We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unmissable yearly visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hambledon Hotel

Hambledon Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hambledon Hotel
Save
You added Hambledon Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road, Shanklin P037 6AW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hambledon 2015
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Lindfield, W.Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An unmissable yearly visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is my 13th year with Bill and Jackie at The Hambledon and it just goes to show that 13 is definitely NOT an unlucky number. I organise the weekend visit for a group of friends each year. The weekend was as much fun as ever - we get a warm welcome and superb service. The rooms are comfy and the facilities great. The walks program arranged for us was interesting and very enjoyable - Gill and Bill managed to find paths we had not walked before - lovely views and lovely weather too. I - and all my friends - cannot recommend a stay at The Hambledon strongly enough. We have already booked for next year and will continue to visit as long as we can walk!

Room Tip: No difference in any of the rooms - quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
72
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our last few days at the Hambledon have been a real pleasure. Bill and Jackie have obviously got the personal skills and attention to detail that makes a stay here very special. The food is excellent and the guided walks we took with the lovely Jill were amazing.
It says a great deal when we found out that many of the fellow walkers booked year on year.
My friend was right, it is a great venue for a holiday.
The bonus is the whole full board package, which is amazingly well priced.
Thanks Bill and Jackie for a great few days.
Mary and Neil

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hambledon, and the food and accommodation were first class. Bill & Jackie deserve all the praise for their hard work and hospitality that ensures you have a superb holiday.Attention to detail is second to none which makes it a pleasure to recommend the hotel to anyone who is visiting the IOW. Our thanks to them and their staff for a most enjoyable stay from Pete,Margaret & Fon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

we have just got back from another fantastic holiday at the hambledon hotel with bill & jackie, where we were treated like a lord and lady,as nothing was too much trouble for them and they both made you feel very welcome, so roll on next year when we return for another super break
dave & maureen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you want a hotel that is run by friendly people,offers great food and is spotless.Then look no further than the hambledon.Its in a perfect location close to lift and town.The only negative would be the water pressure in the shower, but thats nit picking.We would use this hotel again.Many thanks Bill & jackie for a lovely break.Dave & Nicola

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at the Hambledon Hotel and what a pleasant surprise to be greeted by such nice friendly people. Bill & Jackie are so welcoming and they run a super hotel.
Breakfasts are lovely with plenty of menu choices. A well stocked bar is available and the rooms were clean, bright and well maintained. The hotel is really near to the cliff walk so there is easy access to the beach and Shanklin High Street. Our granddaughter who is nearly 3 had boiled eggs and soldiers for breakfast on one occasion and she was delighted when it was served to her with a little hat on top to keep the egg warm. ( A little touch that meant a lot to a small child).
Little extras seem to be the order of the day at the Hambledon. Try it and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Tina.
Thank you for the lovely review. Were glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and glad Darcy liked the Eggs at breakfast. Look forward to seeing you all when you next visit the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our third year at the Hambledon and we have already booked for next year. Nothing is too much trouble for Bill and Jackie. The food is second to none, the rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained and the hotel is always full of friendly guests. It is set in an ideal location close to the beach and Shanklin village with lots to see and do for young and old. We are already counting the days until next year.

Daniel, Kirsty, Leo and Graham

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HambledonHotel, Owner at Hambledon Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you Daniel, Kirsty, Leo & Graham.
Wont be too long before August comes around again. Good luck to the Owl's this season.
All the best
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hambledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon Hotel

Address: Queens Road, Shanklin P037 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hambledon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill, Jackie and family extend a warm welcome to all those staying at the Hambledon Hotel, Shanklin. Our aim is to provide friendly attentive service, comfortable well appointed accommodation and an excellent standard of food and drink. We are open for holidays & short breaks for the whole family, and children of any age are welcome. The Hambledon Hotel, situated in Shanklin, on the picturesque Isle of Wight, is only yards away from the famous cliff path, which offers beautiful walks to both Ventnor and Sandown along the cliff tops. From here, there is also access to the safe and sandy Shanklin beaches below, via lift or path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hambledon Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hambledon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.