We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Lounge

Spice Lounge
34 High Street, Shanklin PO37 6JY, England
01983 867083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 68 Restaurants in Shanklin
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Established in 1983, the epi-center of Shanklin's fine Indian dining. Daily promotions, take away and delivery service. Fresh Local produce and authentic Indian spices.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A small cramped restaurant. No waiter etiquette; aprons were not worn, they put their fingers in the glasses as they carried drinks. My Coke was actually flat! Their hands were all over the plates as they were handed to you (ours were even taken off us and given to another customer!) The main course was only luke warm, the chips were covered in black bits from dirty cooking oil. Overall would not recommend unless standards improved dramatically

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    9
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

As the title suggests, it was OK - couldn't fault the service, the waitress was efficient & courteous - the food wasn't the best I'm afraid - with the curries having an almost 'ready meal' way about them... On a plus point, a bottle of house white was very reasonable & drinkable!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty, homecooked and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yum! We weren't expecting anything beyond the ordinary 'high street Indian' so had a fabulous surprise. Service was well-meaning if a bit pressed (hope this gets sorted out soon!), but the food was great: cooked from scratch with really fresh veg, gorgeous paneer, thoughtful flavouring and clear care for each dish. Freshly baked nan was a particular treat. We weren't drinking (had already been to the pub) so didn't really look at the drinks menu. Spice Lounge may surprise diners looking for chicken tikka masala and chips, but for us, the authentic food was a welcome find at the end of a long day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worst ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a long day out we was looking forward to this take away . What a major disapointment . The curry was like tasteless dish water containing a tiny amount of chicken has for the chips you get more fries in a childs meal at mc ds if we wasnt so far away i would definately have returned and demanded a refund stay well clear of this joke of resturant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a disapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The menu looked wonderful although the place looked dingy. We we're greeted with a cheerful but un experienced waiter, who's wife(?!) was having a personal phone call in the seating area and discussing this with the owner (?!) whilst we we're trying to eat. The food promised to be delicious but was at a disappointingly poor standard. The nann bread was shop bought, and i imagine some of the other 'authentic' ingredients were too. We did not enjoy this meal at all, and were pleased to leave. We would not recommend this restaurant at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Lounge also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Isle of Wight, England
 

Been to Spice Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.