We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectaions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luccombe Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luccombe Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Luccombe Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luccombe Rd, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectaions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here back in june of 2013 it was via a travel zoo deal including return ferry travel the hotel is small the gardens very big it neighbours another hotel the rooms are addequite as we only stayed 2 nights again with travel zoo the deals you get what you pay for . Included was eveing meal both nights and breakfast i must say the food was very impresive both nights and the breakfasts ive have eaten far worse in 5 star establishments the service in the restaurant are were swift and they try very hard to please my only gripe was the bar service was slow in the day time but in the eve this changed a very experinced bar man on hand also good with the customers .Would defaintly stay again on the IOW as thers loads to do .and more than likley this hotel .Hta of to the chef and the staff a happy customer ....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for our feedback following your visit in July to Luccombe Hall. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the food impressive. We very much hope that you choose to stay with us again and will look forward to seeing you again then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    169
    68
    37
    28
See reviews for
97
280
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just got back from a really enjoyable three night stay at Luccombe Hall hotel, this is a lovely hotel in a fantastic position, we had a big beautiful room with an amazing sea view. We had an evening meal on our first night and the food and service were excellent. Breakfast was fantastic and it was so nice to be served food cooked to order rather than something that has been sitting on a buffet! All staff were very friendly & helpful. We would most definitely stay here again and I have already recommended to anyone that will listen.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25 large room with wonderful garden & sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a glowing review. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that you have widely recommended Luccombe Hall as a place to stay on the Isle of Wight. We are delighted to hear that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Luccombe Hall Hotel was great in every respect and we could not fault it in any way.Beautiful room with sea view and balcony just as we had requested.Coffee and tea facilities in the room were convenient and the fruit basket was a nice touch.Room and bathroom very comfortable and clean making our 3 night stay enjoyable.
Breakfast and dinner meals were extensive,well prepared and presented.The staff were helpful and attentive-particularly Jackie on reception who changed our ferry booking with one quick phone call.In this respect,we found the Wightlink service from Portsmouth to Fishbourne to be fast,convenient and comfortable-the way to go to the IOW.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall and for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and really enjoyed the very popular Executive Room with large balcony and stunning sea views. We are glad you found the meals extensive and well prepared and the staff helpful. We very much hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good first impressions. We stayed in room 30 which had a lovely sea view, but was not maintained very well. Seemed to be quite dusty, and bathroom was not as clean as we might have expected, with hair and dust. Staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very confusing. No guidance from staff as to where to sit, and no system in place for staff to know who had been served and who was still waiting. Having said this when breakfast did arrive, it was good and hot, Good selection too. Facilities at hotel seem good. The gardens were very well maintained and looked great. Bar prices were a bit extreme. This reflected in the fact the bar was empty. Did not eat here for evening meal so cannot comment. We ate at the local pub, village inn, which was excellent and only a five minute walk from hotel. On leaving the hotel did not seem to get any interaction from the receptionist as to how our stay was . An envelope was left on the desk , not handed to us, which was our invoice. This was a very good hotel with lots of things going for it, but feel it needs the staff to guide guests as to what they are offering.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 30. Had a good view, but was not as clean as expected, quite dusty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare F, Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you were warmly welcomed by our reception staff. I am sorry that you felt that your departure was not handled in the same friendly manner. We do present our invoices in envelopes but these should usually be handed to the guest and then gone through with them rather than left for them on the desk. The view from the room 30 is lovely, looking across the gardens with a glimpse of the sea. I am sorry that the housekeeping standards seem to have slipped during your stay. I will bring this to the attention of our Head Housekeeper. We operate an allocated table basis in the restaurant and a plaque with your room number is displayed alongside the table number on each table. I am sorry that the staff did not draw your attention to this or show you to your table when you arrived in the restaurant. We try to keep our bar prices in line with other hotels and pubs in the local area. I hope you will return to Luccombe Hall Hotel again in the future. Thankyou again for your helpful feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently returned from another stay, this time for 6 nights. The Hotel is fantastic in every respect. Our sea view room / balcony was amazing and very clean. The food quality and choice was exceptional not to mention the delightful sea and garden views from the conservatory restaurant. All staff from arrival to departure were extremely helpful, polite and caring. We will definitely return for another perfect holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall again and for your excellent feedback. We are glad you found the views and Executive Room to be amazing, the food exceptional and the staff polite and caring. We very much look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I had one of the most wonderful times ever in this hotel. I got the best room of the hotel and it really was the best room one could ever imagine. We loved our stay at this hotel and it was an excellent trip too. Everything about this hotel was superb i.e. lovely views from the balcony, lovely staff, peaceful environment and comfortable stay. I would highly recommend this hotel especially the room to anyone who wants to have a great time at the hotel with their loved ones.

Room Tip: No view from the other hotels within the same vicinity were as good as the sea facing executive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you so much for choosing Luccombe Hall for your honeymoon. We are so pleased you and your wife had such a great stay in the best room in the hotel and had a superb time. We do hope you have some great memories and that we will see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancee stayed in the executive room couldnt be any nicer, the staff are all very friendly and helpful especially in the tea gardens joshua was extremely helpful and very down to earth, beautiful hotel, lovely food all in all was a perfect stay would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol_Starkey, Public Relations Manager at Luccombe Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Luccombe Hall. So glad you and your fiancee enjoyed the executive room, the food, staff and location and generally had a perfect stay. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you when you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luccombe Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Hall Hotel

Address: Luccombe Rd, Shanklin PO37 6RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the quaint Shanklin Old Village and within 4 acres of stunning landscaped cliff-top gardens, Luccombe Hall Country House Hotel offers the best position, best views and best range of facilities of any hotel on the Isle of Wight. With direct access to the sandy beach below, its great for a summer escape, or snuggle up in winter in the Bishops Snug with its roaring log fire.With a great range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities you can be as active or relaxed as you please. Facilities include indoor and hot tub, sauna, outdoor pool, games room with table tennis, pool tables, squash court, childrens play area, family board games, outdoor play area with trampoline, slides, swings, mini putting and giant chess and draughts.Bedrooms options include Standard Rooms, Sea-Facing Rooms, Superior Sea-Facing Rooms and Executive Rooms with Private Balcony.Delicious meals are served in the Grand View Restaurant including a mouthwatering 3 course dinner and freshly prepared full english breakfast. Snacks are available from the Grand View Tea Garden overlooking the sea (during winter snacks available from the hotel bar and lounges) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luccombe Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Hall Shanklin
Hotel Luccombe Hall
Hall Hotel Luccombe
Luccombe Hall Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luccombe Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.