We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culloden Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Culloden Estate & Spa to your Saves list
Culloden Estate & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 OEX, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

On the 1st April 2013 I celebrated my 20th wedding anniversary with my wife at the Culloden, and as with our previous visits to the hotel it was a fantastic experience with great food and service in a beautiful setting.
After a friendly, efficient checking we were shown to the beautiful ' FrenchSuite', a delightful suite with breathtaking views over Belfast Lough. After a quick swim we dressed for dinner in the Mitre Restaurant which we had booked during check in. We had pre dinner drinks in the bright new Crozier bar, an new addition to the hotel since our previous visit. Here we had a couple of delicious cocktails and relaxed while staff took our food order for dinner. Both the bar and restaurant staff were extremely friendly, efficient and knowledgable about the new extensive drinks menu and the options available for us for dinner.
After a few minutes we were shown to our table by restaurant staff, and in the relaxing environment of the restaurant had a delicious and beautifully presented dinner of locally sourced food. It is great to see the effort the Hastings group are making to use locally produced food and support local businesses, a fact that I believe deserves mention. After 4 delicious courses we were filled to bursting, and when we suggested taking a cheeseboard to the bar to finish our meal the staff were again happy to do this and nothing seemed to be a bother. In the bar we finished a fantastic meal,with a tasty hot port prepared for us by Seamus, the perfect way to finish a great evening.
The next morning we finished our stay with a delicious breakfast, and here again the approach and service provided by the staff was first class, even on a busy morning. The friendly, efficient manner the staff use in all the dealings with the public is a great reflection of the hotel, and made us feel very welcome .
Throughout the 2 days of our stay the staff were fantastic and made the difference. Stephen and Seamus in the bar, Andrew in the restaurant & Paula in 'Zest' in the Spa all went out of the way to make us feel welcome during our stay.
Overall I must complement the Culloden on all aspects of our stay - great service, great food and a beautiful room, a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Views with a view of lough are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Timdrumneath3848

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    157
    111
    61
    36
See reviews for
203
504
24
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently celebrated a big birthday by dining at the Culloden. We were a party of 11 and, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel special. We had our own dedicated member of staff for the whole evening and he looked after us so well. We gathered in the Drawing Room before being escorted to our table in the Dining Room. There, we had a superb meal before being escorted back to the Drawing Room, where the fire had been lit and the room set out very comfortably for the coffee and petit fours. Everyone agreed it had been a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Allen H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a night in the Culloden on Friday. It was superb. The whole setting was just fantastic and it was really lovely that the snow was still lying but it was no longer as cold. The views were stunning! When we arrived I was in a hurry as I had booked a massage and they were extremely helpful at reception and checked us in straight away even though we were a little bit early. Our room was really spacious and had everything you would expect for a 5 star hotel. My massage was just heavenly and the staff in the spa were all lovely. My boyfriend was delighted as he spent his afternoon at the pool and jacuzzi and had the entire place to himself. The gym was also well equipped and all of the facilities were very impressive. The breakfast the next morning was just perfect - beautiful food and fantastic views right over the lough. All in all it was a great night at the Culloden and we'd definitely rush back - we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Victoria_Jamison

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff at this hotel are world class.
If its business or pleasure you won't be disappointed.its 5 mins from George best airport.
10 minutes leaves you at the titanic experience.
When your at the hotel you have the countryside feeling.
The hotel staff are the best I have ever encountered,very professional we'll trained,that
Can only have come from the top so well done to the senior members.lots of great views of Belfast
Lough.rooms big and comfy.we stayed in the troon suite-highly recommend!

Room Tip: Troon suite.best I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Shanemmcmanus

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have yet to stay in a hotel where so many things went wrong.

On check in we were assured that our room would have a loch view only to find it looked onto the kitchen roof with an extractor fan going all night. After we had unpacked all our suitcases, they eventually condescended to move us.

We booked a specific window table for dinner at the Mitre restaurant only to find on arrival that it was already taken. Food was indifferent and they tried to charge us for 6 glasses of wine whereas we had only ordered 4.

My wife had ordered a glass of champagne as a pre dinner drink; it was absolutely flat, not a bubble in sight. The barman must have known this but tried it on anyway.

Pre arrival we had asked for our bed to be made up with sheets and blankets, rather than a duvet. Not done and only then done after 3 calls to reception/housekeeping.

The shower tray in our bathroom was clogged up and one of the bathroom lights was not working.

Our room service breakfast tray arrived with the order incorrect, no cups for the coffee and no condiments.

On day 2 our room had not been made up by 5pm.

What this hotel needs is some hands on management and attention to detail.

Oh, the doorman, Clifford, was great!

Recommendation: AVOID!

Room Tip: Avoid the Mull room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear JohnP09

I wish to thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion on tripadvisor.

I am genuinely disappointed that your experience of the Culloden was not as it should have been and for this I wholeheartedly apologise. We take great pride in providing professional, courteous and efficient customer service so to hear that we have fallen short is a cause for considerable concern.

The circumstances leading to your unsatisfactory visit to the Culloden Estate and Spa have not been, and will not be, tolerated. The standard of service provided to guests at Hastings Hotels, and in particular to those at the Culloden Estate and Spa, will always carry the expectation of excellence. Your account of events during your visit is not in line with those expectations and it certainly fails to meet our usual five star standards.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to draw these matters to our attention. We value all feedback, be it positive or negative. It is only through such feedback that we may rectify any shortcomings and prevent their reoccurrence.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome back to the Culloden Estate and Spa in the near future were I am confident we can improve on your last experience.

Yours sincerely




Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went to the Culloden today for afternoon tea and had such a lovely time I felt compelled to write this review. The food was presented beautifully and tasted lovely. We were seated at a table with a beautiful view of the gardens. The service was first class with all staff going out of there way to make afternoon special. I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Winderelake

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenpoint
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had an appointment in Holywood and was very worried about the weather forecast (snow and gales). I rang the Culloden and spoke to Joanne, she was very nice and dealt with my booking very efficiently.
We did not arrive to 9pm that evening, Carolyn checked us in, a lovely warm welcome and Charlie took our luggage to our room. The room was so beautiful, sheer luxury. We had a drink in the bar and Stephen was very attentive and gave excellent service. The star of the whole hotel was Philip, the banqueting manager. He has worked for the hotel for 32 years!! He was full of wit and good craic, I would have loved to have chatted to him longer to hear his stories.
Breakfast the next morning was really good. We were first down at 7.10am. Holly and Kirsty were also excellent, especially at such an early hour of the morning. There was a great selection of food for breakfast and the breakfast was cooked to order.
Rebecca checked us out, she also was lovely. The staff are a credit to the hotel. I wished we could have stayed longer and did not have time to enjoy any of the leisure facilities.
I will most certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cullodenhotel, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Shelly-ann

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Culloden Estate and Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Culloden hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Mr Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Culloden Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden Estate & Spa

Address: Bangor Road, Holywood BT18 OEX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Holywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Culloden Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Culloden Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden Estate And Spa
Culloden Estate Hotel Holywood
Culloden Hotel
Culloden Estate Holywood
Culloden Estate & Spa Holywood, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culloden Estate & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.