We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koala Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Koala Cottage to your Saves list
Koala Cottage
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Hollow | Godshill, Ventnor PO38 3DR, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Luxury B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Quite the best B&B we have ever stayed at. The suite was large, spotless and beautifully furnished and equipped (but may be a bit twee for some tastes). The breakfast,cooked by the host Anne, was superb. The two restaurants/pubs closest are The Essex and The Taverners, we ate at both and the meals were extremely good and good value for money. Don't bother booking a five star hotel on the Island. This little gem of a B&B even has a little Sauna and Jacuzzi and is brilliantly located for all the shops and restaurants on Godshill.

Room Tip: Expedia doesn't mention that breakfast is included in their rate, which it is, so might put off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
72
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found Koala Cottage on the internet and how lucky was that? Can't fault a thing, room was delightful,breakfast excellent,location quiet and peaceful and to top it all, Anne used to live in the same village as us and on the same road. What a coincidence.
We stayed for 2 nights on 26th & 27th August and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-East England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was very clean and very comfortable with all the amenities you could need. The bathroom, in particular, is lovely and feels very luxurious. Anne is an excellent host - friendly and welcoming but also gives you your privacy. The location is very handy for getting out and about - we would heartily recommend The Taverners for an evening meal. Anne's breakfasts are very generous and very tasty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I cannot praise Koala cottage enough. Though we only stayed for one night, Anne, who was the perfect host, made us feel very welcome and ensured we were not lacking anything. We stayed in the Ruby suite and found it very comfortable and super clean. We also thought that the décor was really tasteful. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and there was also choice of various cereals and yoghurts as well as fruit. Will I be returning to Koala cottage? Most definitely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed for one night in the Saphire room. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Have nothing but praise for the service, location and the breakfast provided.
Really enjoyed staying at the Koala Cottage. If I am ever again at the Isle of Wight, I would book this B&B again for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

High end accommodation seems thin on the ground on the IOW so was delighted to find this property. The build quality is very high and although it has been around for some time appears new and very well maintained. The Victoriana theme, though appropriate, may not be to everyone’s taste but we picked it for the spacious accommodation, large bed and walk in shower (there is a roll top bath too). Had never heard of Godshill prior to my visit but it is a beautiful, little village with thatched cottages and as nowhere is that far away on the IOW a good location. The church is well worth a visit but be warned that the village does attract plenty of coach tours during the day. We were out most of the time so avoided the crowds on the whole. The bus service appeared well supported and frequent but there are plenty of eating options in the village itself which is handy. Each room had an outdoor seating area where it was nice to sit out and enjoy our complimentary bottle of wine. Privacy was ensured by full length voiles in each room. We stayed in the Sapphire Room but the rooms are virtually identical so nothing really to choose between them. Anne cooked first class breakfasts - long time since I have eaten scrambled eggs cooked over a bain-marie and the cold platter I chose on our second morning was so huge we were given a doggy bag and finished the rest for our lunch. Two small criticisms - the room was very hot (for some reason the heating was coming on even in June) and there was not much tourist information or advice available. We pretty much knew what we wanted to do but for overseas visitors this may be helpful. Some people may find the breakfast timing rather restrictive too. We have stayed at a number of B&B’s over the years of high quality with prices to match yet this is still at the top of the price range and it is perhaps hard to appreciate what extra you are getting except to say. as I started, there is not much competition in this sector of the market.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very, very helpful and understanding manager. Very tasty breakfast, but you have to agree for a time slot (for example 9 am) night before. Rooms are clean and spacious. Very comfortable bed.
Good mobile reception with Vodafone, not so good with EE.
We enjoyed privacy- you are given a key and no more walk through reception etc...

Room Tip: Don't have too high expectations regarding sauna and Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koala Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Cottage

Address: Church Hollow | Godshill, Ventnor PO38 3DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Koala Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most luxurious five star B&B retreat in the picturesque village of Godshill on the Isle of Wight. Deluxe suites have first class facilities and Ric & Maggie’s personal and friendly service is second to none. An exclusive retreat providing everything that you could wish for. Indulge yourselves in spa treatments, champagne picnics, grand high teas and much more. All suites have canopied king sized beds, own lounge & dining facilities and beautiful large Victorian style en-suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Koala Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Cottage Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koala Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.