We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stuck in the 70's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Smokey House

Ye Olde Smokey House
Vicarage Rd, Paignton TQ3 1NN, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 119 Restaurants in Paignton
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Devon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“stuck in the 70's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

came in here on the way home on day, had not visited for a few years.
Very disappointed in the whole experience, the restaurant was cold and lacked atmosphere, the decor was reminiscent of something from the 70's but not as well maintained. There were no matching chairs at any of the tables.
Service was slow.
The food was dry and the selection of vegetables very unimaginative.
The drinks were horrendously expensive, almost £10 for a pint of beer and a large glass of wine.
We eat out quite often & the thing that irritates me most is paying good, hard earned, money for a poor dining experience. If pub/restaurant owners are not interested in good customer service & providing fresh, tasty food, they should look for an alternative job.
We won't visit again & I would not recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    18
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have eaten here a handful of times when visiting relatives in Devon, I am really surprised to read some negative reviews as I have experienced nothing but friendly, helpful staff and the Sunday Carvery was lovely.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked a table for 8 as some friends were visiting, carvery was ok, not much meat and the chef barely said a word to us when he served us. After we had finished our meal we were all set to order deserts but waited for an age for the table to be cleared and after being given the deserts board we waited a further 15 minutes before deciding not to bother! No atmosphere and the staff didn't really seem bothered that we were there. This was the first time I have been to the smokey for years despite living about 10 minutes away, I won't be rushing back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mr Gary Chiplin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We decided to give the ye old smokey a go! Oh dear!!!
Freezing cold and I had too ask a member of staff to be seated after we've booked!!!
Shown to our table by pleasant staff but then left there for a while before someone came over to take our order!!
Everything just seamed to take so long and it wasn't busy at all!!
The main meal couldn't fault to be honest but the desert was brought in and the ice cream had frozen water on it!! Again it all took to long even paying the bill it wasn't cheap either won't be going back sorry!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went here last night, first thoughts were fanatic dinning area looks lovely they we were sat in the corner in the conservatory on some weaved chairs and odd tables our order was took eventually we weren't give any cutlery we found some in a basket on a dirty table. We had X2 burgers these were horrifically fatty, I know burgers are but they were dripping on fat. We wasn't meal checked atal, then ordered desert And again left with no cutlery then the waiter finally realised. The foot sat on our bellys all night and I felt really ill . The bill came to 45 which was defiantly not worth it. Won't be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Smokey House also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
Plympton, Plymouth
 

Been to Ye Olde Smokey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Smokey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.