We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip to I of W.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fawley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fawley to your Saves list
The Fawley
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Family trip to I of W.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was really above and beyond the call of duty - much more than Bed and Breakfast, it was such a pleasurable experience staying at The Fawley. All the comfort, attention to detail, choice of breakfast, decor, quality of fittings and the tasteful furnishings and accesories make you feel you are in a 5 star luxury hotel. Couple this with a charming, friendly and very helpful (even when you have to change ferry times 3 times due to delays, and then again on return!) down to earth host and hostess and you have the perfect place to stay... Magic. Hurry and book before someone else does... We definitely will, next time we visit family on the Island...

Room Tip: All the rooms are to a very high standard ( our family took 3 rooms ) but it's perhaps worth tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
159
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed one night and were very impressed by the welcoming attitude of the owners. The room had just been refurbished . The bathroom was also new. The temperatures had really dropped but the rooms were warm and cozy. It was only a five minute walk to the beach with a few restaurants nearby and a prize winning tea room a 5 minutes drive away!
Good bed and the morning started especially well with the excellent breakfast made of many locally homemade products. A safe bet for a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A really comfortable 4 star bed and breakfast, nice and quiet even though fully booked.
Lovely breakfast with large choice. Decor standard extremeley high and exceptionally
clean, We would strongly recommend this nice and friendly comfortable guest house to one and all. Jim and Di Kelly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Fawley for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The location is ideal, close to the beach and high street. The guest house is newly decorated, very stylish and clean. You can tell the owner put into quite a lot of thoughts and investment. The owner is welcome and very helpful. We had problem with wi-fi and shower on the first night, Gillian get it sorted straight away and offered a free room upgrade next morning so to get the shower repaired. The breakfast is also delicious, expecially the fruit salad, very refreshing. In general, a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Will recommend to friends and visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

excellent hotel, breakfast plentiful and well presented, thoroughly enjoyed break, good location for visiting places of interest,would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay in shanklin and would definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bootle, Merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was a 60th birthday present from my wife and also a nostalgia trip as it was over 40 years since I last had a holiday in the Isle of Wight. Knowing things would have changed in that time we studied all the reviews on the internet. All things pointed to The Fawley. We were not disappointed. Every aspect of The Fawley was excellent. Helpful, pleasant and obliging hosts, nice en-suite room with all the expected facilities, an incredible variety of breakfast options, easy access to the seafront, bus and train services, and the main shopping street and old village. The No vacancies sign was up all week! This says it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just stayed at The Fawley for 4 nights and liked everything about it. The hotel was spotlessly cean with great attention to detail - the comfort and quality of furnishings in our room(5) was way above our expectations.
The service was attentive wihout being intrusive from the warm welcome onwards. Information was readily available about places to visit etc.
Breakfast was fantastic - there was so much choice it was hard to make a decision! The fresh fruit was delicious and all the produce for the cooked breakfast locally sourced and very tasty.
The location of the hotel was very convenient for access to the coastal path and the beach. There was a wide choice of pubs and restaurants within walking distance.
We had a great short break here and I would strongly recommend The Fawley as a friendly and relaxing place to stay. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fawley

Address: 12 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fawley 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fawley is a 4 Star Gold Award winning Guest House and is ideally situated for the lovely beach in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight, We are only 10 minutes from the Town and the train station, All rooms are newly refurbished with en-suite facilities, flat screen TVs with freesat multichannels, beverage trays with a range of drinks, Ipod docking clock radios and a choice of standard or superior rooms. The Fawley also benefits from Free WIFI connection for our guests. Breakfast is included in the room price, we have recently gained a breakfast Award from both Visit England and the AA for choice, quality and service, you can help yourself to the buffet of fresh fruit, cereal and juices, followed by a selection of freshly cooked breakfast options including Traditional Full English breakfast, Home made American pancakes, Smoked Salmon and Scramble egg to name but a few and also plenty of tea, coffee and toast. Stay at The Fawley - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fawley Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fawley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.