We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful overpriced food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Steamer Inn

Steamer Inn
18 Esplanade | PO37 6BS, Shanklin, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 68 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful overpriced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was awful, overpriced, and a long wait, and the whole place was dusty and filthy,i will not be visiting here again with my family

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    152
    52
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent quality food, good choice menu, good portions and a very useful 'light bite' section for those with smaller appetites. Good value for money and when you add in the Esplanade location right on the seafront it is an ideal place for enjoying the sea views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen J, Manager at Steamer Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“rip to Shanklin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What we liked about the Steamer inn was the quality of the meal we had, and how nice and helpful the staff were, nothing was too much trouble, Also where it was situated.
we ended most of our evenings there. if not for a meal we has a few drinks after a long day of sightseeing it was a lovely way to relax

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen J, Manager at Steamer Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you, we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Seating can be cramped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Overall a very good meal, can be pricey for a family but they are quite happy to give you an extra plate and with the amount they give you you can make a meal up for a small eater. The only reason i didn't put excellent is that it is a bit prone to feel cramped with the large tables

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen J, Manager at Steamer Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are regular visitors to The Steamer. Delicious food and wonderful views out to sea. We visit the island a couple of times a year and always make a point of eating here. We are never disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen J, Manager at Steamer Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamer Inn also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.