We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IOW 9/2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Miclaran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Miclaran to your Saves list
The Miclaran
37 Littlestairs Rd., Shanklin P037 6HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“IOW 9/2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Miclaran is situated on the cliff top between Shanklin and Sandown .. There is a tarmac cliff path connecting both. For anyone without transport, there is an excellent bus service connecting all parts of the island - wonderful if you are fortunate enough to have a freedom bus pass !

Our first impression was very favourable thanks to a genuinly warm welcome by Sue and Alan, the proprietors. For the next five days, that impression was reinforced thanks to a very comfortable room ( lovely bed ) and first rate breakfasts.

The IOW has much to offer especially if you like walking in the countryside. We would be very happy to return to the Miclaran.

John and Pat Allen

Room Tip: Room6 had a great view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been very happy with our stay at this guest house.It was immaculately clean and the breakfasts were great. Alan and Sue were very helpfull and obliging during our stay and the rooms we stayed in had an excellent view of the sea, which we loved.If we visit The Isle of Wight again we would not hesitate to re-visit The Miclaran.
S. H. and R.B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent two nights here from sat 31st aug to mon 2nd sept. We were impressed with our room with a stunning room of the sea and sandown pier (room 11 at the top)
Alan and Sue were most hospitable and really trying to make a go of things in their first year of
business. Having spent previous holidays in huge hotels and complexes you lose that personal
touch that you get in a guest house like this.
Really clean and fab location. If I had to have one small gripe it would be that the walls are pretty thin and could do with a bit of soundproofing. On the first night we could hear our next door neighbours conversation at midnight, followed by loud snoring, this is not a reflection on sue and alan though but with the building that they took on.
We didnt have a problem with selecting our breakfast the night before like some customers have mentioned. It stands to reason that Alan and Sue do not want to be potentially cooking too much food in a small guest house like this. Will recommend to friends and relatives and come again ourselves

Room Tip: Room 11 at the very top with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We first visited this lovely Guest House with our three chiildren over 25 years ago. Since then there have been two new owners.
Brian and Sue have only been in the property for three months.
We visited there from Tuesday 27 August until Friday 30 August 2013.
We have written in the Visitors' Book ...outstanding ....and would not want to retract from this comment in any way, shape or form.
If cleanliness is next to godliness then the Miclaran is a perfect example of this!
We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we departed.
Breakfasts were lovely and we were continually asked if we would like more to either eat or drink.
Brian and Sue are excellent hosts.
The trouble they both went to to accommodate us in an excellent sea view room at such short notice was outstanding!

Value for money ............first rate!

Thankyou Brian and Sue. We will return no doubt about that!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was our first time to the Isle of Wight and to this Hotel. The view was amazing from our room and the breakfast was brilliant and the hosts were very welcoming. However the shower in our room was a trickle in the morning and very poor standard. The walls were very thin and due to this we could hear next door every movement eg talking, tv and flushing of the toilet which was very off putting and kept my boyfriend awake. This should be improved in the near future but apart from this we enjoyed our stay. We don't think this room (room 14) is worth £80 per night in its current condition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

First visit to the Miclaran, but we'll stay again next time we visit the Isle of Wight. Located up on the cliffs between Shanklin and Sandown, the views over the garden and the sea are stunning on a clear day. The accomodation was excellent clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very well prepared and of a very high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

First visit to the Miclaran, but we'll stay again next time we visit the Isle of Wight. Located up on the cliffs between Shanklin and Sandown, the views over the garden and the sea are stunning on a clear day. The garden path leads to the high level cliff-top walk, stairs down to the walkway by the sea are only a couple of hundred yards north. Shanklin promenade is around a 15 minute walk, the old town five or ten minutes more, but it's a very pleasant stroll. It would only be a short and cheap taxi ride if you didn't want to walk it. The new owners are clearly enthusiastic about their new venture and couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was compact but clean, bright and airy with a decent en-suite shower room. Breakfast was good, self-service for cereals,fruit, juices etc, with cooked breakfast to order. Free WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Miclaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Miclaran

Address: 37 Littlestairs Rd., Shanklin P037 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just for adults, The Miclaran holds a superb cliff top location in a quiet residential area with direct access to the coastal path, and enjoys stunning panoramic views over Sandown Bay to Culver Cliff. Nearby steps lead from the coastal path to Shanklin's beautiful sandy beach below, which is sheltered and offers safe bathing plus a variety of water sports such as canoeing, sailing and surfing. Shanklin Espanade, Shanklin Chine, and the picturesque thatched Old Village are a 15-20 minute walk away, Sandown Esplanade is a 15-20 minute walk in the other direction;if you are looking for something to eat or drink you will be spoilt for choice with a range of tea rooms, cafes, pubs and restaurants. The accommodation provides:* Panoramic sea views from all double/ twin/ triple rooms, as well as from the lounge, breakfast room and garden.* Comfortable, well presented rooms all ensuite with showers or shower over bath.* Bedrooms have flat screen TVs with free view, alarm clock radios, hospitality trays and hair dryers.* Please note; bedrooms are on first and second floors. There is a varied breakfast menu using quality ingredients such as free range eggs and vine tomatoes, a vegetarian option is available, and we can cater for special dietary needs by prior arrangement.* Free Wi Fi* Free guest on site parking* Accommodation just for adults (16+)Car ferry inclusive deals are available, and discounts given on longer stays: please phone for details.The Miclaran is a place to relax and unwind and a provides a perfect base to explore the lovely Isle of Wight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Miclaran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miclaran Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Miclaran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.