We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Welcoming" few days on the Isle of Wight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Mount Guest House

Victoria Mount Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Mount Guest House to your Saves list
Victoria Mount Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Victoria Street, Ventnor PO38 1ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A "Welcoming" few days on the Isle of Wight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Where to start? Gotta be the warm and relaxed welcome from Mark and Stella. Friendly and helpful hosts at this clean, comfortable and beautiful guest house. Our room was smashing, large, clean, en suite, well furnished and the towels and coffee facilities were sorted daily. The balcony view took in the town, the hillside and the coast. The breakfasts were amazing, and hubs has come home and taken on the challenge of the fruit salads! The cooked breakfasts are delicious and enough to keep you going until teatime! Stella and Mark were full of hints and tips and we took in the route home which Mark pointed out to us and found some beautiful spots to stop at, including Mottistone. In short, if we come to the island again, we will be staying here at the Victoria Mount Guest House. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I went for one week as our honeymoon and it was superb. We were made to feel special from the moment we walked in, from the complimentary champagne, to the beautiful view (Stella and I had spoken on the phone before and she suggested we have one of their larger rooms at the front of the house for very good deal). The breakfast was wonderful, such a treat to have home cooked food everyday, and Stella and Mark had endless recommendations for dinner which kept us busy all week, we even had take away pizza one night and ate on their lovely veranda outside. We went paragliding and found that Mark was very experienced in this, and even bumped into him at a pub on the way back where we shared a pint together. We felt that we were guests in someone's home and were very welcome every time we walked in the door. I have been recommending Victoria Mount non stop since we came back, and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is probably the best guest house I have stayed in in UK. Stella & Mark are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts are to die for. Rooms are spotless and room facilities are excellent. Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well where do I start??? Firstly the owners of the hotel (Stella & Mark) were so warm and welcoming when we arrived. We were shown to our room which was beautiful with a balcony over looking the town along with a sea view which was delightful. Comfortable and clean with all the mod cons you could ask for.
Well here's your challenge can you eat one of Mark's breakfasts? Fantastic home cooked breakfast all good quality ingredients and if you like black pudding it's a must.
We had no problem parking at all as there was always spaces available across the street.
Stella and Mark were more like friends by the end of our stay and we will be definitely returning.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms were lovely but all rooms were excellent quailty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

After staying in so many average guest houses over the years it was a real surprise to stumble upon mark and Stella's place on the Internet. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel genuinely welcome and at home. The secret to the Victoria is the couple running it. Clean, tidy, functional, warm and honest. What a relief!! We've stayed in some crap over the years so we wanted our first trip away without the kids to be a good one...and it was. Attention to detail is obvious everywhere you look. A lovely balcony overlooking ventnor to relax and watch the world go by. The rooms were fresh and laundered daily!! Stella keeps the place in ship shape and marks breakfast is to die for ( orgainc pork sausages, thick cut smokey bacon and huge beef tomatoes. Oh, and home-made bread). 5 star place, 5 star people. Thanks again guys. Craig & Liz.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDINIUM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent the weekend in ventnor for our friends 25th wedding anniversary. They sent a list of a few places to stay. After looking at the hotels and guest houses we came across one that was not on the list. The Victoria mount guest house and what a find it was. To start Stella and mark were the perfect host they done everything with a smile. The house was ideal for getting to everywhere we needed to go. The guest house was very clean from top to bottom and the room was of a very good quality. A nice balcony to sit out on to have an early morning cup of tea overlooking the town and the sea. A very comfy bed. And the full English breakfast was fantastic. We have stayed in a number of b&bs over the years. But this is one of the best 10 out of 10 for everything a b&b could give. Will return sooner than later to this little gem. Thanks for a wonderful stay Stella and mark

Room Tip: A room at the front overlooking the town and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really lovely guest house. Stella and Mark are very welcoming hosts and the guest house is in a great location. Had no problem finding the place and parking was easy. The room was lovely and roomy and had a balcony with a lovely view over the town and sea. The bed was extremely comfortable so had a great sleep on both nights and the shower room was bright and fitted with a very nice shower. Would definitely go back if we ever find ourselves in Ventnor again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Mount Guest House

Address: Victoria Street, Ventnor PO38 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Mount Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Mount Guest House Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Mount Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.