We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Steamer Inn
18 Esplanade, Shanklin P037 6BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 55 hotels in Shanklin
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stopped here because we loved the look of the pub and the views are great. The food wasn't overpriced so we decided to stay for lunch. Unfortunately the roast dinner was disappointing over cooked shriveled beef and the rest was at best average such a let down, stop for a drink admire the view just don't bother with the food and you will leave happy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    6
    10
    4
See reviews for
13
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

We didn't stay here we just ate. My partner had a prawn appetiser starter which was £6.35 the description and price made us think it was a fresh prawn salad, and we were wrong the prawns were from a tin and he said the seafood sauce didn't taste right, later that night he had a very upset stomach and almost didn't make it! For mains my partner had the rump & gammon steak duo £19.50 and I had the sirloin at £16.75 Which was absolutely faultless the steak was thick and perfectly cooked even for well done it was very large portion sizes and I would recommend the side order of onion rings. If you are thinking of a pudding be warned ice cream sundae's are £6 which I thought was ridiculous for a pudding even if we were by the sea, they do have the usual chalk boards with hot and cold desserts priced at £4.50 but we were too stuffed to eat anything else! For a pint of Guinness it was £3.80 which is ridiculous but being a free hold pub they can charge what they wish!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My partner and I have stayed in Shanklin for the last two years and on both occasions have had most of our evening meals at The Steamer Inn. We have not tried their B&B so my comments are purely about the evening meals. The menu has a large choice and all the meals we tried were extremely large, well presented and delicious. Even when busy, the service was very good with minimal waiting time. The staff were friendly and polite and we will definitely be eating there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

Didn't stay here was staying somewhere else but I have to say the food was superb. Plate was stacked high with food, great value for money crab salad £12.25. Could be different when busy but where isn't really.

Gave the rooms a 3 star because we didn't sleep here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011 via mobile

Oh dear!, it seems the steamer is trading on it's fabulous location but at the expense of basic hotel requirements such as value for money and quality of rooms.
I attempted to book a room last week only to be told that all they had left was a balcony room priced
at £90. Maybe I was being a little naive thinking that for that rate I would be guaranteed something a little bit better than a standard b&b/guesthouse. Wrong!. Tiny room, tiny tv on wall with no remote, balcony with 2 dirty green plastic chairs, pink bathroom suite with mouldy sealant around fittings. All in all, extremely poor value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cirencester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

we stayed in a balcony room. full if spartan bathroom, comfy bed.welcoming host and staff.breakfast enormous. pub food generous servings typical pub grub.location on the seafront lovely beach very quiet at night. if you are visiting the isle of wight,try to catch the wild oats. accoustic duo singer has impressive voice and the guitarist is very good.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Great position on tthe waterfront, Bitburger on tap and that's where the positive points end.

Do not eat here. House pate was a pink, lumpy cat food encrusted in gelatinous peppercorns, foul. The surf 'n' turf burger consisted of two thin wedges of reconstituted meat which tasted like pet food (a bit of a theme here) topped with cold frozen prawns swathed in sour yoghurt. The litmus test for how poor this offering really was, was that the hungover husband only managed two bites of the sore looking burger before pushing the plate away. This is a man who will normally eat anything, especially when on the hunt for greasy sustinance.

Terrible, hopefully the owners read this and look to improve things.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Steamer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamer Inn

Address: 18 Esplanade, Shanklin P037 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Steamer Inn Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steamer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Steamer Inn to your Saves list