We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Redcliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Redcliffe Hotel to your Saves list
The Redcliffe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
sandhurst
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had our wedding in September - we only gave them 2 and a half weeks notice and they did an amazing job. Great service, very flexible, brilliant food (especially the chocolate heaven pudding!), a brilliant venue and very reasonable prices. Can recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    36
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
56
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have been visiting Torbay for many years, but had it not been for my wife and her sister staying at the Redcliff on a girlie trip, we may not have taken the plunge for what turned out to be a wonderful experience. My sister in law's husband is a wheelchair user, so accordingly we booked a room for disabled persons. This was easily accessible on the first floor, directly opposite the lift. The hotel does not not have wheelchair access via the main reception, but with just a short detour to the left there is an alternative entrance. Our rooms had a connecting door which proved useful in our circumstances. The promenade is only a short distance away from which the town is just a simple stroll. We found the food at the Redcliff excellent, we had breakfast with many choices to suit everyone's needs . Dinner was a real special occasion, just look at the menu on their website. Service was very attentive at all times. My favourite moment? Sitting in the Dick Francis room, overlooking Torbay on a sunny day with afternoon tea, what more could you wish for?

Room Tip: We chose a room for disabled persons, which had a connecting door to the next room. It was ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Fantastic food and served in a manner that made it a special occassion.The rooms are very dated but I think perhaps it adds character to the place. We were lucky to be allocated a room with uninterupted sea views which was fanfastic.although the beds were not particularly comforable.The hotel is in a great location to enjoy touring the area however we went at the peak of the price tarrif and I consider it far too expensive.Would go again if a deal was available.

Room Tip: Definately go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Fabulous location overlooking the sea with lots of outside space to sit and savour the views. A ten minute stroll into the town centre.
Excellent facilities with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. The hotel has lots of character as it was built in the 19th century in the style of the raj and has been sympathetically extended and is in a good decorative order.
We had a fantastic room with a great sea view and my parents were upgraded to the honeymoon suite. The room was comfortable and spacious and the housekeeping was extremely efficient.
Food was good and staff were very friendly. We would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again and would have no hesitation in recommending others to stay.
There is also a spacious car park.

Room Tip: Book early as there is no extra charge for a sea view and website advises that the best rooms are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is about the 7th or 8th time we have stayed at the Redcliffe Hotel and every time we do we are always very pleased. The location is marvellous, literally on the waters edge, and the sea is never more than a few metres away wherever you are. The dining room is fantastic and the views from the centre of the bay where the hotel is situated are unbeatable. The whole dining experience is one of the highlights of the holiday for us and we look forward to every meal we have in there. We used to eat out about 50% of the time in the past, but now we never bother and opt for the dinner, bed and breakfast option. Its much easier especially with young children. The food is always good and the staff are helpful and courteous. The last time we were not in the window which was a bit of a shame but never the less it was still lovely. Overall the hotel has pretty much everything you would want from an independent family run hotel. Indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi, steam/sauna rooms. Gymnasium, table tennis, pool, etc and lots of lovely sitting areas where you can relax in peace and read, talk or just generally while away some time. There are a few areas within the hotel which could maybe do with a bit of updating but overall the standard is very good. The rooms are clean and practical and lots of them have sea views and some have balconies (brilliant place to sit and take in the scenery) The only downside to our last visit was the floorboards in the corridor outside and also in our rooms were so squeaky they would wake people up during the night. Nothing a few well placed screws wouldnt fix though. So all in all up to the usual standard and we cant wait to go back again.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room with a sea view and balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Built as a home in the 1860's and converted into a hotel in 1904 this hotel is a family friendly, family run hotel. The nicest staff I can remember anywhere. It sits on the beach at Paignton and commands great views. Despite its age it is well maintained retaining many original features whilst offering a modern gym indoor and outdoor pools with sauna/steam room etc.

Take tea on the veranda overlooking the sea and have the biggest slice of cake you can imagine.

The dining room faces south east over the sea and with a sympathetically added conservatory is light and airy. The meals were of a high standard and each day there is a good selection of main and sweet courses. The 5 course dinner table d' hote is, well, filling. I am still trying to lose weight since having spent a week here. Met some really nice people too.

Room Tip: You don't have to book a week or have to check at weekends. No single supplements either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for four nights. Its location is excellent for people who have a love of the sea. The reception and housekeeping staff are friendly and extremely efficient. There may be a cleaner hotel somewhere but I have never stayed in it.
However the adopted practice of the restaurant staff undermines the superb performance of their other colleagues.
At dinner on the first night we were subjected to a continual icy blast from the vent of a clearly defective air conditioning system. Despite three polite requests for action.All met with assurances this situation would be rectified. No action was taken. Apart from the discomfort our food all became cold before we could consume it.
On the second night we were more assertive and requested immediate action from the duty manger before commencing to dine. We received an apology for the previous oversight and the offending unit was turned off.
On the third night we were intercepted en route to our table by the duty manager and engaged in a discussion in the middle of the restaurant within earshot of most of the other diners.
It was explained to us the air conditioning unit would have to be operational that evening since if it were n’t the staff would be inconvenienced. Despite remonstrations to the effect the system was defective no assurance was given the it would be attended to and repaired. On reaching our table we did manage to eat before the air conditioning was turned on. The urgency of expecting an icy blast to once again descend upon us did detract from any enjoyment we might otherwise have had of the meal.
We dined elsewhere on the fourth night after our shaming experience of the previous evening.

This incident quite ruined our short holiday. It also caused me to notice other practices which I might previously have ignored.
The removal of unused items of cutlery during the meal, whilst you are eating even if it proved necessary to stretch across the plate setting.
The appearance of these items being put back in a fresh cutlery drawer when they should ideally go to the dishwasher.
Constantly being asked if the meal is to your satisfaction instead of being left to consume it in peace..
Do they not believe adults are capable of making known any difficulties if they arise ?
Used plates and dishes being snatched from the table by staff in transit rather than a systematic approach to clearance.
I could go on but I won’t
Possibly taking only bed and breakfast would enable you to enjoy the benefits of this hotel whilst minimising exposure to its less savoury element.

Room Tip: Sea views are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redcliffe Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Paignton TQ3 2NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#5 Business Hotel in Paignton
#7 Family Hotel in Paignton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redcliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the Seafront of Paignton in the "English Riviera". The Redcliffe offers every facility to ensure a enjoyable and memorable stay, whether for business or pleasure.The Redcliffe is a privately owned hotel with 68 bedrooms, set in 3 acres of grounds at sea level, and enjoys panoramic views across Tor Bay, from elegant Torquay on one side to the quaint fishing port of Brixham on the other.All bedrooms are en suite with Digital TV, Radio, tea making facilities, hairdryers and direct dial telephones. There are also a number of inter-connecting rooms, ideal for families.Private car parking for 100 cars is available in the hotel's spacious grounds.We pride ourselves on the warm and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and our many long-serving staff ensure that standards of service remain as high today as they were 30 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Redcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Paignton
The Redcliffe Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Redcliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.