We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helen's Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bayhouse to your Saves list
The Bayhouse
Keats Green | 8 chine ave, Shanklin PO37 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Helen's Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely lunch at the newly named restaurant within the Bayhouse Hotel Shanklin. Friendly service great wine nice choice of lunch menu ( ploughmans , platters deli size or from the main menu) save room for the deserts worth the visit just for these. Enjoyed it so much booked for our next free Saturday evening.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived whilst the sun the still shining, it's set in a beautiful location. Sat outside in ample seating area for a pint from the bar, everyone seemed friendly! Room for the night was 18, quiet enough didn't Hear any loud music or banging other reviews clomplained about. Barmen was nice enough to make a cocktail for us not on the menu. Don't expect 'the Ritz' when you don't pay Ritz prices! This however is good value for money! :)

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent 2 nights at The Bayhouse. Our room on the ground floor was lovely & light with ample space, although we did have a few issues with the hot water not being hot all the time. The hotel is in a great location for the beach, although there is an uphill walk on the way back. The Chine and the town and shops are also within walking distance. The location is what really sells the hotel though as it is set overlooking the bay & beach and, in the summer, must be fantastic. We ate in the Bistro on the first night and although it took a while for the food to arrive, when it came it was hot and tasty. We also had breakfast both mornings which was fine and they accommodated all our various requests.
My only real negative point is that on both nights, there was very loud music. On the Saturday night, there was a birthday party going on and on the Friday night, it seemed as if there was a large group of young local people.Although I appreciate that the hotel needs to diversify, I do believe that there should be somewhere that the paying residents can go to as we don't all want to retire to our rooms or stay out all night but it was very hard to have a conversation between us.
Apart from that, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I popped in for a drink the other day, liked the look of the menu, so came back the following day to dine. The bar area is large and not at all like a hotel bar. It has the feel of a proper bar/restaurant and is very welcomming to non-residents. The barman was friendly and remembered our drinks from the day before. They have an happy hour from 5 until 7 every evening which results in excellent value beers. I had a Cobra or two and at £3 a pint, found it went down a treat. After 7 it reverts to the usual price of £3.80 which is about par for the area. My wife had the house double vodka which was also £3. The only problem we had was they sold out of vodka after one drink. I know theses things happen but it was a shame.
The food itself was excellent. We both had burgers, one lamb and one beef which we then shared. Both were of high quality and came served witha lovely portion of piping hot chips and a side salad. At £10.95, we thought they were good value, given the quality of the meat. My wife had a slice of coconut and lime cheesescake for dessert which she really enjoyed. At £5.25 it was a little bit expensive, but it is on par with the area ( i just think desserts are generally over priced!!) The restaurant wasn't busy but all the food that i saw coming out looked excellent. They do a range of tapas which we will be trying on our next visit.
The service was excellent and the views across the bay are stunning!! We will be back, both for drinks and to eat here again in the near future

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first ever trip to the IOW.
I decided to divided the isle in half, The Bayhouse was chosen due to its location, being right next to the Shankin Chine. And my military history obsession with Normandy. Literally across the road is the PLUTO (Pipeline under the ocean) Which feed fuel to the Allies during Operation Overlord. A big fat tick in the box for that !
The hotel is basic, clean and with all i would expect. On sweat, TV, Tea coffee etc. I arrived very early but was made to feel welcome and my equipment was looked after until my room was ready.
The car park is small and uneven, and also deep shingle, which even though I had a large all terrain bike, I was sure id got stuck. But when I arrived the car park was empty and i carefully chose and uphill hard spot.
All the staff were great. and the bar is popular, with a happy hour. All the popular beverages are on sale.
Wi-fi is available in the bar area but not in the rooms.
Breakfast was splendid. A proper full English. There was also cereal and fruit juices.
I highly recommend this hotel. Great location and beautiful views too. I will be returning later in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcott, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights before Easter and booked for 'room only'. We chose a twin room, which appeared to have been recently updated. It was clean & bright with a nice seaside theme to the decor. The hotel itself was really quiet, with it seemed, few other guests around. The staff were helpful & friendly.

The beds were rather uncomfortable & the pillows somewhat flattened & hard (perhaps some may prefer this?). The hotel walls seemed quite thin & we could clearly hear the TV in neighbouring rooms, which was rather annoying when we were trying to sleep.

The bathroom was quite dated & although it was small it was not a problem for us. There were however, a few areas in the bathroom where lack of cleaning was an issue (I'm happy to provide details if required!) but we chose not to be 'picky' about it.

Tea & coffee making facilities are in the room, which was welcome. However, there was no milk on arrival & the next day we again had to ask for more supplies. It was also a shame that the mugs were left unwashed after the room had been cleaned.

That having been said, our stay was great value & this hotel is in a great location too - being close to town & the beaches.

Would we stay again? The answer is perhaps ... the jury is out ... in my humble opinion, there is some work for the hotel to do here to improve & retain custom.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

New bistro in the Bay House hotel. Only been open 5 weeks. Beautiful views over Shanklin bay, cliff top. Well decorated restaurant, plenty of space, we chose chicken Breast sauté potatoes and salad. Also Hake with chips in a wire basket. Well presented lovely food. Went early before theatre only one other table in use. Very enjoyable reasonable priced meal

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayhouse

Address: Keats Green | 8 chine ave, Shanklin PO37 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful views from our decking and dinning area. On site restaurant serving bistro/ bar food. All rooms are ensuite. Close to shanklin beach, one minute walk. Close to shanklin old village. Free on site parking for guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bayhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Shanklin
The Bayhouse Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.