We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, 5 star hotels cant touch this outstanding accomadation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Overhailes Farm B&B and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Overhailes Farm B&B and Cottages to your Saves list
Overhailes Farm B&B and Cottages
Overhailes, Haddington EH41 3SB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Haddington B&B and Inns
Rustington, West Sussex
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Amazing place, 5 star hotels cant touch this outstanding accomadation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you want comfortable 1st class furnishings and the most amazing views I can honestly say no hotel can compare,unless you like being in with a crowd!! Tucked away on a working farm this farmhouse B&B is simply stunning, John and the staff are very welcoming,house is very very clean and impeccably kept, (perhaps a monthly pole window clean wouldn't go a miss but am being picky)
The breakfast is fantastic and fresh cooked to order none of the mass pre prepared rubbish you can experience in main steam hotels in Edinburgh! You have to go looking for somewhere to eat in the eves but there are plenty of little towns ie North Berwick and others are only a short drive away, Edinburgh is around a 30 minute drive away so plenty of options,we went for the Edinburgh Military tattoo,and because all the hotels were full we looked elsewhere and am very happy to say we're glad we did.
Amazing views for our room, we had the Peach room which was superb and very large with a massive deep bath and walk in wardrobe,We took a walk down to the beautiful Hailes castle grounds and ruins which was lovely, you walk along the river and over a wooded bridge, all very idyllic.
Will almost defiantly be returning soon.

Room Tip: Peach room amazing value and massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were a group of 6 friends(4 of us travelling from Kent and London area) visiting Edinburgh over the weekend for the Military Tattoo. We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely surroundings and the spacious rooms at Overhailes Farm. We stayed in the Cream Suite and were well impressed by the room and the lounge upstairs. My friend and her boyfriend stayed in the Peach Room which also comprised of a walk-in-wardrobe. Both rooms had clean and nicely decorated bathrooms. By the end of the first day, our other friend and her husband, who actually live in Kirkcaldy, decided to spend the 2nd night here simply because they didn't want to miss out on the fun. The lovely John was ever so helpful in providing a room at a last minute. The breakfast menu had to be completed and left in the front foyer by 8pm the evening before. We were served in a cosy room with a large enough table to accommodate all of us. We had a car; so, travelling to Edinburgh was not a problem. Only downside is that we didn't have enough time to explore the area around. Overall, we were very happy with our stay at Overhailes Farm and it added to the whole experience. I have even recommended it to my parents.
Ps. many thanks to Trish for making the booking process go smoothly.

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked a 4 night trip last minute. Excellent communication from Trish. I have had various experiences when renting cottages and must say this was the nicest one I have been to.I travelled with 3 children aged 6, 3 and 2 years and they thought the cottage was the best ever. They were very impressed with the view of Hailes Castle. I was impressed with the deceptively roomy accomodation, well equipped cottage and the small enclosed garden which meant the children could play safely whilst I was making dinner. The bedrooms were twins and the beds were very comfortable. The wee one was well cstered for with cot and highchair available. The location was good for visiting North Berwick, Haddington and Dunbar etc and was a very pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend and will return as I really like the East Coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We needed a hotel or B&B suite, as we have two young daughters, neither of whom are wonderful sleepers. We searched through Edinburgh, and couldn't find anything suitable (we were running in the Marathon Festival, and needed somewhere within striking distance of the city). Then we stumbled upon Overhailes Farm.

The location is breath-taking, lush and green; the house itself is spacious and the rooms large and well kitted out. We stayed in The Cream Suite, and our two girls slept really well. Our only regret was that we had to leave early each morning to get to the Festival, so couldn't enjoy the location more. The Farm is also located close to Haddington, which has a selection of rather lovely restaurants, as well as shops and so on.

We can't recommend Overhailes Farm highly enough.

Room Tip: We had The Cream Suite - two adults, two kids - and it was great, with lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Found this place by accident but will be going back a wonderful place with wonderful warm people and views to die for. breakfast was great and the pancakes mmmmmmm. stayed in the peach room comfy bed and large room with a massive walk in wardrobe lovely en-suite will so be going back worth every penny

Room Tip: peach room wonderful views big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were there to visit Edinburgh. The farm is huge the house has some nice and very large rooms. We had plenty of space. The rooms are well furnished and comfotable. They are clean and filled with light because of nice large windows. Although it is near the A1 it is very calm and a real good place to relax. the breakfast was amzing - lots of things to eat in the morning. The ladies who do the cooking in the morning are really heplful and extraordinary friendly. A great place to stay. We will come when we visit Edinburgh again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, spacious and each of it is special furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were looking for a b&b near to both the coast and Edinburgh and Overhailes fitted the bill perfectly. We found a beautiful farm house with large comfortable rooms, a very friendly welcome and superb breakfasts. We hope to return soon to what is a truly excellent b&b.

Room Tip: We stayed in the peach room which was lovely, very spacious although I would imagine all rooms are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Overhailes Farm B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overhailes Farm B&B and Cottages

Address: Overhailes, Haddington EH41 3SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Overhailes Farm B&B And Cottages Haddington, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Overhailes Farm B&B and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.