We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely New Year Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Popham road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely New Year Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked a short break at this hotel over the New Year. We tried to get in to Luccombe Hall where we had been before but they were fully booked. This hotel was available at a very good price so we thought we would try it. We are glad we did! It was really lovely - the room, the food, and the amazing view from the conservatory dining room. Sadly, it was dark at dinner time but the garden was nicely lit up. We shall certainly be going back again! The only thing that could be improved was the large bedrooom window which was not double glazed. The draught coming in was quite something!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your trip over the New Year period with us. I am glad you had an enjoyable time. It is great to hear you found the food, room and view all to your liking. The Appley Restaurant situated in the conservatory has a fantastic view of the bay. Now the evenings are getting lighter, this will be able to be enjoyed at both breakfast and dinner. I am sorry that you found the windows a bit draughty in your room. Being an older building that retains many original features, we do not have double glazed windows. I do hope your room was not chilly. We do have additional heaters available, on request. Hopefully we will see you back at Luccombe Manor again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    128
    50
    23
    5
See reviews for
77
204
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here on a deal, bed breckfast and dinner. Rooms in the extension a bit bland but well furnished with comfortable beds. Breckfast and dinner fine for the money with a good choice at dinner. Waiting staff exceptional with nothing too much trouble. would reccomend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments following your recent short break with us. I am glad you found your bed comfortable and trust you had a great nights sleep on it. I am sorry that you thought the decor a little bland in your bedroom. We welcome a wide range of guests at Luccombe Manor so try to keep the decor slightly on the safer side. Having said that, we are not a purpose built hotel so all our bedrooms are different and on a future visit, you may find one of our other bedrooms more appealing. It is good to hear that you thought the breakfast and dinner was good value for money and that you felt our restaurant staff offered great customer service. I do hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is the 5th time we've stayed at Luccombe Manor and it just gets better & better. Once again we were greeted by friendly staff, booking in is simple and then shown to our upgraded room over looking the sea & what a beautiful view.
The food was a very good standard and the choices were varied, the waiting staff were very attentive I can't praise them enough.
We will be back next year taking advantage of the many offers they have throughout the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoy being able to welcome our regular guests back to Luccombe Manor, time and again. I am glad that the upgraded room with the sea view was to your liking and that you found the food and service to be to its usual high standard. I do hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night on 8th feb, we were lucky enough to have been given a gorgeous double room with a single bed also, large bay window with a lovely sea view...room was perfect. Used the pool next door which was relaxing. Breakfast was also very good. Friendly staff, nicely decorated hotel...will definitely be back :-) Rachel & Mandy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for making the effort to post such a charming review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We are fortunate to share our grounds with our sister hotel, Luccombe Hall and our guests can make use of their facilities such as indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. It's just a short stroll through the gardens. I do hope you will visit us again in the future and hopefully stay for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

just back from short break at luccombe manor,,what a beautifully decorated hotel,we had room 10 right up the top kingsize bed really comfortable with a roof window over bed at night you could watch the moon and stars perfect!the chef is excellent the food was so flavoursome what you ordered tasted as it should and good size meal very filling,,was very clean all around hotel very friendly staff was also nice and quiet for perfect relaxing break cant wait to go back very soon been to 3 garden isle hotels on island now a few times and cant fault them

Room Tip: go in quieter season and you get upgrades free like kingsize or sea facing rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your stay with us. I am glad that you found star-gazing to be an added benefit in room 10. Aaron, our Chef will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food. We are lucky to have such a friendly team of staff and I am glad they looked after you well. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Luccombe Manor soon or maybe to one of our sister hotels, Luccombe Hall or Melville Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be extremely pleasant. Beautiful sea view but it had to be paid for. Top class food and wonderful room. Downside is that there are not enough staff but those that were there were very friendly. The reason we stayed there was through a deal and to be honest I would only stay there again if another offer was available. Overpriced for out of season.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you found your stay in one of our sea view rooms to be extremely pleasant. It is also great to hear that your room was wondrful and the food top class. Our small team try their best to make all our guests feel welcome and well-looked after. I am sorry that you felt there were not enough staff. It can sometimes be difficult to anticipate the busiest periods and rota accordingly but I do hope this did not impact on your stay too much. We do offer some great packages that include meals and car ferries and always try to offer our guests good value for money. I do hope we will see you back again at Luccombe Manor in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arrived early, but had no problem checking in, the lady on reception told us that as they were fairly empty we had an upgrade...I think this meant we had a seaview, which was great. A bright pleasant and clean room, we both felt very pleased, that was until we went to bed, the mattress had no support at all and was for both of us the most uncomfortable nights 'sleep' we have had in a long while. Breakfast was good, a choice between full english and fish and served in the conservatory style restaurant overlooking the sea...to have a swim you have to walk to the sister hotel, which is no hardship, where we found a reasonable hot tub and pool. All the staff we spoke to in the hotels were really helpful and friendly, but that bed...no no no!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare W, Owner at Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. I am glad you were able to benefit from checking in early to one of our seafacing rooms. I am so sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable. We have certainly not had any other complaints recently about uncomfortable beds so this was not something we were aware of. It is such a shame that you did not bring this to our attention at the time. As you stated yourself, our staff are really friendly and approachable and we were not busy at the time so we could easily have moved you to another room or changed the bed or mattress. As trip advisor is anonymous, I am still in the dark as to which room and bed needs looking at! As other aspects of your stay were good, I do hope you will return. In future do please realise that our staff are here to ensure you have as comfortable a stay as possible and if any points are brought to our attention during your stay, we will do all in our power to help.

Kind Regards

Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel

Address: 11 Popham road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#18 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel in Shanklin is set in a beautiful cliff top location overlooking Shanklin Beach and Sandown Bay. Just 2 minutes walk from the popular old village, and with direct access to the beach from our gardens the Hotel has the perfect location to explore the area. Luccombe Manor is a family friendly and dog friendly hotel with a wide range of facilities including wi fi, heated outdoor pool (May-September), hot tub, games room and tea gardens. The hotel also shares facilities with its adjacent sister hotel Luccombe Hall including squash court, indoor and outdoor pools and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.