We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unusual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Cat Restaurant

Black Cat Restaurant
83 High Street, Shanklin, Isle of Wight, | PO37 6NR, England, Shanklin, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Shanklin
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

thought we had entered an old english tearoom with fiftys decor not a thai restaurant . waiter very helpful in helping us in our choice of meal as only eaten thai a few times . meal very tasty and good portion size for a reasonable cost we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    49
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we found this restuarant by accident and it was amazing. The service was excellent and very informative for my wife who hadn't eaten thai before.
the food was beautiful, we were away for 7 days on our honeymoon and it was the best meal we ate all week.
very reasonably priced for such good quality food

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stumbled across this Thai restaurant during a midweek stay in Shanklin early May 2013. Staff are welcoming, attentive and at times, very entertaining! Was a little dubious to start with as the decor and furnishings remind you of a quaint tearoom somewhere but it just adds to the eclectic style. The food is AMAZING, great choice, well prepared, fresh, presented beautifully and good portion sizes. Waiters will explain the menu to you and recommend dishes if you wish. I was delighted to find my favourite duck dish on the menu and was not disappointed. Would thoroughly recommend this restaurant but you may be wise to book at weekends. Will be back next year........

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

From entering this this thai resturant to leaving it ,, it was a perfect evening..
The waiter couldn't of helped us more , he explained everything to us as we've only eaten thai meals a couple of times, there was a party of about 10 which he explained our meals mite be about a 30 minute wait, that wasn't a problem we said.we ordered the wine which was beautiful
The waiter went through all the dishes and recommended 1 to me which had chicken ,potato and nuts in, something I wouldn't normally choose, I asked how hot could he make it as I like any curry hot , I was told as hot as I like it..well he said theres english hot and theres thai hot .I went for the thai hot .When the meals arrived WOW he wasnt kidding when I tasted it it was RED HOT and i mean red hot,yet I still could taste all the lovely flavours in it .It tasted beautiful with the spaghetti noodles.my partners said her meal was excellent.
Even the chef came out to us to see if we were enjoying our meals which was nice of her
All in all this has got to be one of the best places we've ever eaten in for service , food and quality
We would highly recommend this place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Saw the restaurant had quiet a good rating on Tripadviser so decided to give it a try. The food was lovely and the service good. The chief appeared whilst we were eating to check all the diners were happy with their food, which I thought was a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Restaurant also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Black Cat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Cat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.