We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auckland Hotel to your Saves list
Auckland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

To say this hotel is in need of updating is an understatement, it still has lino on the bathroom floor. Having said that the rooms were spotlessly clean, the bar although limited in supplies was cosy.
The staff especially Kathy were very welcoming and friendly.
Kathy worked on the reception and then in the bar all day and night, she worked so hard, and yet was still smiling and happy to help with any requests.
The breakfast was sufficient, not a great choice but the english breakfast (1 sausage, 1 bacon, 1 egg and choice of tin toms or beans) was hot and well cooked.
If you only want a short stay then this hotel is idea, I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: It is nice to pay the extra and have a balcony, if the suns shining the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    12
    10
    12
See reviews for
13
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

had a fantastic summer holiday at the auckland hotel again.i had to get on here and write a report.i felt i had to respend back to some comments which were put about the hotel.Have stayed in room in question for the same 2 weeks every year.for the last 7 years love the view from the second floor, and im shocked at how people can make storys up.saying about dust on the balcony.what a ridiculous thing to say.I never saw anything (dust) on the balcony.makes you wonder why people would say such lies,.as for their being no showers in the rooms.. its a complete fabrication of the truth! ive been coming to this hotel for years and this year the hotel has new colours in the dinnig room. as well as the pool room.as for the bar what can i say fantastic.a new bar from floor to ceiling a relaxing place to spend the night.I DONT UNDERSTAND IF SOME TIMES PEOPLE ARE UNHAPPY WITH ANYTHING.why not go to reception and mention it. not go back and write on here,to me it makes no sense at all.but i for one will be returning next year.the staff are always on hand to help you and food is always great and the location is good too.2 mins from the beach and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived at this hotel after an eleven hour coach trip. Check in was swift and it was off to the room. I opened the room door and found myself in the toilet, yes you had to go through the toilet to get to the bedroom. My wife and I didnt really fancy this so I went to see if we could get another room. My wife has mobility problems and this was the only room close to the stairs on the first floor. We were shown another room but it was up more stairs so we decided to stay put. We went down for dinner and it was hot and tasty so no complaints there. We stayed a week and I never got used to entering the room in the toilet. All the meals were great I really liked the breakfasts you got plenty. The hotel is really well placed for the beach, only a few minute walk to the beach lift. It was only a few minutes to the town as well. The bar is a bit expensive but there are plenty other places close by so this was never a problem. If you do go please visit the Palmerston Hotel it is just on the corner and the host is a scream and the drink is very reasonable, £2.50 a pint and £6 for a bottle of wine. All in all the hotel if fine but I woulnt go back. I will visit the Shanklin again but will try another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISI1, Manager at Auckland Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We have a fully stocked bar with reasonable prices. We are a Hotel and not a club, therefore we cannot possibly charge club prices but do charge reasonably good prices compared to other establishments. IF the guest had a problem with their room they should have told a member of staff. As far as we were concerned the guest had a nice holiday and never at any stage mentioned that they had a complaint regarding their stay. It is becoming increeassingly apparent that the less the customer pays the more they expect.
We can only do our best, if the guest informs us that they have had a nice holiday but then they write a bad review on trip then there isnt much we can do about that.
We always aim to please but unfortunately we cannot please everyone all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

hi just got back from a week at the Auckland hotel, traveling by coach with national holidays , first i would like to thank John, anna, and all the other staff who made the stay really nice , hotel nice and clean, tidy , great choice of three course meals, no complaints at all so thanks again, and thanks to Dave the coach driver ,who with is knowledge of the island made the journey and excursions much pleasant so for a really relaxing time we would recommend ..........christine, nigel .from york

Room Tip: ask one with balcony very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for a week on a coach trip and found it to be good value for accomodation,food,and the location. The staff were more than helpful when asked about any query ,the dining room staff were very attentive the food was good and above expectations for the price charged. I would not have any hesitation on a return visit here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just returned today after a 4 day break with Just Go holidays staying at the Aukland Hotel. We found the staff very friendly and courteous,our room was very clean as was the bedding and the bathroom, clean towels every day which wasn't expected on Sunday but the chambermaid surprised us as it said on back of room door that it was her day off. The food was very niceand was served to us at the table(No buffet here so no queueing!! ) there was a choice of 2 meals on the menu for the evening meal, we were asked at breakfast for our choice for the evening. This is not a 5 star hotel and the hotel is is probobly 1960 s , But we hadn,t any thing to complain about very enjoable. The only problem was for people with walking diffulculties there are no lifts,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We returned yesterday from a 4 night break at the Auckland Hotel and had a briliiant time. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food fabulous and the staff could not have been more helpful. We went on a coach holiday and for what we paid this was excellent value for money, I really wonder what people expect for their money, if you are upgraded then you pay. We were lucky to be allocated a balcony room for our stay, the room was huge, pity the weather not warmer for us to enjoy the balcony to its full potential and enjoy the sea views. Hats off to the hotel for the service and quality provided for the money that they get, we got 4 nights half board and the coach for less than 4 nights B&B elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hotel does not have a lift but first floor can be accessed from rear of hotel, if you struggle with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Hotel

Address: 10 Queen's Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auckland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auckland Hotel offers superb purpose built modern accommodation in a tranquil setting, being located in a much sought after select area,only two minutes strollfrom the lift to the beach,the theatre,Gardens,Shops,Chine and Old Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.