We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hazelwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hazelwood
14 Clarence Rd., Shanklin P037 7BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 55 hotels in Shanklin
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“warm and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 day stay at the Hazelwood and would highly recommend it. We were met with a warm and friendly greeting which continued throughout our stay, Breakfast was lovely as was the wonderfully bright and cheerful breakfast room.Our bedroom was bright and highly decorative with lots of little extra touches which added to the enjoyment of our stay like the bowl of sweets at the front door. we had clean towels every day and a continuous supply of tea/coffee/milk in our rooms. this really is an exceptional b&b and would go back again and again .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from an excellent stay at Hazelwood.Lovely clean,bright,quiet spacious room with a most comfortable bed and en suite. Phil & Carl made us most welcome making us Ruby cupcakes on our anniversary which was a lovely surprise and they were delicious very thoughtful. The cooked breakfasts were superb and the little extras like homemade muffins, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs & waffles were an added delight. We would strongly recommend a visit to Hazelwood.Excellent value for money, well situated in Shanklin, safe parking in a quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for few days end of april. The welcome was lovely and you are made to feel at home. Our room was lovely with a good size shower room/
The room was nicely decorated and had nice little extra touches. It is in a great location, just five minute walk from the bus station and train station and a nice stroll away is the old village of shanklin which has many lovely pubs doing excellent food. I would most definatly recommend you stay here! excellent price to!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at Hazlewood the first week of the Easter Holidays and loved it. The rooms have magnificent high ceilings and are all uniquely decorated, clean and roomy. ( the en suite was a bit small but the shower offered lashings of hot water which made up for it). We had a very warm but un imposing welcome and enjoyed lovely breakfasts. We were even offered hot cross buns on Good Friday as an extra breakfast treat which was a lovely addition. Phil was a wonderful host. We travelled with my mother and she loved it too. We will be back as it was such fantastic value for money too and a great central point for exploring the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here over August Bank Holiday weekend. Room was spacious overlooking rear garden. Breakfast was average compared to many places we have stayed in. Interesting decor in Lounge and Breakfast Room. Safe parking in the road outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights with our 92 year old father who was most taken with the lovely atmosphere and quality of the accomodation. Phil is front of house and Karl's professional artwork adds quality to the ambiance of the house. It is really clean and fresh, with high ceilings adding to the feeling of space.

Although our bathroom was very small for an ensuite, I much prefer that to finding my way down a corridor to a shared bathroom in the middle of the night! In terms of value for money it was a small blip.

Breakfast offered good variety: cereals, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, and a comprehensive choice of cooked options. Very good quality sausages and bacon, and really nicelyl cooked.

We felt it offered comfort, great value for money and a very warm and stylish welcome. Phil said their clientele tended to repeat book and they had good word of mouth promotion (which can only come from satisfied guests).

It is a ten minute walk to the centre of Shanklin, which could have been an issue for parking had we arrived in the height of the season, but was fine at the end of the season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I stayed at the Hazelwood hotel with my partner for 3 days in July and it was one of the best hotels i've stayed in! The owners were friendly, happy and keep the place up to a very high standard. Our room was quite big with a very nice small bathroom. The beds were exceedingly comfortable and when we got there, there was a small teddy bear on it to welcome us and we could purchase him when we left which was a lovely jesture. The food was very appetising and again its the small touches that make it even better, with fresh made muffins for breakfast - if I could have smuggled more out I would have, they were amazing! Overall our stay was very pleasant, specially being only a little walk from a nice sandy beach. We will definately being going back to this hotel if we can!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hazelwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelwood

Address: 14 Clarence Rd., Shanklin P037 7BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hazelwood is a 7 bedroom Victorian detached guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodation.It is no smoking throughout.It is situated in a quiet, attractive road with free on-street parking. It is just a short walking distance from the beach, town centre, old village and a couple of minutes walk from Shanklin railway station It provides an excellent base to explore the Isle Of Wight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hazelwood Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hazelwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hazelwood to your Saves list