We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ventnor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Hotel
Save
You added Hillside Hotel to your Saves list
151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ventnor
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Autumn Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful Hillside! An amazing guest house which has been beautifully decorated internally in a Nordic style. A warm welcome upon arrival by the delightful Gert who runs the hotel with his family. A comfortable room (we had room 4) which had beautiful views over the gardens and sea. Breakfast is a relaxed affair with a choice of continental or a cooked breakfast - cooked options was perfectly cooked and presented. We took a walk around the garden and met the couple who help Gert manage the vast vegetable garden. Lots of interesting things going on from the cultivation of flowers to home grown mushrooms. The most memorable thing about Hillside was the amazing art - beautiful pieces adorn the walls and really complement the whole design philosophy. The guest house is a labour of love for the family - you sometimes feel that you need to take more care than you would at other hotels or guest houses but if you are a considerate person this place is heaven.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    29
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
239
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We have loved watching the culture and style of this small hotel develop and deepen. It really is one of the most relaxing, welcoming and attentive places we know. The staff are great - professional, friendly, with great attention to detail. The comfort level is exemplary. The food and wine are fabulous.

There's something about the hotel that helps people with busy lives to briefly escape, recharge, and let life move at a different pace.

This was our third visit, enhanced by exceptional weather. We'll be heading back next year. It really is a tiny gem which we can strongly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

I have waited a few weeks to write my review of a weekend stay at the hillside. I thought it would be unfair to make a snap judgement and not fully reflect on the experience. You see there is a big dilemma. Balancing a nice comfortable hotel with great food and feeling like you had been sent to a naughty children's home.

In summary we were there for our friends 50th birthday weekend, we had booked the whole hotel for Friday and Saturday night. We are all friends, most of us are professionals, business owners and senior managers and all of us are very well travelled.

As I say the breakfasts and dinners were very good, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated.

However, if you want freedom to sit down where you like, have a drink - including tea or coffee in your room, then think again. You will be watched, followed and told off if you do not follow the very strict rules of the owner. You will not serve yourself wine at the dinner table - even thugh you have bought several bottles. You will not have drinks after midnight, even though you are the only residents. You will have breakfast between 8 and 9 and asked to leave the table at 9. There are many more examples I could give, but hopefully you get the picture.

Seriously the rules were more relaxed at Osborne House then they were at the Hillside.

So great food and treated like a naughty child, then The Hillside is great. Relaxed and feeling like you are on holiday, then I would suggest you give it a miss.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We enjoyed a weekend away in the Isle of Wight and stayed at this gem of a hotel. It was a fantastic hotel with wonderful sea views and a warm hug of a welcome when we arrived. A must place to stay and we'll certainly re-visit!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which had wonderful views. Next time we'd like to stay on the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The first stop on our 2 week European vacation was truly unforgettable. Seven family members returning with my Mother's ashes to her birthplace. Gert and his staff treated us like family from the beginning, helping us with arrangements when they couldn't be accomplished from afar. Lovely rooms, views, ambiance. Drinks on the patio and amazing meals. Our stay was a highlight...our Mom who came from a hotel family in Ventnor would have approved!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Charming and elegant. Breathtaking views of Ventnor and the sea. Delicious meals prepared with ingredients fresh from the garden. Light and airy rooms with comfortable beds. From first contact Gert and Celia anticipated and met our every need. Hated to leave. Committed to return.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Another wonderful long weekend at Hillside, good food and comfort in a hotel that doubles as an art gallery. The walls are as interesting as the views. Gert and his staff welcome you as if you were returning home. We even now understand the Danish sense of humour!

Room Tip: Look for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ventnor
#1 Family Hotel in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.