We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much improvement ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo Bistro

Waterloo Bistro
Tyne House | Poldrate, Haddington EH41 4DA, Scotland
01620822100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Haddington
Cuisines: Italian, Latin, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not much improvement ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Ate here a year ago and wasn't very impressed. Unfortunately the food is still mediocre. Having not had it before, I enquired as to how the pheasant was cooked and was assured that it wouldn't be dry and chewy. It actually turned out to be exactly that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
  • 3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Enjoyed a Christmas dinner here. Eating as a large group can be tricky but the food and service were excellent. I was particularly grateful for my coeliac suitable meal, which was no fuss. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

The food was ok,nothing special. Nice location by the river and not bad inside,warm and cosy. Service was quite poor and I wouldn't rush back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant with great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Great evening, great food and lovely staff.
The meal and drinks were very reasonably priced and the music was enjoyable and not too loud. Our only down part was the Creme Brulee, it came in a cup so was too deep and solid and my husbands was runny at the bottom.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“You've done it again :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Yet again, the Waterloo Bistro has provided us with a great evening out - the food was brilliant. Am not normally a fan of fishcakes but decided to give yours a go - very glad that I did :) Partners starter was also very good :) Main courses were excellent :) but am afraid that we didn't have room for dessert. Next time maybe??

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterloo Bistro also viewed

Haddington, East Lothian
Haddington, East Lothian
 
Haddington, East Lothian
Haddington, East Lothian
 

Been to Waterloo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.