We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good tasty food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isola

Isola
7 John Street, Douglas
+44 (01624) 623764
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 113 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a favourite place with a cosy relaxed atmosphere that always satisfies the taste buds with good wine on offer and a great italian menu with lots of favourites on offer

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
andalucia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had to book a late table, our first choices were not available, selected Isola based on the trip advisor reviews.

We had no real problems with service but the food was decidedly below average. In hindsight a better meal could have been knocked up at home in 15 minutes, the food was bland and unremarkable. Very disappointing!

Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The food was excellent, the table was booked by my girlfriend as a surprise birthday treat. This was based on the restaurant's special mid-week deals £12.95p for a 3 course meal. However the waitress never advised us and we ended up paying £50 for a two course meal. Drinks were extortionate £8.00p for a single gin and tonic and a large bottle of sparkling water. We could have had the three courses for £26.00p plus drinks. Disappointed that they did not explain. The deals are Tuesday Wednesday and Thursday. We saw the menu after we had eaten and paid. Very disappointed that they did not explain about the offer when we sat down.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Truly excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

First, we had reservations at Tanroagan, mainly due to TripAdvisor reviews. However, we had a change in plans and had to cancel. The next day, we decided to try the Tanroagan again (without reservations). It was 7:00 and the place was empty. However, when we asked about a table, we were treated very abruptly, with the hostess stating it would be impossible. We left, but not before noting that the tables were very close to each other, and the Tanroagan lacked any atmosphere - romantic or not. So we were not overly disappointed to be turned away.

We walked down the street and noticed the sign for Isola. We thought we'd try that one, and went inside. When asked if we had reservations, we said we didn't, but the manager went through his book and said that if we didn't mind leaving by about 8:15, he could accommodate us. With over an hour for dinner, that would be enough time, and we accepted, grateful for having found a place to dine. The upstairs looked fairly small, intimate, and a bit like a pub, but we were shown downstairs. That room had a very warm, Italian cave appearance, with candlelight and a romantic feel. We were beginning to feel quite pleased with our choice.

We were shown the quite extensive wine list, and chose a fine bottle (though reasonably priced). The waiter who brought it (and, later, our dinner) was very personable - an extremely polite, professional, and friendly young man. Shortly after opening the wine, he advised us that there was a change in reservations, and we no longer had to leave early. We could relax and enjoy our dinner.

When we received our food, we were even more pleasantly surprised. I had the pizza and my wife had the scampi with couscous. Both were really delicious, but the scampi sauce was quite outstanding. This turned out to be a really enjoyable meal, and one that stands out for our trip that even included a 2-Michelin star restaurant.

When we left, we complimented the manager on the excellent service and food, and I promised to give him a good TripAdvisor review. He was very thankful. I'm not sure why there are any negative reviews. Our experience has been more than positive, and we'd recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I ate here on a Thursday night recently whilst on business and I thought Isola was excellent.

Keen service with a smile and knowledge of their food and wine.

Tasty food and nice wine.. Good prices too and a good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Isola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.