We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, couldn't fault it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redcliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Redcliffe Hotel to your Saves list
The Redcliffe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent value, couldn't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here with my sister for 3 nights during August and we enjoyed every minute. The hotel has a unique position, right on the beach and beside Paignton Green. We walked to the shops, restaurants and also the railway station from here: it’s about a 15 minute walk with a trolley case, if you avoid the crowds on Torbay Road and take one of the side roads.

Breakfast is served in a large dining room, facing directly out on to the sea. The view is unbeatable. A hot breakfast is served at your table and was, unfortunately, too nicely cooked to be resisted every morning. There’s also a buffet table with cereals, juice, yoghurt, fruit, etc. Extra toast, tea, and so on, can be requested from the very polite waiters and appear promptly and without hassle.

For us, the biggest attraction was the small but perfectly adequate outdoor pool, open throughout the summer, but it closes, apparently, in September. There is an indoor pool and sauna, etc, which we didn’t use, but it’s all available to guests.

My sister and I had single rooms, without a view, for which we paid around £65 per night. This included breakfast and, given the hotel’s location and quality, not to mention the fact that it’s still high season, seemed very reasonable.

It’s not the most modern of hotels but it’s immaculately clean. It has some interesting history as well as attractive features, both internally and externally and is full of charm. We loved the tunnel and stairway down to the beach. Our bedrooms were quite small but there was plenty of storage and the beds were doubles. Great lighting around the mirror for blow-drying hair.

We’ve been visiting Torbay for years and the recent regeneration of Paignton is starting to show: lots of small businesses seem to be thriving, with interesting cafes and shops, rather than the usual tourist tat, opening up. The heritage of the area is clearly valued and everywhere is bustling. Walking around the shops in Paignton during the early evening, everything was still open and busy. During a brief visit to Torquay, we noticed that everything was shut by 5.30 pm, including the souvenir shops, on a rather grey afternoon when the beaches were empty and people were wandering around, window shopping, for something to do. I hope they’re busy during the winter months, because they don’t seem to be making the most of the tourists and their wallets in the school summer holidays.

Finally, back to the Redcliffe, I’m not certain, but this seems to be an independent – that is, non-chain/branded – hotel and there’s a noticeable sense of pride, amongst the staff, in the quality of the experience they provide. For a start, the service can’t be faulted, the staff are keen to serve their guests and will go out of their way to accommodate them. There’s a pleasant atmosphere and everybody is friendly and polite. Well done, Redcliffe, not sure why you don’t hand out the usual customer satisfaction surveys upon departure, but I’m happy to let you know you’re getting it right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    36
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
56
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had another wonderful stay. In a lovely hotel, that is family run, but still to a professional level. We have been staying twice a year for the past 12 years, but have never tired of the whole experience.
There is always excellent, friendly service, with good quality food. The rooms were very clean in a hotel that I would describe as having a lot of character. The hotel is situated in an excellent position, with sea views that were a joy to behold. There are easy transport links to neighbouring towns, such as Brixham, Torquay, Totnes etc.
Well done to all, keep up the good work and we shall continue to use your facilities for years to come.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A wonderful stay in a hotel that is professionally run. Excellent service with tasty, good quality food. The rooms were very clean in a hotel that I would describe as having character. The sea views were an added bonus to the excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a disastrous stay at a nearby hotel, we were shattered and stopped by for dinner,rather late and could not eat that night,but staff must have sensed we had not had a very pleasant experience. We ask if they had in rooms available,the night manager, Derrick and Janice were so very wonderful to sort us a room for 4 nights. We booked dinner the next night, and Carl( an absolute darling) greeted us like old friends, took us to a wonderful sea view table and even had a rainbow on the water, yes, it was amazing!! Dinner was a delight. the chefs got to know us and catered to our lil whims! We stayed in the tower room,lovely view, no bath in the room but a huge bath right across the hall. Kate, Derrick,Carl, David,,so many I can not name made us feel so welcomed. the place has so much history if you take time to look around. Would we stay there again? Absolutely!! Brilliant staff,brilliant hotel and food was outstanding!!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms with a balcony can not be beat!! The tower is quite unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel foe the last 12 years it has always been first class from the reception staff, restaurant staff and house staff all are eager to please and very helpfull. the rooms are clean and spacious. the restaurant is excellent both for quality and service although recently the postions seen to be smaller. You must try the freshly caught Haddoc and poached eggs for breakfast not to be missed. the swimming pool & gym are very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We went in 2011 oh my god as we walk though the door we was made so welcome by the staff. The room was a good side and very clean. The food and the staff was so nice. It just had that lonely welcome feeling . We will be going for a week end again soon even the view out side is lonely .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked this as we had had 2 terrible nights in The Quayside Hotel, Brixham. The rooms were clean and the staff helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean but very outdated, and in great need to modernising. The shower was broken but I had a great soak in the bath. If you go out of season its overrun by the over 70's and feels a bit like an OAP's hotel. Breakfast was good. Location is great as its right on the seafront and has great views of the bay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#5 Business Hotel in Paignton
#7 Family Hotel in Paignton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 68 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital TV, Radio, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redcliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.