We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is What It Is” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maitlandfield House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maitlandfield House Hotel to your Saves list
Maitlandfield House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It is What It Is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Having just returned from a very quick break to Haddington [which I must say is a delight] we stayed at the Maitlandfield House Hotel. The room was completely without any view at all only views of the conservatory roof on both sides - making if feel extremely dark and dingy.

The bar,reception,kitchen and it seemed everything else was run by a young man who was very friendly but absolutely rushed of his feet!!!!

Service therefore was poor rooms below average and breakfast pleasant but very ordinary.

Not the greatest of stays

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all comments be they good or bad. It is feedback that helps us improve our service so is extremely valuable. I do hope that you come back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    29
    25
    12
See reviews for
26
65
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here recently whilst on business, having never stayed here before.

The reception and greeting were polite and on that note all the staff we encountered at the bar and reception were excellent. Waiters on an evening the same.

The room was average to small size I would say, but had everything you needed for a stay.

The shower was a complete waste of time, no power or pressure at all, not what you need after a long day or first thing in the morning tbh.

Evening meal was super, no complaints at all with that.

Breakfast was an event. Staff were indifferent really, think it was too busy for them, toast was coming out at different times. NEVER A FAN OF MAKE YOUR OWN TEA OR COFFEE

Our toast came to table with mould on it, apologies all round which was fair enough but not a very pleasant thing to come out of a kitchen, just makes you wonder about the rest of it in the back of your mind.

Food on offer was fine, cereal, juices and self service cooked breakfast were all good.

Would return if in the area but ask for a certain room and perhaps remind them of my last breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower that has some good pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am not going to insult you apologies. This is not our usual standard and I will look into what exactly went wrong while you were with us. I really appreciate the kind comments you also made. I do hope that you do come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is not a place I would stay if I was paying for it out of my own pocket (the acid test). We were staying here on business and they were very awkward on things like checking out, expecting a weeks notice to be given on early check out (and we were only there for 4 days!). Tried all sorts of tricks to keep money when we had to cancel a stay later on, luckily they hadn't sent the T&C's through so the payment was refunded. Very expensive for what it is. Single rooms are very small. Breakfast buffet was poor quality.

Room Tip: Single rooms can be tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate any comments be they bad or good. Our terms and conditions are there to protect both the guests and the hotel. Our times for check out and check in are standard and we would require notice if these were to be different. We never refuse a guests request for an early check out and try our best to never refuse any request. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great night in this quiet hotel. Immediately at home when we got out of the car and smelt a log fire...great welcome. We stayed in room 1.... It was huge, with a really comfortable chaise long!! Very comfortable and spacious public rooms with friendly bar service. Lots of parking and outside seating. Good breakfast. Will definitely return next time we visit Haddington.

Room Tip: Choose a premier room...all a little different but lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I agree you can not beat the smell of a log fire. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Maitlandfield on business and was well looked after. The hotel is stylish and comfortable, set in well kept grounds, which the dining room looks out over. The staff are relaxed and friendly, the room was clean, warm and well appointed. I'll be going back again, certainly.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff to help, they're all friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We always aspire to meet the needs of business travellers so its great to hear that our efforts are noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from a wonderful Valentine one night break. I can't praise this hotel highly enough. The room was fabulous the the most enormous comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge, with a bath shower, toiletries and big fluffy towels.
A silver ice bucket contained a large bottle of pink fizz! waiting for us on arrival.
The dining was a delight, wonderful home cooked food. Coffee and shortbread to follow.
The staff were lovely and so attentive, it was a real pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: choose a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our staff, food and atmosphere. We are always striving to make guests stay perfect so I am pleased that we are doing things right. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Entered the hotel to warm greeting, smell of fire burning - it was lovely and homely.

Yes it has tired decor but it has a nice feel about it.

Breakfast was pleasant - not the usual huge and unnecessary buffet but cooked on demand hot food was lovely.

The room was cleaned well each day, all members of staff were very friendly indeed.

Now to the snags; we emailed ahead to explain we'd be late arriving, our stay was to enable us to sort out a close family bereavement, however we were wished a nice day and jovial comments like "don't spend too much money" We felt were a tad insensitive, if the hotel was busy we'd understand, but it wasn't.

On Friday night the party the hotel was holding downstairs didn't keep us awake however the constant banging of doors did, coupled with a rock hard mattress I really don't think I've slept a wink for the last three nights stay, oh believe comments that this hotel is cold, keep the radiator turned up to build heat in the room, as the heating goes off.

Shame, it has the potential to be wonderful, but you can't help feel there's skimping going on, but it's skimping that'll cost customers.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate any feedback. I must apologise for any offence taken at what must have been a difficult time. Our heating is 24/7 so I can not understand that the heating went off in your bedroom. Each radiator is controlled by guests on a thermostat for their comfort. Thank you once again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maitlandfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.