We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up there with the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventnor Haven Fishery Takeaway

Ventnor Haven Fishery Takeaway
Ventnor Haven | The Esplanade, Ventnor, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 46 Restaurants in Ventnor
Cuisines: English
Description: +44 (0) 1983 852176
Restaurant details
Description: +44 (0) 1983 852176
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Up there with the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This isn't a chippy in the classic sense, so if you want gloppy curry sauce or kebab meat, you'll be disappointed. My wife and I were impressed by the food, cooked to order by smiling staff. The twice-cooked chips were excellent, the fish fresh and tasty and the lime/coriander mayonnaise unusual from a fish shop. One of the best fish and chip places we've been to and worth the extra pound.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    10
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fish and chips.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My partner and I visited this place during our holiday in Ventnor. We both had the fish and chips at the seafront. Great location and very tasteful food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ridiculous!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Queued for 20 minutes only to be told that they didn't serve just chips. You're a fish and chip takeaway for goodness sake. Might be an idea to let customers know this by putting it on the menu at the top of the pier.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We strolled along verntnor beach and came across this lovely place. The fish portions were excellent and the chips are great. Real potatoes chips cooked to order. Next time on the island we will definitely visit again. Maybe they should do delivery to mainland UK.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“not as good food as we hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

we queued for some time and hoped this meant the food would be good. However we were disappointed as the chips were undercooked and the rock salmon not very nice. Too much batter on the chips. There was also an unpleasant smell of sewerage as we waited in the queue

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventnor Haven Fishery Takeaway also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Ventnor Haven Fishery Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventnor Haven Fishery Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.