We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Culloden Estate & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Culloden Estate & Spa to your Saves list
Culloden Estate & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 OEX, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok but not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in June for one night.

Pros:
- Beautiful location and building.
- Nice bar for evening drinks.
- Grounds and settings.
- Good size room.
- Spa facilities.

Cons:
- Lady at reception for check in was not welcoming.
- Porter didn't show us to our room.
- No night turndown service. We had showered before going out for dinner and didn't have fresh towels on our return.
- Service in the Cultra Inn was painfully slow even though it was only about 30% full.
- The bedding had a funny smell. We only noticed this after going to bed so didn't call reception. We ended up putting most of it in the cupboard to escape the smell!
- Room service incredibly expensive. We had a continental breakfast for 2 with an orange juice and coffee....£37!!! There wasn't a price listed on the menu but we definitely regretted getting it.

All in all it was an ok stay but we've been fortunate enough to regularly stay in 5 star hotels all over the world and this one definitely ranks at the bottom.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Richash85

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion on tripadvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you found the hotel to be in a "beautiful location" and listed positive features about the facilities including the Bar and Spa.

I am, however, genuinely disappointed that we did not live up to our normally very high standards in all aspects of the hotel. We take great pride in providing professional, courteous and efficient customer service so to hear that we have fallen short is a cause for considerable concern.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to draw these matters to our attention. We value all feedback, be it positive or negative. It is only through such feedback that we may rectify any shortcomings and prevent their re-occurrence.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Your sincerely


Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    134
    102
    48
    30
See reviews for
180
450
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here overnight on business but will be back for a leisure break. It is located a bit out of the centre but in lovely grounds and with a great view. With its own train halt it is a really good base to see the city. Rooms of a very good standard and on the rate I paid very good value for the quality. A heavy night prevented me from enjoying breakfast to the full but it did look as good a buffet as you could get anywhere. As with other reviewers the staff were to a person polite, helpful, friendly and obviously proud of the hotel - a great asset. Please try this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Milton W

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you found the hotel to be “hard to fault”.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and was sorry to leave! The rooms were excellent, very clean and comfortable also the staff were very efficient and friendly with out being too familiar. The locally sourced food was well cooked and served in a dinning room with a breathtaking view over Belfast Lough to the Antrim hills. Unfortunately I was unable to sample the delights of the spa but intend to do this on my next visit which hopefully will be very soon! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Carolyn G

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa and particularly about our staff.

I was delighted to learn that you found our staff to be “very efficient and friendly without being too familiar”.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night, this is luxury in Belfast, beautiful gardens friendly staff and the best bed I have slept in. The food is excellent really good breakfast. I am sure the spa will be very good didn't have time to sample this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear John S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The hotel is in a very picturesque location and the grounds are well cared for. My room was a bit dark, but otherwise very nice. The dining room allows the opportunity to look out over the sea while eating a locally sourced breakfast. The business centre has a strong wifi connection and plenty of space and options. However the key asset for the hotel is the staff, all the ones I met were polite, friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Eddie M

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa and particularly about our staff.

I was delighted to learn that you found our staff to be a “key asset” within our hotel. It is always extremely rewarding to hear such positive feedback regarding the team within the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a couple of nights at the Culloden. The hotel is very nice and the spa is superb. The rooms are large and clean. The service is friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the food is very poor and below the hotel standard. Prices are competitive for the overall quality.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear new_world_travellers

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you thought the Spa was “superb” and found the service to be “friendly and efficient”. Thus, following such positive comments, it was disappointing to learn that on this occasion, we failed to exceed your expectations with regard to the food served at the hotel.

At the Hastings Hotels Group we are passionate about food and believe that eating is one of life’s greatest pleasures. We embrace the use of carefully selected local and seasonal quality foods to enable our chefs to prepare and create the most delicious dishes in our kitchens.

I was disappointed that you felt the food was “below the hotel standard”, and in response to your review I will have this area monitored closely to ensure that all aspects of the hotel exceed guest expectations.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future.


Yours sincerely



Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a three night stay at the Culloden as we we attending a birthday party in Holywood . The flight from Leeds was early and we were able to check our bags in to the hotel and head to the Titanic Quarter. On our return the bags had been placed in the room which was up graded to a suite. This was our second stay at this magnificent hotel, with manicured grounds and stunning views over Belfast Lough. The Crozier lounge is new a large bar yet intimate with small seating areas. The staff are attentive and knowledgable . The room was the same as we had been allocated on our last visit. When we returned each evening the bed was turned down curtains drawn, the lights turned on and a chocolate left on the beside table lovely touch. Breakfast was good with a variety of different cooked and cold food. The hotel was also had the pop group Mcbusted staying but this did not affect our stay as there were plenty of staff on duty. Overall the staff go the extra mile to make your stay special, and a valued guest.
We plan to return later with friends from Leeds so they can enjoy the Belfast hospitality in a truly amazing setting.
The Culloden more than justifies it's 5* rating . We are looking forward to our next trip in this relaxing and wonderful setting.

Kevin

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Kevin D

I would like to take this opportunity to express my thanks for your very kind comments about the Culloden Estate and Spa.

I was delighted to learn that you found the staff “attentive and knowledgeable”, and that they were always prepared to go that extra mile to exceed your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely




Mr James McGinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 OEX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culloden Estate & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.