We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rylstone Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rylstone Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Rylstone Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rylstone Gardens, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The is an excellent hotel with a great breakfast. We stayed 5 nights . We had Yew room which was beautifully decorated in blue and cream. The towels were changed everyday. Good quality shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom. Breakfast was partly buffet and the cooked breakfast was done to order. There was a good selection of items for breakfast. The waitress was particularly helpful at breakfast time with suggestions of things to do on the island. The standard was of a 5* hotel and the only reason they have three stars is because there is no spa or swimming pool. It is set in Rylstone gardens but this was not a problem. There is a bandstand in the garden so we were treated to concerts each night of our stay. The sea is down the steps from the gardens. I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is very different and we were pleased to be on the east side overlooking the gardens beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
89
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A wonderful 3 night stay at the Rylstone Manor. We were greeted by the friendly owner who showed us to the room and gave us some history of the hotel. It is situated in Rylstone Gardens, just a couple of minutes walk to the old village or 5 minutes to the beach (via the steps) so the position is perfect. The gardens were in full bloom and were in full view from the bedroom window.

The room was modern, clean and had everything needed. The hotel was quiet at night and we got a good sleep.

The owners were always on site to have a chat, give advice and help out. The quality of the breakfast was outstanding - the full English plus cereals, toast etc etc. I think it is probably the most efficiently run breakfast I have experienced, the waitress was friendly, chatty and did her job fantastically.

We visited over the Wimbledon finals weekend and had to check out on Sunday morning and asked if we could perhaps hang around to watch the final there before our late ferry home. It was no problem at all. Other guests were due into our vacated room so the owner cheerfully set up his TV in the drawing room for us and other guests to watch and this was much appreciated.

So if you want a pretty, friendly, quiet, well located break in Shanklin with good service and a good sleep then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Rylstone Manor for three nights to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. We were delighted with our choice. The hotel was amazing, in a lovely, quiet location. The staff were friendly, happy and went out of their way to offer service above and beyone what we have experienced previously in other hotels. We dined in the hotel for our actual Anniversary meal and the food, service, atomosphere could not have been better. The breakfasts were perfection and served by Angie, who was absolutely delightful, offering suggestions and generally being cheerful and chatty. We will recommend family and friends and return ourselves soon!

Room Tip: I think any room would be delightful! We had the Firs Room, which faces the garden and is totally p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As we (me and hubby) had an anniversary to celebrate, and as we love peace and quiet, the hotel looked perfect for us - open out of season, good price, close to pubs and coffees, yet not on a main street. We were not disappointed! Staid there for a long weekend, and we were the only guests of the hotel, which was perfect. The room was cozy and clean, and the food was good. The woman that served the breakfast was really friendly, and quite helpful regarding what to visit on the island. For dinner we went to "The Village Inn" - great place! The food was delicious, and liked the personnel.
Don't know how it is in season, but have to say, the place is not for kids. Nor even people our age, more like for elderly, but as we booked for out of season it didn't mattered. The hotel itself is a bit "heavy" on the decor, and not for everyone's taste. Also, you might find it a bit hard to get to the hotel - we got lost.
All in all, loved the stay, and if we go back, it won't be in season.

Room Tip: Every room is different, so check their site, or even give them a call before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Whilst not staying here as hotel guest some friends and I were lucky enough to be accommodated by Mike and Carole to the pleasure of dining. The food was of a very good standard, more than meeting the standards of lots of restaurants and surpassing many hotels we have stayed in in the past. I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends when visiting us ( we live on the Island ) and hope that it won't be too long until we dine here again. The overall appearance of the hotel is very attractive while also retaining the feel of a gentlemans residence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Mike and Carole are just wonderful hosts - Mike a wonderful Chef: We had a beautiful room and a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a wonderful position on the Shanklin Chine and Shanklin was great to explore as was the rest of the Island. I would advise anyone going to the Isle of Wight to stay here. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in Maple - lovely and peaceful with a wonderful view of the red squirrels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent a most enjoyable five nights with Carole and Mike earlier this month. The hotel is beautiful with a very warm and welcoming atmosphere and in a perfect location. Mike is an outstanding chef, making breakfasts and suppers a real treat. We took all of our morning and evening meals in their dining room as we were intrigued by the menu which was different each day. In our extensive travels we have found few restaurants that can match his offerings.

Carole is a wonderful hostess and ensures all of the behind the scenes action runs smoothly. Her warm welcome at the reception desk made us feel right at home as soon as we got there. She, Mike and Angie, who serves up breakfast and bountiful knowledge of what is happening on the island, went out of their way to help us enjoy the many activities the island had to offer each day of our stay.

We did not have a car, and found rail and ferry a convenient way to get to Shanklin. The Manor is a short cab ride from the rail station. It is also located on the edge of the old town, and convenient to several bus stops that serve virtually the whole island. All of the attractions of Shanklin are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The Yew room, in which we stayed, was very comfortable with a window that opened onto the garden. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Address: Rylstone Gardens, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rylstone Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.