly, and informative management team in mr &mrs quirk &nigel the transfer from hotel to aparthotel is superb, the apartments are truely four star (five star we,d say), with every home comfort, t.v. in every bedroom, large t.v. in lounge, with sky, playstation, c.d. player, etc. main bedroom has a en.suite, with a seperate bathroom as well very spacious a real home from home feel about it.! location= location is brilliant lounge overlooks promenade, sunken gardens, with lovely views out to douglas bay,sea terminal is a ten minute stroll away bus & tram stop outside the door, unfortunately the horse trams were not running something the powers that be should address we feel. the bar overlooks the promenade, lovely to sit unwind & have a quiet drink. if you have,nt discovered the isle of man yet and are thinking about it,don,t hesitate book these superb apartments, with its great management team, we are certain you won,t be dissapointed, we are going back next year with our grandchildren,so much for them to do on this gem of an island. ps plenty of named shops for the ladies to! frank& jen davies ebbw vale south wales

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cunard Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunard Apartments

Address: 28-29 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cunard Apartments located in Douglas, the capital of the Isle of Man, are situated on Loch Promenade with beautiful views over the bay and marine gardens. These spacious 4 Star Deluxe Apartments in a central position offer the benefit of being near to all transport, shops and office locations whilst only a short distance from the beach and countryside. Close to the Sea & Air Terminals they offer the tourist and businessman ideal facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cunard Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cunard Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cunard Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.