We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreside Inn

Save Saved
You added Shoreside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shoreside Inn
39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3rd Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just come back from another wonderful stay at the Shoreside Inn in Shanklin. It is our third stay and each time is as good as the one before. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the sea which we found very relaxing and good for people watching! Once again Jos good cooking was faultless and along with Andys banter made the perfect combination. We have booked again for a 4th visit in 2013 but I am sure we will be back before.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous but balcony rooms have the edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
86
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Shoreside inn for the second time and it was like going home Jo & Andy made us feel so welcome as always fantastic sea view room ,Jo cooked a brilliant breakfast and evening meal and really looked after us we did not want to come home.Loved our quiz mornings with Andy will be back again next year JO & ANDY are Fantastic Hosts and would not stay anywhere else but Shoreside Inn .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our 7 night stay, excellent welcoming hosts who always made time for us, great accomodation and food. Really enjoyed looking over the sea having our excellent breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and their knowledge of the area was very useful.
We will be back again in the future to take advantage of the excellent marked walking routes on the Island.
The overall impression was of a relaxing place to take a holiday with friendly people at every turn.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with the balconys at the front if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Before I start I should say this review box is not big enough for all niceties that have to be said.
What can I say about Perfection? I'd like to start by saying it was "Home From Home" but unfortunately YOURS is better than MINE! Fantastic, Lovely, Friendly Hosts. Nothing is too much for Jo and Andy. Always smiling and jolly and up for a chat and a giggle. Hotel is excellent, no other way to describe it. Fantastic rooms. Top quality throughout. Clean, in fact Very Clean. Comfortable beds, first good sleep for years with the sound of the waves lapping the beech 10 yards away across the road.We had the room with the bath and what a bath and what a view from it out to sea. Go on spoil yourselves, you know you should! Jo does all the cooking all day and every breakfast and evening meal was perfect. Lovely, hot, LARGE portions. 8 of us stayed, all meals came out together, no complaints and clean plates, says it all. Excellent coffee, take it from a fussy bean man it is good, excellent choice of beer and a HAPPY Barsteward (sorry Andy couldn't resist). YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE AT LEAST ONCE.
Will definitely be back if they let us in!! One very small criticism Andy, sorry, WHERE'S OUR WEDDING INVITATION? You said it would be waiting for us when we got home! Do it before somebody else does, You Know It Makes Sense? Again thanks and love to you both. The Trotters from Buckinghamshire.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but definitely book the one with the BATH!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I and six of our friends stayed at the Shoreside Inn for a long weekend.
We arrived earlier than the normal booking in time but were greeted by Andy in their private car park who straight away made us feel very welcome. Once inside we met Jo who also made us feel really welcome.
Once inside we were shown to our rooms, these were all top class, immaculate and fitted out very well with everything to hand.
Breakfast & evening meals were first class, lovely food and really well presented, great value, nothing was ever too much trouble for Andy and Jo.
We went there looking to have a great time, which we did but we also met two lovely people in Andy and Jo, they are now good friends! We will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great with something a little different in each but I was lucky to have a front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe Bucks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If your looking for somewhere to stay in the IOW I would highly recommend you stay at the shoreside Inn .
We stayed with 3 other couples for a long weekend july 2012 from the minute we arrived Andy and Jo were very friendly,and helpful . They gave us tips were to visit and filled us in on some history about the place.
The rooms were great clean, stunning, modern, shower was brill didnt want to get out !. Bed was sooooo comfortable.
Breakfast was great and we also eat there the last evening of our stay.
Jo does a fantastic job in the kitchen (every thing came out together for our large group) well presented and delicious nothing was to much trouble.
We will definatley revisit .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Only went here for a full English breakfast and it was great. We sat outside on the decking with the view over the sea and had a yummy, great value full English and service with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoreside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreside Inn

Address: 39 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new adult only boutique hotel is situated on one of the islands most beautiful beaches. After major refurbishment the hotel now offers six large spacious rooms all with seating area, king size beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with heated towel rails. All rooms have 32" coloured flat screen TVs with freesat, tea/coffee facilities and stunning views of the English Channel. Two of our rooms have their very own private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Shoreside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreside Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.