We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was OK but wouldn't choose to stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Verge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Verge Hotel
Save
You added Sea Verge Hotel to your Saves list
21 Marine Dr., Paignton TQ3 2NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay was OK but wouldn't choose to stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights whilst in Paignton visiting friends. Room was clean but felt very cluttered. There was a lot of furniture crammed into a small space and and there were pillows, cushions, vases and ornaments all over the place. Found the room to be very noisy as you could hear everything going on next door and was woken up after a late night by the neighbours getting up at 7 a.m. The lack of water in the shower was a nightmare and really irritating and I didn't even contemplate washing my hair as I would have been there for a week. Breakfast was nice, not much of it really, 1 rasher, 1 sausage, 1 tomato etc. There were also cereals and yoghurt and fruit but the cooked breakfast could have been a bit more substantial. In a good location right on the seafront with free parking which is a plus but even taking this into account I don't think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, united kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the sea verge for 5 nights, we had booked for 7 nights, but something had come up, I explained that to the owners, and they were ok about, unlike a lt of hotels would of expected you to pay. The hotel is very clean, and the breakfast was to die for, and Hayley the waitress was very friendly. All in all a very welcoming stay, thanks to Chris, Tony and Hayley. X

Room Tip: Room 6 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivychurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My mother and I stayed at The Sea Verge Hotel for two nights while visiting relatives in Paignton.

Our room was small but the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately there was nowhere to put suitcases so they had to be either on the bed or the limited floor space and dodged around. The en suite shower room was OK though it took a long time for water to run hot in the shower. Tea and coffee were provided though the kettle took a long time to boil. Wifi did not work in our room.

Breakfast was a disappointment on both mornings. First of all, being told breakfast would only be served between 8.30 and 9.00 am seemed very restrictive. Secondly, we opted for poached eggs which were a disaster both mornings (either split, unappetising presentation, under-cooked, in pools of water, or tasteless). Our hot breakfasts were never served together; each morning one of us had finished before the other person’s had arrived. The fresh fruit and yogurt were satisfactory; the under-cooked/soggy toast and runny butter were not.

We mentioned our disappointment with the breakfasts and non-existent wifi during our stay and upon departure – I believe it is polite to mention problems in the hope they will be resolved during the stay rather than complain after the event not having given staff/owners chance to rectify the situation. However, the problems were not resolved, no apology or goodwill gesture was forthcoming and overall it simply seemed like the hosts were doing us a favour by letting us stay there, it was certainly not a welcoming B&B experience for us.

The positive point was free off street parking in the car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in August 2013 and really enjoyed our holiday at The Sea Verge.

Plenty of parking in the free carpark.

Chris and Tony are so welcoming and breakfast was freshly cooked and really tasty. They both run the hotel really well and are always on the go to keep the place spotless.

A nice big lounge and conservatory at the front of the building and also an outside seating area at the front. The bar area looked nice and cosy but we didn't use it as we went out each night.

Me & hubby had the large double room , No.4 , which had a door going out onto a massive private balcony , with 2 really comfy cushioned chairs and wooden table & 2 chairs, We hadn't been expecting the whole of the balcony down the side of the building to be all ours as well as being able to see out to the front of the building, what a lovely suprise! (See photos)

The room had a super kingsized bed and a chaise longue and was very nicely decorated with glass chandaliers and bedside lamps, together with vases with silk flowers and plenty of cushions and pillows.. Not a spot of dust anywhere and the bedding was fresh and clean. Infact one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

Managed to get the free Wi-fi easily in the bedroom.

Beverage trays had hot chocolate as well as the usual tea & coffee.

As mentioned in previous reviews the water pressure in the ensuite shower was very low .

Our son stayed in the double room next to ours, No. 5 which had perfect water pressure in the ensuite shower.
His room was also much bigger than we had expected from the photos and he got free wi-fi connection in there with no problems. Very nicely decorated and he was very comfortable . The room did get hot when the sun came through but a portable fan was already in the room for if he had required it.

Situated right over the road from Preston Sands so only about a minute from room to beach :)

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again when next in Paignton.

Thanks Chris and Tony , you really are a most lovely couple and really made us all feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

just returned back home from our second stay at the sea verge had a great time chris and tony are the perfect host's nothing is to much trouble for either host and the full tony breakfast is great value rooms are cleaned daily and everytime we saw chris she was busy working which explains why the hotel is so clean

Room Tip: we had room no1 with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Room 4 of the sea verge. (As seen on tv) is an excellent room. Has balcony, sea view and is very quiet and comfortable. Spent two nights in mid June 2013. Our hosts Chris and Tony are delightful and friendly. The whole place is very clean and though not perfect being clean is so important. Good breakfast menu included. No evening meal offered ,but there are plenty of eating houses in the area of varying quality, type and price. Only downside,but I won't mark them down for it, the shower was difficult to use and not very powerful. That aside, excellent stay and will certainly return.
Thank you Chris and Tony

Room Tip: Room4,though you overlook the pub.we didn't hear it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My Wife and I had a 2 night break at the sea verge. We stayed on a B&B basis in Room 6 which was clean and warm. The showers are the only thing to complain about, they need to be improved!! Breakfast was freshly cooked and was tasty. Th weather wasn't the best but we managed to get out to Torquay on Saturday and Paignton Zoo on Sunday. All in all I would recommend the Sea Verge Hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Verge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Verge Hotel

Address: 21 Marine Dr., Paignton TQ3 2NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sea Verge Hotel Paignton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Verge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.