We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Letham House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Letham House to your Saves list
Letham House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Letham House, Haddington EH41 3SS, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Haddington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is recommended if you're looking to get away for a weekend. There is a gorgeous fireplace where you can read your paper privately (at least we did) and the breakfast the next day is divine. The shared table allows you to chat with other guests too in a very traditional, well-kept environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This beautiful guesthouse is everything I always wish for in a hotel, but never before has a place exceeded my expectations quite so much. We actually won a night's stay in Letham House as part of a visit to the Lennoxlove book festival. We had tickets to the VIP drinks reception (as part of the prize) following the Scottish Book of the year awards, but we loved Letham so much, we passed on the free Champers for a night snuggled in our luxurious room. Who knew when the opportunity to stay in such breath-taking surroundings would present itself again.

We arrived to the warmest of welcomes from Barbara, Chris and Rosie, the friendliest Black Lab ever. As mentioned by many other reviewers, Barbara gave a tour of the house on arrival, before showing us to our room, the Copper Beech room. From the website I understand this to be one of the lower priced rooms. You'd never tell!

The room itself was opulently decorated, faithful to the period house, but with all the mod cons you need. The gigantic bed was comfy and dressed with cosy and high quality linens. The bathroom was of an equally high standard, amazing shower, heated floors, heated towel rail, snuggly towels and a bathrobe and slippers.

We didn't take dinner in the guesthouse, but if, sorry when, we return I certainly will. The dinner menu is really tempting and exceptionally reasonable at £35 for 3 courses. Our room included breakfast which was delicious, generous and served with exceptional geniality by Barbara in the dining room in the morning. Guests all share the same table, but the friendly atmosphere encouraged by Barbara, meant this didn't feel uncomfortable. There's a good choice of breakfast options, and tea, coffee and toast are in seemingly never ending supply!

After breakfast we took the opportunity to explore the beautiful grounds. Again, Barbara and Chris are exceptionally generous, inviting us to meet their beautiful Halflinger Horse, and Charlie the Donkey (adorable- thinks he's a dog apparently!).

Although this was a bonus stay away, and we had no expectations at all, my husband and I were blown away by our stay here. We will definitely be back. If you're still wondering whether to stay here, just make the booking. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Letham is a special place, run by special people. A 6 bedroom small hotel with all the rooms having views over the back garden; beautifully decorated rooms with great beds and special baths.
Hard to find (watch out for the white rocks!) but then down a beautiful tree lined entry road, Letham is run by Barbara and Chris, particularly warm and welcoming. Barbara organized 5 days golf and all restaurant reservations for us. Great, hand cooked breakfast - no buffet here. All this at rates which are wonderful value. If you're golfing (or not) in east lothian, this is a first class place to stay!
Michael F

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anstruther
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited this magnificent house for the second time and the welcome we received from Barbera was lovely.A really lovely hostess and just couldn't do enough for us,even driving us to the restaurant in town. Thank you.
Beautiful room with so many touches.Delicious breakfast in the stately dining room.We will definitely return for more luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights to celebrate my birthday. It was the perfect location. The house itself is beautiful, set in a peaceful location but still near enough to be able to go to Edinburgh by bus and leave the car behind. Barbara made us very welcome, giving us a tour of the house on our arrival before showing us to our amazing room on the top floor of the house. It was one of the luxury rooms complete with a roll top bath and a huge walk in shower. The bedroom had a lovely view over the rear gardens and the most comfortable double bed. We had a fantastic 3 course meal on the Friday night, cooked by Barbara. It cost £35 per person and was excellent value for money. We were also able to take our own wine for the meal with no charge for corkage. One of the highlights was sharing both the dinner and breakfast table with other guests who were staying allowing us to chat and share ideas about places to visit. Barbara was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. This is definitely a place to return to.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are on the top floor and have a bath and a shower. The Botanical Suite also on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Definitely one of the most beautiful and peaceful places I have been fortunate enough to stay in. Watching deer run across the driveway as I sit eating breakfast was priceless. Barbara is an excellent hostess and we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose LH because we didn't want to be in a B&B or hotel right in North Berwick. We chose LH. Based on other reviews and it was a great choice. The room we had was large with a generous ensuite. Breakfast was fantastic and Barbara cooks some evenings although we were not able to avail ourselves of the opportunity. The property is very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean with very friendly hosts. We were go,fing in East Lothian and LH. Is well located for easy access to many great courses in the area. Nice eating also at the bistro on the river in Haddington

Room Tip: If you have a heavy case probably good to have a room on the first floor. We had a fantastic room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Letham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letham House

Address: Letham House, Haddington EH41 3SS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Letham House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, secluded, luxury country house accomodation, situated only 30 mins form Edinburgh City centre and with in striking distance of all of East Lothian's fabulous golf courses and tourist attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Letham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letham House Haddington, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.