We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Court Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atholl Court Guest House to your Saves list
Atholl Court Guest House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This guesthouse was a real surprise - far nicer than the photos! Beautiful bright room with spotless white linen, fluffy bathrobes, light and pretty dining room and lovely wooden furniture. Hosts Peter and Nikki were charming and helpful. This place is a real gem and a delight to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in this lovely refurbished and renovated guest house, and were made to feel welcomed by both Nikki & Peter – such a lovely couple who we warmed quickly to.

We have just returned home and are already missing Nikki & Peter's fantastic breakfasts, and evening meals were absolutely fantastic – we took up this option twice during our stay …cannot recommend enough the Pork chop in mushroom whisky cream sauce, the lasagne, and also the chicken kiev, all accompanied with fantastically fresh seasonal vegetables or salad – the portions are very generous also, and the meat and poultry have been very well sourced.

Atholl Court Guest House cannot be more conveniently situated for rail, bus and road links, and is a short stroll from Shanklin high street and also at the other end of the road is Shanklin's lovely beach and promenade.

We stayed in Room 3 which is located on the 1st floor at the rear of the property, and it is a very well finished and furnished, nice and cosy double room with a very nice en-suite, central heating was there if required, double glazed windows, no noise intrusion from other guests or the road located to the front of the building.

Couldn't think of anything else that Nikki & Peter could have put into the room …TV, hairdryer, iPod dock, full length mirror, tea & coffee facilities and welcoming pack with fresh milk whenever required, dressing gowns and slippers, towels, complementary toiletries – quality.

Personal attention and detail to service here is second to none, and was highly maintained even though they were full to capacity during the Jubilee celebration week.

We will definitely be booking here again for future visits to the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Room 3 - adequate double, light and airy, nice big windows and not overlooked by surrounding buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This guest househave been recently taken over & refurbished. the new owners Nikki & Peter have done a lovely job and having only just re-opened & having booked the day before we travelled we were among their first guests. Our room was decorated very tastefully & with modern facilities blending well with the age of the property. Lovely comfortable bed & good breakfast. close to railway station & all local shops & amenities. We were made very welcome and we wish Nikki & Peter every success in their new venture.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This guest house has been under New Management since February 2012. We have just returned from a wonderful few days there. The rooms are spotless with wonderful bed linen, comfortable beds and everything you could possibly want. The breakfasts are too die for. The new hosts Nikki and Peter made us very welcome even allowing us to book in hours early so we could enjoy the day. We will be booking to visit again in July and August and will be spending many holidays there in the future.

Room Tip: No fears of anything but a good room at this lovely guest house, hope word soon gets around just how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholl Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Court Guest House

Address: 1 Atherley Road, Shanklin PO37 7AT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atholl Court Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADULTS ONLY - refurbished 2012. Welcome to the Atholl Court Guest House in Shanklin, Isle of Wight - the closest accommodation to the Shanklin Train Station. Newly refurbished throughout and under new ownership you will find everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay with freshly cooked or continental breakfast. We are situated less than 100 yards from Shanklin Train Station, and with the Shanklin Road Train and Island Buses stopping outside, getting around the island is easy.For drivers, we have a small private car park.All rooms are en-suite, freshly decorated and are equipped with: Flatscreen TV with Freeview and DVD, iPod dock alarms clocks, hospitality tray with tea / coffee / water and fresh milk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Atholl Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Court Guest House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholl Court Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.