We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medehamstede Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Medehamstede Hotel to your Saves list
Medehamstede Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Just got back from a short break at the Medehamstede with eight of us in twin rooms, on a self drive break. Was very worried about it because of the reviews but was surprised. It is not a 3 star hotel, but they have 5 star staff. My room did not have a shower, but Mandy offered us another room that was away from our friends, so we said no thankyou.
Our boys offered us the use of their shower, but as there was an empty single room next door with a shower, we were given the key. The food was ok, and as it was cheap, we did not mind ordering our dinner at breakfast. The entertainment could have been better, so on our last night we went up to Daishs hotel, but their room was not so good, but the entertainment was ok, and a pint was about 20p cheaper. I would go there again in April/Summer, but would find it boring in the winter.
Clean towels everyday if required and you do not need to be a vegetarian to have a veggie meal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    74
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
27
78
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Your review
a great holiday‎ - ‎ - Today
We have just got back from staying in one of the most friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in The Medehamstede in Shanklin.They are the most accommidating people, you just feel at home the moment you step in the door. The food was lovely a good variation with sauces to match and always nice and hot thumbs up to the chef.(try his home made fish cakes with mild chillie sauce)The rooms are very clean and yes we had clean towels EVERY DAY unlike some hotels we have stayed in.The hotel is very clean and comfortable.Our room was always nice and warm and so was the shower. Thankyou so much for a great holiday to all the team at the Medehamstede

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the midlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

After dropping of other travellers at other hotels and arriving at our hotel we were alittle dissapointed. But never the less the greeting that awaited was wellcoming.

Our room was very basic but clean. (Need updating). The food was good, or so i thought as one couple found something to moan about every night. The staff were friendly.

The location was good just a few minutes from the shops, and the beach as long as the lift was working otherwise you need to like mountain climbing.

Enterainment ( what entertaiment ? ) The brochure from travelstyle stated entertainment. If you call one game of bingo every night that lasted all of ten mins. A singer on one occasion, who incidentley was quite good, and a quiz on another which lasted an hour or there abouts of entertaiment well i'm sorry, We were there for four nights. Whether this was the hotels fault or the travel company i dont know. But unless this changed I would not return.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We travelled at Easter time with Travelstyle. The hotel was in an excellent location, but could do with an external re-furb., as it looks quite shabby from the outside.
Internally it has been re-furbished to a good standard and both us and our friends were given family rooms with a double and single bed in each. We also had a seaview. Room service was excellent,cleaned each day and fresh towels.

There was entertainment on 3 nights but we only stayed in 1 night as it was raining,entertainment was o.k but the draught beer was not up to standard, so we ended up at the local Liberal Club for the other 2 nights.

We found all the staff very friendly and helpful apart from the Restaurant Manager who was a little surly especially when we asked for extra toast!
The food was good quality but portions were small and did not satisfy the men in our party.

The hotel was very warm and heating was left on most of the night.

Overall an excellent value for money weekend for what we paid, but not if it been full price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

one of the friendliest htoelswe have ever stayed in from arriving to leaving.agood location the room we stayed in was clean and adequate, although the the shower come toilet was small.the service was excellent,also the maid service as was the barstaff.the entertainment was on two days and was very good a quiz on anothernight and bingo throughout our stayi.the manageress wass very bubbly as was the bingo callerwith a good sense of humour the only thing is ifyou have problems with stairs ask for a ground floor room as some stairs are qite steep .food was good not a massive choice ,but overall i thought the hotel was good value for moneyand would not mind returning. but on a low floor with a bathOV we travelled with travelstyle who providedgood drivers with a varied trips out. met some lovely people terry x gail

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

My wife and I with two of our friends have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel and have had a wonderful time. The rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable, and both rooms had full en-suite facilities, tea-making facilities and TVs.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the food was well cooked and plentiful.

The evening entertainment on the three nights we were there was of a very high quality and thoroughly enjoyable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others without any hesitation, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Have been here a few times,excellent hotel, staff cant do enough, meals all home cooked,warm bedrooms and it is near town with excellent shops and cafe's. It is also near beach and the hotel has entertainment every night. Going back april and new year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Medehamstede Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medehamstede Hotel

Address: 9 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Medehamstede Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Medehamstede Hotel. Our hotel is situated in attractive gardens. Close by is the cliff lift, and the town and the Old Village are withing easy walking distance.We have 52 bedrooms, all en-suite. There are tea/coffee facilities, colour televisions, and some of our rooms offer superb sea views.We have regular entertainment, bingo and quizzes - why not take advantage of our hospitality? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Medehamstede Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medehamstede Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medehamstede Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.