We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous supper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fine Nammet

Fine Nammet
33 to 35 High Street, Shanklin PO37 6JJ, England
+44 1983 300335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Shanklin
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: English, Seafood, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Contemporary British fine dinning restaurant serving local fresh produce.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sumptuous supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were here before a few months ago and loved it. This time it was just after reopening from winter break, so wondered whether they would be in full swing. No problem, superb food as before.
The service is friendly and perfect.
The chef is a star, putting little slight touches into every course that you may not at first realise.
Decided this will be the restaurant that we eat at once in the week every time we visit.
And finally...the fire is mesmerising.
Go nammet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna J, Owner at Fine Nammet, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review we are really pleased you enjoyed you meal with us. We hope to see you again soon

Jenna and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    40
    8
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best of Shanklin's many good restuarants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

What can I say. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. The food superb and beautifully presented. Between us we tried the Crab cakes, wild Mushrooms, Lamb, Bass, Chicken and the Vegetarian option. All dishes stunning. Wow, we will return. You will enjoy this experience. The emphasis is on local food and the quality shows through.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna J, Owner at Fine Nammet, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review we are really pleased you enjoyed your evening with us.

We hope to see you again soon

Jenna and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best in Town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Fine Nammet have started the New Year where they left off in 2013, at the top of their game. I treated my self to the fillet , my wife chose the lamb. Both meals were delicious, the beef especially so. Thoroughly reccommended .

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna J, Owner at Fine Nammet, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for you review, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal, especially the steak we defiantly feel using local produce makes the difference.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Jenna and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My fiance and I visited last night and as an ex-chef I am very fussy with food, but can not recommend this restaurant enough. It has a beautiful layout, excellent staff, the food was amazing and 3 course set menu is very good value.We will definatly be back very soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna J, Owner at Fine Nammet, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, were so pleased to hear you enjoyed you evening with us, it's always great when a chef loves the food.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Jenna and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Where to have birthday supper on a stormy February night, that was the question. I looked at Tripadvisor and found this little gem,a warm welcome greeted us. An excellent menu with local produce. Presented as well as any restaurant I have been to in London.
They deserve to be successful. The Isle of Wight needs many more of these inspiring businesses. It a great place but tired and in the dark ages. I wish this young couple all the luck in the world and I will be back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna J, Owner at Fine Nammet, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review were so pleased to see you enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to seeing you when you visit the island again.

Kind regards

Jenna and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Nammet also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Fine Nammet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fine Nammet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.