We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Clifftop Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Clifftop Hotel
Save
You added Sherwood Clifftop Hotel to your Saves list
Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
portsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fawlty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

We live in the Portsmouth area and tend to go to the Isle of Wight for weekend break's quite often, this time we booked the Sherwood Clifftop Hotel in Shanklin, on arrival we were asked to settle the room on arrival!! as were shown to our room there was an awlful smell through the hotel, but will say the room was reasonably clean and tidy, the bed had seen better day's. the dining room was mostly staffed by untrained waitresses and little understanding of english.
The hotel bar also had this awlful smell and another guest likened it to the smell of drains. This is most probably the worst hotel we have stayed, it's a shame because the view from the room was great and the hotel location was great too

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — The smell through the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

Shanklin I O W Sherwood Clifftop
Date July 2007
Reviewer Trip advisor member Kent


please beware when booking this hotel it does not match the standards advertised.Having booked this and received confirmation we discovered on arrival they had no record of our booking.There was no computorised system and the only paper work apparent was on odd sheets of paper.Having shown them my printout we were directed to a room on the top floor right at the back. whilst the room was clean it was very dated the kettle and TV had labels on stating do not use after Dec 2006.The bar was not opened as advertised and there was no provision for evening meal we were informed by one of the Polish waiters that this facility had ceased 3 weeks before.At breakfast it was apparent that all staff were new and untrained which was not their fault they were very helpful and tried hard to please.Thankfully we only had a 2 night stay and this is an experience not to be repeated

  • Liked — The room bedding although dated was clean
  • Disliked — lack of service and care
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Booked this hotel for my husband;s birthday as it had a good sea view. Upon arrival we were told they had overbooked and we had been moved to their other hotel a few metres up the road. The other hotel was awful (Sherwood Court). Room was rank and the sea view we had was the kitchen roof !! Very little hotel parking unless you wanted to walk 100m down the road to the Clifftop Hotel. Bar was dirty and unmanned at any time and the hotel basically had seen better days. We spoke to a 92 year old lady who had booked the Clifftop and ended up at the Court and had to walk 100m down the road to the Clifftop every night for her evening meal - outrageous. No apologies from the Sherwood Clifftop just like or lump it!! Upon investigation, the Sherwood Court was full of people that had been overbooked for the Clifftop - surprise surprise!! We believe a little scam is going on to fill the other hotel as it definitely could not attract customers on its own merit - book the Sherwood Clifftop at your own risk!! Anyone who can treat a 92 year old lady in this manner could do anything!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

For fans of Seventies sitcom 'Some mothers do 'ave 'em' this hotel is a must, others must heed caveat emptor. Our impression, on a busy bank holiday weekend, is that this hotel derives most of its trade from coach parties. It was certainly the case that on our arrival in the early afternoon we had to battle past a coachload of Japanese tourists all furiously changing their room arrangements. Despite the website confirmation booking form saying that we were free to book-in from 8:30 am onwards our room was not ready. We stowed our luggage behind reception and disappeared for a while. In a way this sums up the hotel: the staff were always helpful and polite yet you felt that they were perpetually battling aginst the odds.
The room itself was clean, spacious and comfortable with an oblique viewing angle towards the sea. The facilities were bare, however, unacceptable so. We paid £80 per night for our room and for that price would expect i) a remote control ii) a toilet roll holder iii) toothmugs/cups iv) toiletries v) our possessions not to be strewn across the room and hidden by the cleaners vi) non-leaking windows. The last was a particular problem.
England, having decided that being a Bank Holiday a month's worth of rain was in order, deposited a fair amount of the wet stuff on our bit of the IoW. I cannot imagine that this is so unusual an occurance that everybody prior to us omitted to mention that the horizonally opening windows were not watertight! This put one bed out of order and required our using most of our towels to mop up. We didn't ask to be relocated as we didn't want to either lose the view or lose what little comfort we had. Breakfast the next morning was also a little frustrating as we were heartily ignored for some time then double served (staff shortages apparently). The food was acceptable (cereal, juice and fry-up) but if fresh fruit or grapefruit had been available we would have gratefully welcomed it.
My impression is of a manager desperately coping but not truly on top of things. A hotel in desperate need of capital investment and reliant on a great deal of smiling, helpful migrant workers to keep things going. We had, I suppose anticipated this type of service in England in 2007 but really this experience should have been confined to the 1970s where it belongs.

  • Liked — Seaview
  • Disliked — Leaking windows, facilities
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Clifftop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Clifftop Hotel

Address: Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Number of rooms: 133
Also Known As:
Sherwood Clifftop Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Clifftop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.