We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant spot to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Harrow Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Palmerston Road & Eastcliff Promenade, Shanklin PO37 6BD , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Christchurch, Dorset
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Brilliant spot to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I spent 3 nights here for a short break and wish it had been a long break instead! A really great place with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very comfortable and clean; the breakfast was hot, fresh and filling; the evening specials menu, whilst not extensive, was very tasty, home cooked fare. The lasagne is to be recommended! The hotel is in a great place with terrific views over Shanklin beach and a short walk away from the Old Village and the town. Lovely walks are all on the doorstep in all directions and a short walk away is the train to Ryde - an experience as it is a former London underground train! Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, East Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want an excellent place to stay for your Isle of Wight holiday then I strongly recommend the Harrow Lodge Hotel in Shanklin. My mate and I were made very welcome from the minute we got out of our taxi. Nothing was too much trouble for Alan, his wife, his family and his staff. Our rooms were excellent in every way and the food was FIRST CLASS. Shanklin Old Village, the Bus Station and Railway Station are all within walking distance from the Hotel. Its location is overlooking the seafront and beach and on a clear day the views are stupendous. The bar even has Real Ale..
We will DEFINITELY return there next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeple Morden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great surprise and ideal location away from the hustle and bustle. With great views looking out to sea and the beach a stones throw away, literally! The Hotel was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The owners and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Within 5 minutes walk to Old Shanklin Village which is very picturesque, with tourist shops and the Village Inn is well worth a visit too.

Overall the Harrow Lodge Hotel is an ideal place to stay with convenient access to both north and south of the island, with parking too!

Room Tip: Room's are spacious with en-suite bathroom (Shower in our case). Cleaned and made everyday. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very clean Hotel, Friendly staff, Excellent breakfasts. Close to the beach to. Will definitely stay there again. The cleaning staff were great, and each evening after a day out, we would be welcomed back to the room with a animal of some description made out of towel, brilliant stuff. At breakfast, the staff made every effort to accommodate our dietary needs.

Room Tip: i guess rooms on the west side are quieter? Our room was next to road, so had traffic noise, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just returned from our four night break from the Harrow Lodge Hotel and I cannot rate how highly we thought of the whole holiday experience. The hotel was in a perfect location overlooking the beach, the staff were friendly, helpful & tentative, the family room was large, clean & quiet, the food was plentiful and good value for money. Its in a perfect place to explore the whole island. We will definitely be returning, thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in a family room, whilst my husbands parents had a double room. Great location , the inlaws couldn't walk very far and we were next to cliff lift which whisked them down to the seafront where all the restaurants were . The cooked breakfast were great and the staff were lovely if a little inefficient but it was very busy so you can forgive them for that. Rooms exceptionally clean. Only downfall was trying to get the shower temperature to a good heat, it was either freezing or boiling!. As it was a very hot weekend I chose freezing.

Room Tip: Room 21 is downstairs with a walk in shower, good for our elderly parents. Next door 22 is a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had to 'downgrade' to this 2* from the 4* we had planned, because circumstances changed and we had to bring our dog.

We arrived not expecting too much, and pleasantly surprised by our good sized room (No. 1). Lovely carpet, pine furniture, small but immaculate bathroom with shower, and patio doors on to a balcony with artificial grass and a table/chairs. And nothing in front of us but the sea. It's not on the front, but is high on a hill. We can still see the sea when lying in bed.

Cream teas - two scones with cream & jam/pot of tea - are £3. Superb value. OH's lager shandy, £2.80. This is definitely not a hotel out to make money by extortion!

Staff very friendly, and food good.

Lady who cleaned the room today so helpful - went and got us an umbrella for the patio table, and also - unasked - said she'd get us a fan too.

Cue terrible pun...this hotel now has two more fans. Deserves an extra star.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harrow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Lodge Hotel

Address: 31 Palmerston Road & Eastcliff Promenade, Shanklin PO37 6BD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harrow Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Harrow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Shanklin
The Harrow Lodge Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harrow Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.