We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Belfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulster Folk and Transportation Museum

Ulster Folk and Transportation Museum
| Cultura, Holywood, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Holywood
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of Belfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This summer I have made a big effort to take my 4 year old son out and about as we were not getting a holiday abroad and we have visited many museums and attractions around Northern Ireland. Our last visit was to the UF&TM and as we only had half a day we chose only to go to the transport museum. I can easily say it was one of the best days out we've had all summer. He loved it! His #1 attraction of all of Northern Ireland not just Holywood.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    80
    7
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I found the transport collection to be very good and TITANICa to be the best of the similar themed attractions we visited on a whole weekend in Belfast.

The hidden gem for me was at the back of the air section where I found to my complete surprise the short SC1, a very rare piece of our post war jet heritage

Well worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You Must See This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We hadn't visited this place in quite a while and what an improvement! The coffee shop, the loads of farm animals, new attractions such as the pig sty (!), all made this place a great spot to visit. I must specifically mention the Blacksmith's workshop; the guy in there was so helpful and informative and chatted whilst he turned-out some superb pieces of work. Nothing was any trouble and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time in his presence.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Superb day out. I love this museum and cannot rate it highly enough. It's like taking a step back in time with the old sweet shop, the old school house and the old cottages which have been rebuilt. The children love going and get a great sense of what life used to be like. The staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. If you ever have an opportunity to go then don't hesitate it's a superb day out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast northern ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I live near by and recommend this attraction. Churches, houses, cottages have been moved and rebuilt into this village style museum set around the year 1900.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulster Folk and Transportation Museum also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Newtownards, County Down
 

Been to Ulster Folk and Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulster Folk and Transportation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.