We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little bit of TLC will make it perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shanklin Hotel to your Saves list
Shanklin Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Lancing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just a little bit of TLC will make it perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hotel is in excellent position, only a short walk from the cliff elevator and the town centre in an area dominated by hotels of every variety. On arrival the reception staff were smiling and welcoming. I was in a coachload of pensioners on a 4-day 'Tinsel & Turkey' trip and the solitary two-persons-and-baggage lift was under strain. However, there are only two upper floors and plenty of porterage available. Finding one's room was the first entertainment of the trip as there is one long zig-zagging and labyrinth-like passage the considerable length of the building. A bit of TLC on the carpet might not be amiss here.
Our room was absolutely adequate, light, airy and warm with a partial sea view and the bathroom pristine with a superb shower, the only problem with which was it was awkward to get into for some of the more physically challenged of the party as it was in the bath, which had a rather high side. We found the rooms could do with an improvement to sound-proofing, or perhaps we just had a herd of elephants above us.
Meals were quite superb with a huge choice of breakfast ingredients including a formidable 'Full English'. Dinner afforded a wide choice, well varied from day to day and the quality was faultless. The service was provided by a bevy of smiling and willing young people. The two bars stocked a good variety of drinks, although there was, sadly, no 'real ale' available.
Entertainment was provided each evening and was of very high quality.
The hotel boasts a very nice heated swimming pool, and an excellent jacuzzi and sauna, of which my companion and I made full use.
There is a three-day jazz festival coming up in the hotel in October and we will almost certainly be attending.

Room Tip: Rooms with south-facing sea views are available at a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Many thanks for your very thorough review of your stay at the Shanklin Hotel. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    94
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
29
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Shanklin Hotel. My husband and I were celebrating our birthdays with 4 friends and we cannot fault the hotel. The staff go out of thier way to be helpful and polite at all times, nothing is too much trouble.
The food is excellent, so much to choose from with variety for all, served quickly too.The rooms were comfortable, some areas of the hotel could do with some TLC but nothing to affect your stay.
The 3 nights entertainment was excellent especially Dougie Stephens last night. Good old 60's night just suited us all!
All in all terrific value for money and they ordered sunshine for us the whole weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for the room to be sited away from the pool, we had a room directly above and had a 3 morning wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review of your stay at Shanklin - so glad you enjoyed the hotel and the weather we arranged for you! Happy birthday to you both as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to this hotel on a tinsel and turkey short break with our line dancing group and never expected the excellent standard of food And service we received. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was delicious - plentiful, hot and well presented. We also had great entertainment each evening. Our room was large and comfortable and the hotel is in a good location close to the cliff top path. Shanklin town is not great but the island is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your groups stay with us. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the dancing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Title says it all!! Stayed at the hotel in April, August and September. Love it there!! Food, staff, rooms, atmosphere all superb! Won't stay anywhere else.
Thank you The Shanklin Hotel for continuous Fabulousness !! :-D
Hope to see you Easter time .......... again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Its so nice to have regular guests who love coming to stay with us! We are looking forward to your next visit and hope the weather cheers up a bit for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Firstly, I would stay here again and I would recommend the hotel to others. However, although the staff were fantastic, the quality of the evening meals was superb and the room itself was clean and well decorated, there were just one or two niggles that let it down. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - sometimes one rasher of bacon, sometimes two, sometimes a full grilled mushroom, sometimes half of one. The eggs were tasteless and the sausages were those nasty cheap full of rusk ones. Weird when evening meals were faultless and of great quality. The room itself was modern and clean, but the bathroom lacked towel rails and needed a good scrub around the edges. The pool was a tad on the cold side but the jacuzzi was great. Nothing too drastic, as I said, just niggles! Oh, and we could hear the live evening music from the bar *really clearly* despite being two floors up!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review of your stay at the Hotel and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the feedback on the 'niggles' you experienced and we hope we can resolve some of these for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great room with a seaview. Very clean, comfy bed and surprisingly spacious room. Staff very attentive and worked incredibly hard especially at the wedding. Good access for a walk along the coast, enjoyed the pool and the sauna as well. Would love to be there now!

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I'm so pleased the wedding went well and it was a pleasure to have you all at the hotel. Congratulations to the happy couple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our third visit to The Shanklin Hotel , the last trip was five years ago .As soon as we gave our address the receptionist came back with our names,asked if we were Ok and would we like the room we stayed in the last two visits.To me it's little things like this that help to make a holiday.
The room (standard type) was clean and well appointed with double bed, large wardrobe , desk space, and wall mounted TV. The on suite was of good size with a shower over the bath.
At meal times you have a good selection of courses with table service and you keep the same table for your time at the hotel.You can stay at your table to watch the nightly cabaret
Every member of staff that we came in contact with were polite,pleasant, and nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: book direct with the hotel as you can get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme P, Manager at Shanklin Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review - I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and that you found the staff to be polite, helpful and pleasant! So lovely to hear that you are a regular with us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Hotel

Address: Clarendon Road, Shanklin PO37 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shanklin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanklin Hotel - Isle of Wight. One of the best known hotels on the island, the Shanklin is situated in Shanklin town with superb views from its magnificent Starlite Restaurant and many bedrooms. Shanklin Old Village is a few minutes' walk away and the beach is accessible via the nearby cliff lift. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Hotel Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanklin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.