We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View of the Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hillside Hotel to your Saves list
Hillside Hotel
151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful View of the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Two of us visited for a lovely stay on Friday night stay. We had a really wonderful time in the Isle of Wight refreshed by a super comfortable night in Room 2.

I really liked the decor of Hillside Hotel, the splendid welcome we received where I
felt nothing was too much trouble and the terrific views from our bedroom window.
Breakfast in the morning sunshine in November was such a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    29
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
47
250
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of the rave reviews it had received on Tripadvisor and were certainly not disappointed. We have never explored the Isle of Wight before and, having made a fairly extensive tour of the island in two days, were happy that Ventnor, which is full of faded Victorian splendour, was the best place to be based. The Hillside, together with the first class service, warmth and friendliness of Gert, the owner, and his charming daughter, Stephanie, and her partner Anders could not be faulted. The quality of the bedding and toiletries, the cleanliness throughout, the wonderful sea views over the town with brilliant sunsets, all added to our overall pleasure. We had hoped to eat at the hotel but the chef was on holiday and so we ate at the Bistro in the town - which is also owned by Gert [please see my separate report on the Bistro]. As I had a knee replacement earlier in the year, Gert offered for Anders or Stephanie to drive us to and from the Bistro at times to suit us so that I would not have to walk down and up a steep hill which is still quite a challenge for me. This was so thoughtful and totally unexpected. We had a stroll round the wonderful vegetable garden one morning and it was like a mini Manoir aux Quatres Saisons with a large variety of fresh fruit, vegetables and herbs available for the chef. Hillside is an old thatched house which has been sympathetically converted into a boutique hotel with modern Danish touches (reflecting the nationality of Gert, the owner). There are some wonderful antique books on display which were interesting to browse through and the hotel has an extensive range of contemporary art throughout which is all very colourful and thought provoking, if not necessarily to suit everyone's taste - we loved it. It is probably the best boutique hotel that we have stayed in and we almost felt as if we were staying as house guests rather than hotel guests because of the overall friendly ambience.

Tea and coffee or other drinks were readily available downstairs whenever and wherever we chose and breakfast was served in the dining room each morning. Fresh fruit, fruit juices, cereals, yogurts, Danish pastries and cold meats/cheeses were available "buffet style" and a range of cooked food was served which was delicious, and beautifully presented, particularly the sausages which were to Gert's own recipe.

We will certainly be visiting Hillside again and hopefully will have the opportunity of enjoying some meals cooked in the hotel by the French chef. Thank you Gert, Stephanie and Anders for the lengths you to which you went to ensure that we had a wonderful stay, and thanks also for sending so promptly by post the items that I had foolishly left in the room upon our departure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just had a couple of nights at the Hillside Hotel and found it to be a really nice place to stay. The welcome was excellent and everyone in the hotel was very friendly throughout. The room we had was great and very comfortable and the general decor and art throughout the house was very stylish. We had dinner at the hotel bistro and the food was excellent. Thanks to the Hillside for a great stay! The only place to stay in Ventnor and possibly the island.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our experience at Hillside was a little different to many of those who have written before us in that the chef was on holiday and no evening meals were available in the restaurant. This meant that we ate four out of seven evening meals in their Bistro in town. This was no problem for us since the inventiveness of Matt's cooking and its skilled execution made each meal a pleasure. We were also very well looked after by Penny the waitress. On one of the evenings at the Bistro Gert arranged for us to have a special meal since he reckoned (correctly!) that we might be getting towards the end of the possibilities on the Bistro menu which does not change from day to day.
The result was a roast rump of lamb with puy lentils which once again was cooked to perfection. Our favourite items on the menu were the fillet of Island beef with braised ox cheek and the Guinea fowl. The cauliflower soup was devoured three times and as one of the other guests said was "to die for"!!

I have gone into the detail above to show how Gert and the team went to so much trouble to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. On one evening Gert cooked us a delicious Beef Stroganoff himself preceded by a flavourful watercress soup (they have their own supply of watercress) and followed by a palate clearing dessert. Breakfasts were copious and tasty, particularly the home made sausages!
Gert, Stephanie his daughter and her partner Anders make a great team and one or other of them is always at the door to meet you with a smile and offer of refreshment when you return from your activities of the day. All in all this was one of the best weeks we ahe ever spent on holiday and we are very grateful to this splendid trio for making our time with them so memorable.
We look forward to returning in the Spring when hopefully the weather will enable us to spend more time in the garden.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 which had a great view of the Channel and a very comfortable double bed. Some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful hotel the weekend September 2013, I can`t really add more than the other reviews. From the moment you arrive until you reluctantly have to leave Gert and his team make you most welcome and nothing is too much trouble;the Scandinavian design and art of the hotel is of the highest standard. Gert has created a luxurious and very relaxing hotel to spend time in. The rooms and the hotel are immaculate . The food; particularly the seafood/champagne evening was excellent as were the wines and the home marmalade !
All within a few minutes of Ventnor.Definitely the place to stay on IOW.....

Had lunch at beach bar & bistro (sign on main road at Norton) right on the beach served great moules..mind you we shared as didn`t want ruin Hillsides` dinner !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A group of 8 friends stayed here last week at what is an upmarket, bespoke hotel. The standard of accomodation, food and service are very high indeed. The decor is very tasteful and up-to-date and the service by Gert and his team is one that is very attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, although all seem very good - those to the rear may be larger and a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent location, food, wine, service and rooms.
The attention to detail is such that you know every effort has been made to make you stay a real pleasure. Book and enjoy!


Ps, it has the best sand mini beach on the island, with 'the crab shack' for an awesome anytime snack! Can't remember the name but staff will let u know. Near the cricket ground

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Hotel

Address: 151 Mitchell Avenue, Ventnor PO38 1DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside is a charming 18th-century Grade II listed Hotel built of mellow stone and thatch, with panoramic sea views and a southerly aspect. Set within 5 acres, backed by St. Boniface Down overlooking the Victorian town of Ventnor, Hillside's location is delightful in summer, sheltered and cosy in winter. Hillside has 2 eateries: Hillside Restaurant and Hillside Bistro giving super choices for lunch and evening meals of highest standard. Hillside is welcoming individuals and groups. Hillside Hotel is a calm place to relax and enjoy great company and presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.