We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views but very basic accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel
Off Hope Road | Eastcliff Promenade, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely views but very basic accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The positives:
- Our room had a beautiful sea view
- Staff were efficient and check-in and check-out was very fast
- Great location with an easy, very short walk down to the Esplanade
- Room was spacious

The negatives:
- The walls of the rooms were so thin, it actually sounded like the people next door were in our room!
- The water temperature in the bath was very hit and miss. There was no shower curtain and just a hand held shower head that close to flooded the bathroom if you stood up.
- Breakfast was very average - eggs seemed to be microwaved

I did not pay a budget price as came on a bank holiday weekend, so perhaps was expecting a little more. The overall feel of the hotel was very tired, and I will not return if I go back to Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    30
    34
    91
See reviews for
34
75
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Mayfair Hotel is beautifully placed at a high point on the Isle Of Wight, which had stunning views (just a long, steep hill to reach it!) Check in time wasn't until 3pm and I knew that we would be on the Isle before that so pre-phoned the hotel to ask it was OK to leave our bags there earlier and the lady couldn't have been more helpful. Left our bags there from 12pm and went out to explore. The room was pretty basic but for what we paid it was just right. Good view of the sea. Shower took a couple of minutes to heat but that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was decent and made a good start to the day. Check out time was 10am and again the owners were kind enough to let us leave our bags there for the day. All in all, a lovely weekend and can't sing the staffs praises enough for being so welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra and had a room with a view which was lovely. Hardly any noises in the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend in Isle of Wight, Lovely place to visit and this hotel is in a very good location being right on the cliffs overlooking the sea. The room I had was very clean and tidy, room always warm. Meals were always well cooked, but not too much choice although everything I had was tasty and well presented. A must is a visit to the Shanklin Chine which is just a very short walk away.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor on the side, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Yes it was a budget hotel but for what we wanted it was sufficient. However there was no hot water in the taps but the shower was good. No hair dryer in the room.
The room was clean and serviced. The staff was a tad quick when it came to serving a full English before we had finished the cornflakes! But very friendly and helpful. Yes, it was a bit run down and tired looking in places but you were getting what you paid for - a budget hotel for a budget price. It was fine for a long weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Bullets on the Hotel:
1. Staff were worst
2. No proper facilities in the room- no heater, no hot water, unclean beds, towels
3. very unfriendly while serving breakfast
4. May -'unfair' will be better name.
5. Staff manipulated when we checked-in, to change the rooms we actually booked
6. we were able to hear noise from adjacent rooms.

Room Tip: don't go for it even as a last option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Mayfair in April 2012 as a base for a coach party trip. First impression was a bit run down, but the room, bedding, towels etc were all very clean. It's a family run place, with what appeared to be very few outside people employed. Owners were very polite and obliging and for what we paid the stay was good value, and we enjoyed our stay.

Food choices for our party was minimal for dinner, a choice of three main courses as I remember it. But it was plain cooking, plentiful, and nice and hot - adequate. Breakfast was full English and a choice of cereals. Bar prices were reasonable and we had an outside entertainer come in on one evening, who proved to be quite good for a coach party crowd! Other nights were quiet and TV was the saving grace, or a chat and drink with other guests if you preferred!

Beach and shops fairly close, and nice sea views from the hotel and the adjacent roadway. Not the best location if you have mobility problems. Stairs at front and in hotel and a steep winding walk down to the beach and harder back up!

Overall a pleasant, quiet, location and reasonable value if you want a short break at fair price but don't expect 5 star standards. Free wifi is available too.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view on a lower floor - less stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went there to celebrate my wife's birthday this, was the worst ever the room was dirty there were cobwebs everywhere you had to run the water for at least 10 minutes to get lukewarm water and the room was freezing. Breakfast was 3 sorts of cereal and a full English no choice of anything different so if you do not eat fry ups then nothing.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: Off Hope Road | Eastcliff Promenade, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.