We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One West Road Haddington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One West Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haddington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One West Road
Save
You added One West Road to your Saves list
1 West Road, Haddington EH41 3RD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Haddington B&B and Inns
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One West Road Haddington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

3 couples, six in total stayed at One West Road, February. Our Hosts Rachel and David were excellent. Went out of there way to be helpful. Many thanks indeed.Top marks to them both.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
29
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

In October 2011,we five couples, friends in Dumfries, were going to a wedding in Haddington. I booked us all in to One West End B&B, a marvellous find, thanks to Tripadvisor reviews! The charming hosts, David and Rachel, had made a superhuman effort to get all five rooms ready by late morning so that we could use them on our arrival to get into our wedding finery.This was so much appreciated by us all.
This beautiful Georgian house has been so tastefully restored, combining traditional elegance with fabulous modern bathrooms, super-comfy beds in stylish large bedrooms, a welcoming lounge, and dining-table style which would do "Downton" justice! Location is excellent, just on the edge of town, easy walking distance from restaurants and amenities.
Breakfast is a delicious feast! As you enter the lovely light room, your first glimpse of delights to come is a superb array of fresh fruits and cereals on the side-board- and it goes on in five-star style! David and Rachel, your personal attention to detail just makes this a perfect place to stay, thankyou to you both.
We will definitely be back, next time to explore the beauties of Berwickshire, with the luxury of One West End to come home to in the evening!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend to attend friend's wedding in Haddington. Very impressed by quality of B&B, one of very best have stayed in. Breakfast was first class, lounge was great with free Wifi access. Rooms comfortable and well equipped. Hosts were very helpful with local info and booking taxis etc. would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a place to relish! A beautiful house, huge rooms and bathrooms, elegantly furnished, warm, welcoming and with a superb breakfast. It was a bit pricey for us, but we did not grudge a penny: certainly value for money. This is exceptional accommodation and I thoroughly recommend it. One fly in the ointment -- or not, which may be a consequence: I woke up to find a HUGE spider poised over the bed. If I'd seen it the night before, I'd have freaked out (very silly of me, I know) -- but I didn't see it till I'd got up, so I can't honestly say it detracted from the excellence of my experience. Just might make me think twice about booking again.

Room Tip: If you care about such things, ask for a spider inspection before you arrive. The host and hostess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We booked this B&B many months in advance based on the excellent reviews. We stayed for 4 nights as part of a golfing holiday and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this outstanding B&B.

Our bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious, modern and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was generous and delicious.

Rachael and David were excellent hosts. Without doubt, one of the best B&B's we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was THE BEST bed and breakfast we have EVER stayed in and we have been to a lot! The rooms were amazing, we were given a family suite, the breakfast delicious and the owners very friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend it enough. It was easy to get into Edinburgh from the local bus stop across the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

If ever there was an argument for spending that little bit more on a B&B, this is it. We arrived on a rainy day, but any clouds over our heads were soon blown away by the quality of the suite of rooms(!) we were shown into.

The main bedroom was faultlessly decorated, and looked to have a number of pieces of quality antique furniture. The bathroom was large and had a very deep roll top bath which was quickly filled with hot water to ignore the rain outside. The list of useful information and dinner venues was comprehensive. We were given tea and cake on arrival, with fresh milk.

The owners are a young couple, very much throwing themselves into this business and it shows in every aspect of your stay, a visitor's book bursting at the seams with positive comments from all over the world, the breakfast was superb, as was the room in which it was eaten, and we were able to take an umbrella to shield us from the weather as we went out for dinner. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One West Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One West Road

Address: 1 West Road, Haddington EH41 3RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast accommodation located on the outskirts of Edinburgh in the heart of East Lothian, offering 5 super-king double/twin rooms all with luxury en-suite. With Edinburgh only a 15 minute drive away, and 20 golf courses within 12 miles, One West Road is the ideal base to explore the East of Scotland and Scottish Borders’ countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
One West Road Haddington, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One West Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.