We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culloden Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Culloden Estate & Spa to your Saves list
Culloden Estate & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 OEX, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing family get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. The Staff and facilities were excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. Very relaxing and enjoyable, just wish we we're staying longer. The kids didn't want to leave. Already planning our return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    157
    111
    60
    36
See reviews for
202
504
24
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Sadly we were disappointed with our stay, really from arrival through to departure. Our room had zero view - justed looking straight out at a roof - which made the room very dark. We also had the constant thumping of music from the gym area clearly heard in our room - and it has long open hours!! The reception staff weren't exactly helpful when we complained about it - with nothing being done to resolve the issue.

Service at breakfast was also poor both mornings, with our toast request being forgotten on both occasions, which led to our food getting cold as we waiting for it to arrive - more than 10 minutes on the first morning.

The staff are all lovely, especially Michael in the Mitre restaurant. But, for a 5 star stay, which was not cheap, we were left disappointed and can't see ourselves returning.

Room Tip: request a room with a view of the lough and at the front of the hotel, so no noise from gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlederg, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a two day break at the Culloden Hotel in Feburary 2014. This is a excellent hotel with very friendly staff and we had a wonderful meal on one of the evenings in the Mitre Resturant. Complements to Chef Eoin. Superb food in lovely surroundings over looking Belfast lough. We will most certainly be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a group of 4 and confirmed one of the larger suites so that all four of us could be together. This was confirmed via email and phone yet oddly as we stood there at reception (all four of us ... Right there in front of the reservation manager) were allocated another suite which we discovered was actually just a double room ... a beautiful room but either reception didn't see all four of us, or didn't read the booking but we were clearly four people and had booked for four people. Anyway we left them to sort it out and went for a spot of lunch in the lobby area ... only to find that we were in the middle of a wedding which meant all staff were focused on the bridal party and it took us about 20minutes to get a menu and simple drinks. So our arrival put a little sour note on the start of our weekend but happily the room was sorted, we were fed and watered eventually and retreated to one of the most amazing suites I've ever seen.

It was a mezzanine level with the most amazing decor, bed, bathroom .. Just incredible. I was in the king bed which was enormous ... Bigger than king and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in ... And I've done the Heavenly bed by Westin.

The spa was our main treat and it was lovely. Just big enough for a pool and sauna and jacuzzi but small enough to be quite private. We spent many a long hour relaxing. The toiletries in the spa were fabulous!!

We had hoped to dine at the pub within the grounds but were informed that it was full so we ate at the restaurant. For 3 courses it cost £50 which was a bit hefty but I must admit the food was excellent. The wine was also a bit pricey. The staff were superb and made sure we were very well looked after.

Breakfast seemed to be the most popular event at the hotel. It was packed!!! There was a good selection of all kinds of dishes and they even had gluten free options available.

All in all it was a super weekend, so relaxing and comfortable. Reservations need sharpening up a bit and staff shouldn't neglect other guests if there is a big event on, but I would happily recommend this hotel for a special weekend getaway.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

On Saturday 15th February 2014, my husband and I had a most memorable evening at Culloden Hotel Estate and Spa!

On arrival we were welcomed by a team of very friendly staff. The evening started with a pre dinner drink a glass of bubbly pink champagne, followed by an amuse – gueule which was an egg shell filled with a salmon mousse. This was amazing, very delicate and light! This certainly impressed us, as it must have been so time consuming for The Chef. An in genius idea for a dinner party! Chef what’s your secret? This was then followed by an extensive menu of mouth-watering courses! After careful consideration and help from Amy I choose a smoked cod and leek fishcake with poached egg and hollandaise sauce drizzled with a red sauce which have to say was beautiful. For main course I had monkfish which was served with chilli and lime lentils with cajun spice! Lovely combination, recipe from Chef would be gratefully appreciated! Dessert was an assisette of desserts but my favourite had to be the raspberry ruffle parfait of homemade ice cream! Delicious!

My husband started with a foie gras terrine with walnut and raisin bread served with some sort of chutney, followed by main of venison with a balsamic jus complimented with sweet potato and savoy cabbage. Since we had shared the dessert, he opted for a selection of irish cheeses served on a slate with condiments of chutney and ditty’s Biscuits!

We both had a very enjoyable evening! The ambience and settings were stunning with breathtaking views over the Lough! The staff were so helpful and friendly and the service was excellent and the food was exquisite. Only disappointment we had was that we didn't stay overnight and enjoy the facilities that Culloden Estate and Spa has to offer! Maybe next time.........!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Culloden Hotel over night. Fantastic food and service I would be back to stay.
A lovely young lady Laurie made us more than welcome she couldn't have done anymore to make us at home. Laurie is a real credit to the Culloden Hotel. I hope to be back to stay in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Ashcath81

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to learn that you are planning on returning to the Culloden Estate and Spa. It is encouraging to receive such positive comments as we are continually striving to make sure every guest has a very special experience with us.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Culloden Estate and Spa for your trip to Belfast.

Yours sincerely



Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The breakfast was the best meal we had during our stay. It was very well presented and the quality of the food was excellent. We were only there for a one night stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. I particularly enjoyed the selection of fish, cold meats and cheeses. The coffee at breakfast was served piping hot….not the case in many hotels. Highly recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Shineonthem

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Helen Caters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 OEX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culloden Estate & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.